Technical Cant Play VCD, Newbie Question
TSaLittleMisfit
Aug 23 2006, 09:37 AM, updated 20y ago
I'm using xbox360 as home media. I just noticed it can't play VCD's. If i am going to burn some home video's on a cd. any recommended format? without using stream from a computer?
sorry, search function out.
LiLBoy
Aug 23 2006, 09:44 AM
QUOTE(aLittleMisfit @ Aug 23 2006, 09:37 AM) I'm using xbox360 as home media. I just noticed it can't play VCD's. If i am going to burn some home video's on a cd. any recommended format? without using stream from a computer? sorry, search function out. i think X360 cant play VCD, sry i am also a newbie of 360, but i wan try to help you.
Darkchaser
Aug 23 2006, 09:55 AM
Definitely 360 cannot play VCD, just like the PS2 and Xbox.... (without modifications of course)
MobiusVyper
Aug 23 2006, 10:36 AM
DVDs are the way to go
|Keantan|
Aug 23 2006, 05:55 PM
If you can. Rip your (supposed to be legit) VCDs onto PC and then burn to movie DVDs, i do that on mac.. it works great, can cramp like 3 movies on 1 dvd =D LOTR on one disc (i havent tried la). XD
Mgsrulz
Aug 23 2006, 05:57 PM
QUOTE(|Keantan| @ Aug 23 2006, 05:55 PM) If you can. Rip your (supposed to be legit) VCDs onto PC and then burn to movie DVDs, i do that on mac.. it works great, can cramp like 3 movies on 1 dvd =D LOTR on one disc (i havent tried la). XD still confusing... some "officials" say a consumer has NO RIGHT to rip THEIR OWN VCD/DVDs. some say it's ok.. rip and use for personal things... guess we have to see the territory
paanjang16
Aug 30 2006, 07:27 PM
When I tried to play an original VCD it recognize it as mized media disc but didn't manage to play VCD. I was expecting it to play an ori vcd but oh well.
SUSMightySmiter
Aug 30 2006, 09:01 PM
dunno about ripping vcds then burning them as dvds...but i can confirm that the 360 can play dvds(local and original)
necromanser
Aug 30 2006, 09:39 PM

i supposed in United States you can rip whatever that is yours. Provided that you'll use it personally. Here in Malaysia, I am not sure. But I think we can do that for personal use.
MobiusVyper
Aug 30 2006, 09:59 PM
QUOTE(necromanser @ Aug 30 2006, 09:39 PM) i supposed in United States you can rip whatever that is yours. Provided that you'll use it personally. Here in Malaysia, I am not sure. But I think we can do that for personal use. Here in Malaysia if you rip a JackSparrow VCD or DVD you already broke the law when you bought it
TSaLittleMisfit
Sep 1 2006, 09:23 AM
QUOTE(windows_sux @ Aug 30 2006, 05:06 PM) xbox website said 360 can play VCD..hmmm pelik http://www.xbox.com/en-GB/media/viewvideo.htmcant leh.. original vcd also can't...  darn ms