Same last name marriage?, Question more towards for chinese though
TSGOO
Jul 31 2014, 09:30 AM, updated 12y ago

Hi guys, what do you think of same last name marriage?
This question is more towards chinese as some believes that it is not good to have same last name marriage (eg. Lee married Lee, Lim married Lim etc.).
Please also state your age and I hope there will be seniors who will also provide some of their thought.
This post has been edited by GOO: Jul 31 2014, 09:48 AM
TSGOO
Jul 31 2014, 09:36 AM

QUOTE(simpul @ Jul 31 2014, 09:34 AM) thing thing thing thing thing thing........ or is it THINK? Oh yeah, typo. Thanks.
TSGOO
Jul 31 2014, 09:47 AM

QUOTE(berzerk @ Jul 31 2014, 09:43 AM) apalah TS engrand fail. LEE Chong Wei marries LEE Mei Mei would be a problem if both are also from the same dialect & same hometown. Lol. Yeah. It has been confusing. As you know, chinese's name start with family name thus, first name seems to be the family name.
TSGOO
Jul 31 2014, 09:49 AM

QUOTE(punkLOL @ Jul 31 2014, 09:40 AM) i know someone name TAN married to TAN. no problem. i heard he dun give a fark But you know, family might object the marriage though, may be from the elderly.
TSGOO
Jul 31 2014, 09:52 AM

QUOTE(KYspeaks @ Jul 31 2014, 09:42 AM) Yeah, first name would be like Chong Wei marrying Chong Wei.. Anyway, I think it isn't an issue, the only thing you want to check out is if you guys are related. So looking into ancestries and stuff like that may be important especially to appease the older folks. Like if you're from different districts in China it shouldn't be a problem. I'm 36 btw. Great response. But I think until the marriage stage to check on the ancestories, are too late already though. And it will be weird to check during dating period. lol
TSGOO
Jul 31 2014, 10:43 AM

QUOTE(abcde90 @ Jul 31 2014, 10:15 AM) most pipul will put an english in front of surname.. so how Correct also. lol.
TSGOO
Jul 31 2014, 10:46 AM

QUOTE(Xander-G @ Jul 31 2014, 10:18 AM) You are right....but eventhough its true, our grandparents are still attached to the culture. Kindda disrespect them if we insist marrying with similar surname. Yeah, think is also one of the reason I am asking for opinion on this. I believe newer generator will have less problem dealing with this. But older generation, I am not so sure. Thus, hoping to have some seniors to provide their opinions also.
TSGOO
Jul 31 2014, 06:11 PM

QUOTE(christ14 @ Jul 31 2014, 01:40 PM) me n gf is same surname her parents say no go.. but i insist so they say start look at ancestry. both Lee, both same hakka lol. but until grandparents both not recognised so i think no problem Yeah, actually I am more concern about how families take this kind of matter into their hand. I suppose newer generation will have no problem taking in this kind of matter in, but for older generation, I am not so sure.