Amps?, Which is better than a Frontman?
Pix
Sep 20 2006, 01:46 PM
Tube Glower Phreak
3200RM for a solidstate amp !?! noooooo... You've tested it, so you must know better than me. But don't you think you're gonna "look" better with a marshall AVT than with a Smarvo... As an average guitarist, I wouldn't jaw-drop in front of an AVT150  (i didn't like the DSL100, so i'm not recommending the Smarvo either, but that's not the point...)
Everdying
Sep 20 2006, 04:11 PM
Two is One and One is None.
for RM3200, you can get 3 little lanilei's...and uhh...well just go SG and search for a used 5150 combo. what i wouldnt mind tho is a warhead combo.
noisetrigger
Sep 20 2006, 04:19 PM
5150 combo? Going there to get one and coming back with it is going to be a heavy affair. That thing is like 50kg.
I remember Swee Lee blowing them out a few years ago for like RM2000++ but I don't see it on their website anymore. They have lots of XXX though.
This post has been edited by noisetrigger: Sep 20 2006, 04:20 PM
Everdying
Sep 20 2006, 04:23 PM
well a friend of mine actually went there by himself and brought back a 5150 combo for just under RM3k. this was about 2-3yrs ago tho.
btw, i heard when the ibanez valbee came in sweelee had a sale of SGD299 for it. sure beats the RM1k price of it here.
noisetrigger
Sep 20 2006, 04:24 PM
Your friend drove there or handcarry it back? If you friend actually hand carry it, respect!!!
Everdying
Sep 20 2006, 04:27 PM
well his parents house is in JB, so guess he borrowed the car there and drove down  the amp isnt 50kg anyway. i tried carrying it, feels just around 30kg. so just possible to carry it and then dying on the road after a few meters  EDIT. hmm well peavey says its unpacked weight is 84.50lbs, so 38kg. This post has been edited by Everdying: Sep 20 2006, 04:30 PM
blacktrix
Sep 20 2006, 04:32 PM
Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
I wouldn't mind a Triple xXx combo....... but driving down to Singapore, bringing it over..... aiyo...... soooooooo mah fan......
Everdying
Sep 20 2006, 04:40 PM
even if you save RM1000?
blacktrix
Sep 20 2006, 05:18 PM
I consider that travelling expenses..... If anyone knows where I can find a Peavey XXX Combo in Malaysia, do let me know..... And NOT second hand.
Everdying
Sep 20 2006, 05:21 PM
hmm, so lets see... from plans for a 4x12 tube half stack, to 4x12 ss half stack...and now to a 2x12 tube combo... eventually its gonna lead down to the little lalinei
blacktrix
Sep 20 2006, 05:36 PM
Who said 4x12 SS half stack? It's the AVT150x combo lah.............
And yes...... I'm still sticking to the Marshall for now.......
Pix is just jealous because I can squeeze out better tones from my little AVT then his big ol' Tube Amp........
akeiser
Sep 20 2006, 06:50 PM

ok, let's list down all average amp (<3K RM) that we can find in malaysia & singapore and make a comparison.
1. Marshall MG series 2. Marshall AVT series 3. Peavey Bandit 4. Peavey Transtube series 5. Ibanez TB Series 6. Laney LX/HCM Series 7. Roland Cube Series 8. Fender FM Series 9. Fender Frontman Series 10. Fender Princeton Series 11. Fender Stage Series
err... i think that's all i can find in kuching....
sean392
Sep 20 2006, 07:10 PM
how bout VOX AD series? since the cubes are up there =)
noisetrigger
Sep 20 2006, 07:12 PM
Peavey Bandit and Transtube are the same thing dude.
You need to add Vox AD series and Line 6 Spider series.
Out of all those though, I will take the Peavey Transtube series anyday. Some of the best sounding solid state I have ever played.
Everdying
Sep 20 2006, 07:15 PM
well he said hes in kuching...perhaps those amps arent available there?
akeiser
Sep 20 2006, 10:15 PM

Yup, i can't find any VOX or line 6 Spider II amp in kuching here...
ohya, thanks for remind me of that peavey bandit r under transtube series... =)
i used to play alot with older version peavey bandit before. but new version looked and sounded so different to me... >__<
how do u think?
This post has been edited by akeiser: Sep 20 2006, 10:18 PM
echobrainproject
Sep 20 2006, 11:14 PM
got line6 spider II at lee's lah. saw em before. looks like u havent been there in a long time.
anyways, i remembered seeing jim dunlop straplocks there for rm30+ but then ppl in this forum said it was too cheap. maybe i recalled wrongly. can u remember the price?
akeiser
Sep 21 2006, 12:20 AM

forgot the price already. better ask ah nick whose all bass guitars r using straplocks.