Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V24, Please follow the format :)
sakiheng
Aug 15 2014, 11:26 PM
Hi sifus, need your advise on the followings:
1. Any Brand XD 2. Budget: up to 2.7k 3. Usage: Dota2, Dynasty Warriors, The Sims, MS office, surfing web and movie 4. Preferred laptop/screen size: Any 5. Remarks:
Can advise if dedicated graphic card is actually much more hotter than integrated one? (I would like to go for better graphic card but afraid of overheating)
Thank you in advance!
sakiheng
Aug 16 2014, 09:45 AM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 15 2014, 11:30 PM) dedicated GPUs are more powerful and often hotter than integrated GPU  15.6" HP Pavilion 15-p036TX, i7-4510U + Nvidia 840M@RM2499[BeatsAudio], 8GB, 1TB, freeDOS; W8.1@RM2699 Lenovo Z50-70, i5-4210U,Nvidia 840M + (1920x1080)@RM2399, 4GB, 1TB, W8.1, 2 yrs Flex 2-15, i7-4510U + Nvidia 840M + (1920x1080 IPS; touch)+ 8GB SSGD + 500GB HDD@RM2799[2.3kg], 4GB, W8 *Prices in RRP If you go for the Z50, you can use remaining budget to upgrade to 8GB RAM and also swap the HDD for an SSDĀ  Thank you sifu! Can check how to identify if one laptop is using dedicated graphic card? Also if the option 1 HP and 2 Lenovo can consider as not-so-easy-to-overheat ? XD This post has been edited by sakiheng: Aug 16 2014, 09:49 AM
sakiheng
Aug 17 2014, 10:54 AM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 16 2014, 09:48 PM) As long as you see Nvidia and AMD, then those are dedicated GPUs already  As for the heat, its hard to tell without individual reviews for each unit... but in general, the thicker the notebook, the better the heat dissipation  Noted, thank you T J Shifu =) Lastly, I heard some nvdia or and GPU would share/utilize the PC RAM, is that real? Please correct me if I were wrong xP