Start button!, how to add one to ou car?

TSenqvistlim
post Aug 21 2006, 06:46 PM, updated 20y ago

1,101 posts

is that possible?
mayb another button hide under somewhere. so our car not that ez stolen by other.
any1 have idea on wiring?

mojam
post Aug 21 2006, 07:05 PM

51 posts

You can install an ignition button under your dashboard or seat... but i recommend getting a fuel line cut switch... switch it off and this will disable the fuel line when you're not drive... switch back on when you are going to drive again... cheaper.. better... and it works for me and my friends... a thief gave up stealing my friends GTI cos he can't start the engine
AHBOON
post Aug 22 2006, 04:33 AM

1,278 posts

QUOTE(mojam @ Aug 21 2006, 07:05 PM)
You can install an ignition button under your dashboard or seat... but i recommend getting a fuel line cut switch... switch it off and this will disable the fuel line when you're not drive... switch back on when you are going to drive again... cheaper.. better... and it works for me and my friends... a thief gave up stealing my friends GTI cos he can't start the engine
more info of it?plz,maybe install one if cheap
TSenqvistlim
post Aug 28 2006, 12:57 AM

1,101 posts

QUOTE(mojam @ Aug 21 2006, 07:05 PM)
a good idea
can share with us ?
or any website show the step to do ?
the_catacombs
post Sep 2 2006, 04:42 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

something like this??...

AHBOON
post Sep 14 2006, 04:13 AM

1,278 posts

actualy iread tis diy method in one of the car megazine..but its confusing.. have to change the wire tis n ter..n its writen chinese...
whole diy procedure only cost rm15
ben_ang
post Sep 24 2006, 10:17 PM

ITS JINX NOW.POWDER FELL DOWN A WELL
2,013 posts

cant really understand d diagram.. me no gud in electronics.. haha..
Shock
post Sep 25 2006, 01:27 AM

518 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Sep 2 2006, 04:42 PM)
something like this??...

lol, easy, the left side should be the key side where you put in, so when u turn to start, the line goes to the right side, and connect to the "box"/switch and it will joint the current to the 12v ignition. If you turn that swith to open cct, then no matter how you start the key it wont on. It's a simply cut off electric.

What i do suggest is a most simple cutoff is, you make a switch that connect your magneto starter ground, on connect to ground, off normal. which is the person want to steal also impossible, no matter how good he is to break the key side to connect the wire,
TSenqvistlim
post Sep 28 2006, 01:21 AM

1,101 posts

thanks for those reply
but this really have to research and research before start doing it
any idea website have sttep by step teach us how to do?
rather than just a diagram...
morgan
post Nov 28 2006, 11:09 PM

Perfumeries
520 posts

QUOTE(enqvistlim @ Sep 28 2006, 01:21 AM)
thanks for those reply
but this really have to research and research before start doing it
any idea website have sttep by step teach us how to do?
rather than just a diagram...
why do you need this? just find a good alarm system smile.gif
sledgehammer
post Nov 29 2006, 12:16 PM

664 posts

hehe, if u not sure how to do it then u can ask those accessories shop to do for u.... they can hide the switch anywhere u want (applicable places)... but dun goto the shop near ur house la.... laugh.gif

i bring my car for this coz there is once my car was attempted to break into...
morgan
post Nov 29 2006, 12:26 PM

Perfumeries
520 posts

QUOTE(sledgehammer @ Nov 29 2006, 12:16 PM)
hehe, if u not sure how to do it then u can ask those accessories shop to do for u.... they can hide the switch anywhere u want (applicable places)... but dun goto the shop near ur house la.... laugh.gif

i bring my car for this coz there is once my car was attempted to break into...
wow, how? my windows was broken into once...one fella took my newly bought 1 mth digital cam!! DAMN!!! vmad.gif damn! recall of this incident again! sad.gif
sledgehammer
post Nov 29 2006, 01:39 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(morgan @ Nov 29 2006, 12:26 PM)
wow, how? my windows was broken into once...one fella took my newly bought 1 mth digital cam!! DAMN!!! vmad.gif damn! recall of this incident again! sad.gif
1 month old digicam, pity u man..
they break the co-driver door handle, and stole my lock (probably threw away liao)...
but they did not continue further... probably that time got car passing by gua....
so now my car has the hidden security switch.... good against amateur thief.. hehe
morgan
post Nov 29 2006, 02:04 PM

Perfumeries
520 posts

QUOTE(sledgehammer @ Nov 29 2006, 01:39 PM)
1 month old digicam, pity u man..
they break the co-driver door handle, and stole my lock (probably threw away liao)...
but they did not continue further... probably that time got car passing by gua....
so now my car has the hidden security switch.... good against amateur thief.. hehe
sounds nice, how much did you instal for it? smile.gif
LExus65
post Nov 30 2006, 11:37 AM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

fuel line cutter is a good idea to prevent car theft......... but some would just smash ur car if they cannot steal..........

btw as for the wiring, all cars are a bit different; better carefully check it out. normally the fuel pump is located under the rear car seat (new cars, older car with membrane pump is else where); the wiring would go down under the center tunnel, u can make a tap from there.........plus a switch then u go to go.............
zombie
post Dec 1 2006, 12:35 AM

Died
685 posts

This fuel line cutter thing.. does it cut off the fuel electronically or mechanically? Confused here.

Can DIY or have to get shop to do it?

0.0188sec    0.92    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:37 PM