Credit Cards Maybank Visa Signature, PPL access is discontinued-TP revision

chiahau
post Sep 10 2015, 08:56 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(n00b123 @ Sep 10 2015, 08:54 AM)
The 5% rebate on grocery..does it means it is applicable to all departmental stores (eg, Jusco) including apparels, electronics, etc? Or the rebate is only strictly allowed for purchases in the supermarket grocery section?
Supermarket Groceries only.

Departmental no CB.

chiahau
post Sep 28 2015, 02:47 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 28 2015, 02:44 PM)
my experience 6 years ago, local transaction
Any idea with Apple store? Plan to haul something there soon and may want to swipe my Signatures instead of my CIMB. hmm.gif
chiahau
post Sep 28 2015, 02:52 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 28 2015, 02:51 PM)
no experience there but if i recall correctly cimb charges cross border fee for apple? need to dig up cimb thread
Charged in USD, no charge.

Charged in RM, ada 0.8%

That's why I am thinking to go to Signatures for this purchase.
chiahau
post Sep 28 2015, 03:04 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 28 2015, 02:59 PM)
CIMB has Border Charges for Apple Store because it is from SG Apple Store.
I was busy purchasing few units of iPhone 6 and 6 Plus last year when it was released, many reported in the iPhone thread about this matter. smile.gif

Of course I used AmEx that time, earned TP and CB. blush.gif
It's from Singapore so would it be considered as 5x Treatpoints for VS then since Singapore is technically over the sea? laugh.gif

chiahau
post Sep 28 2015, 03:18 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(raptar_eric @ Sep 25 2015, 04:46 PM)
i swipe most of the stuff using my VS, unless there is promo for other banks/cards... for whatever online transaction that does not grant me rebate, i use VS, especially paypal/ebay, as i still gain 5x points, same like AMEX....

and also, i pay my insurance annually, therefore use VS as well... reload touch n go, use VS as well, at jaya grocer, got 5% rebate sumore, tested and confirmed biggrin.gif

nowadays, 5x amex points not much worth to me, so i prefer VS points > amex points unless i redeem vouchers.... VS points can convert to cashback at 400:RM1...
QUOTE(laymank @ Sep 28 2015, 03:10 PM)
I believe the 5x TP is only applicable if you spent physically overseas, not online, if not mistaken.
Please refer to Raptor_eric's reply when he mentioned that spending at Ebay with VS is considered as overseas spending.

If he purchased from eBay and manage to get 5x, why not apple store which is located in SG? laugh.gif
chiahau
post Oct 6 2015, 09:49 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(lovefoe @ Oct 6 2015, 09:19 PM)
100k = 20k FD

70k = 15k FD now? laugh.gif

Platinum card is 10k FD.

Signatures can get for 12k already?

Wow....

Time for me to upgrade to an Infinite laugh.gif

Damnit Infinite still 180k laugh.gif
chiahau
post Oct 6 2015, 10:15 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 6 2015, 10:07 PM)
I see this move by Maybank is to compensate the setback due to the MBB2 Amex cashback removal. It is now the VS card with the second lowest income req in town...iinm
PBB VS is still a challenge to me laugh.gif

Still can't get one tongue.gif

QUOTE(lovefoe @ Oct 6 2015, 10:11 PM)
I just did a calculation. I can only hit 10k cry.gif
Help relatives and friends.

I helped my swipe swipe deposit for car. Target for year 2015 settled laugh.gif
chiahau
post Oct 6 2015, 11:01 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(CP88 @ Oct 6 2015, 10:58 PM)
Mana satu manufacturer can swipe high deposit?  biggrin.gif
Mercedes, BMW, Mazda I tried before.

All okay.

But must nego a bit with the salesman sometimes la.

They might want get more commission if you pay cash for deposit so pandai2 discuss lo brows.gif
chiahau
post Oct 7 2015, 08:23 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(CP88 @ Oct 6 2015, 11:05 PM)
Ni orang kaya ni. 3 brands also tried before.... Every year you change car ka..  brows.gif
Help people swipe only la.

Collect points lo.

Uncle all want pay cash but lazy want bring so much.

Give me earn a bit lo....

Can swipe at luxury stores also. Easy to reach 30k la. Even 100k is easy per annum.

QUOTE(bee993 @ Oct 6 2015, 11:06 PM)
petrol and groceries all on this card...and some other swipe when other cb max out
Have a feeling the benefit will revise after this.

:/

QUOTE(The Zone @ Oct 7 2015, 12:24 AM)
What's so good about VI?
Starwood dining and overseas usage, mostly.

VI got concierge services, can help you get almost anything legal tongue.gif

QUOTE(CAFE21 @ Oct 7 2015, 02:30 AM)
thumbup.gif infinite should be reduced as well. This card has just been in the market for a short while but the requirement already reduced. Time for infinite to reduce as well. But don't reduce the benefits. tongue.gif
If reduce, benefits also will reduce.

So cross your fingers and hope nothing changes with VI.

Coz I just put in a request to get a VI from MBB tongue.gif

Doubt they'll give it to me thou. But a loyal customer can hope whistling.gif
chiahau
post Oct 7 2015, 09:06 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(fish_pg @ Oct 7 2015, 08:54 AM)
But spending for RM30K a year to entitle for 2nd year free of annual fee is a bit harsh.  sweat.gif
Just to throw some numbers out for fun.

To obtain MYR 88 CB, you'll need to spend MYR 1750 at 5% for 87.50

MYR 1750 x 12 = MYR 21,000 already.

Assuming you have family, a hot gf/bf/spouse, that's another 9k to reach the requirement laugh.gif

30k is reasonable. 50 was tough.

QUOTE(terrywong @ Oct 7 2015, 09:01 AM)
what if cancel and apply again?
Do 1 time, maybe okay.

Try again next time, probably bank won't approve you anymore?
chiahau
post Oct 7 2015, 09:53 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 7 2015, 09:44 AM)
rm550 of AF translates to rm45.8 a month.
Spending on petrol and groceries capped at rm1750 to get rm88, but by using HLB's STUPID card and lower end Ikhwan card, first rm1000 I got rm100 which already getting cash back more than this, not to mention the second rm750 that will be getting rm37.50, that's rm137.5 in total. With this, already can say this card are not that worth to keep if a person's goal are cash back only.
Now to the TP, getting cash backs but no TPs and even spending local only get 1X TP which worst than MBB's dual card, at least the AMEX still getting 5X TPs on all transactions, again what's the value for this card?
Limited cash back categories, AF, low TP are something will push me out on this card hmm.gif
I don't own a STUPID card and I don't feel comfortable wasting time to hit the swipes requirement.

I travel a lot overseas. Expenditures will be reimbursed, so 5x TP is no problem for me.

Gas is covered as well, so I am not bothered about TP for groceries or petrol.

Ikhwan don't get TP for petrol and groceries as well.

As for Amex, you won't be using it for petrol or groceries, so it's a non factor as well?

Not to mention, Ikhwan has a validity period from Friday to Saturday while VS is everyday can use for CB. Easy to get CB for my petrol expenses.

40,000 TPs = MYR 100 CB to my account.

With my overseas spending, I can rake up points easily to convert back to CB.

This post has been edited by chiahau: Oct 7 2015, 09:57 AM
chiahau
post Oct 7 2015, 10:13 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Oct 7 2015, 10:11 AM)
this include Auto debit on insurance, telco bill, unifi right?

Gotta calculate my spending! it abit hard for me to achieve...  hmm.gif
I think only thing not covered is BT laugh.gif

The rest considered spending.

chiahau
post Oct 7 2015, 10:27 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Oct 7 2015, 10:19 AM)
how's the rejection rate for this card will be?  hmm.gif  hmm.gif 
since both of our application being rejected by Ikhawan...  laugh.gif 
yes, boss.
printing out my BE form and heading to nearest MBB branch. or shall i go 1U card centre?

sometime have to help boss swipe for dinner/lunch when customer visits... hope can break 30k in second year, else cancel / suck it up!
Signatures have to wait 2 weeks either way laugh.gif

Go to nearest branch ba.

And print latest EPF just in case.

Approval rate : no idea. I got mine from MBB direct. They offered since my CL is around 20 region already.
chiahau
post Oct 7 2015, 11:06 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(lovefoe @ Oct 7 2015, 10:45 AM)
just another "free for first year" benefit in case i cant get waiver or hit 30k
He's asking about VI la.

Not VS laugh.gif

chiahau
post Oct 7 2015, 01:04 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(lovefoe @ Oct 7 2015, 12:27 PM)
mine was like 2 days. Did in 1u card center.
Mine was because it was offered by the bank.

So they took their sweet time before sending the card over to the manager before the manager pass it back to me.

That was few months ago la, so can't be 100% sure anymore.
chiahau
post Oct 7 2015, 02:30 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 7 2015, 01:30 PM)
Yours different ma. Pledged FD for other cards and took up their loan, they sure treat you well. whistling.gif

Anyway, good for everyone now. rclxms.gif
If I get my VI, it shows that they are really good to me lo tongue.gif

Just dropped them my latest EPF, far from 180k but a man can always hope blush.gif
chiahau
post Oct 16 2015, 08:40 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(wjleong15 @ Oct 15 2015, 12:49 PM)
Anyone know after the reduction from 100k to 70k, will the minimum CL for VS also lower?
Think to pledge FD to take it.
12k would do, if i am not mistaken.

And side note : VS reduction of income also means reduction in terms of customer service.

I've been at the end of some really annoying back and forth discussion with the CS zzz
chiahau
post Oct 16 2015, 10:08 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 16 2015, 08:55 AM)
If FD means CL, those with existing CL higher than that should be able to apply for VS ya. laugh.gif
Yeah.

Just received a snail mail regarding my application for VI.

Sadly, they route it to my hometown.

Asked them to resend it to my office instead.

As for the CL to FD, try to ask their CS. If they are nice, you can actually just get 1 easily.

Depending on which officer you're dealing with, actually.

QUOTE(wjleong15 @ Oct 16 2015, 09:56 AM)
But I heard that Plat minimum CL is 15k, how come vs just 12k?  hmm.gif
Nope.

There's no minimum CL for any cards, tbh.

I was holding a 20k limit for my Gold previously. Maybank want me to upgrade but I am too lazy to do so.

And to qualify for plat card, you need an income of 5k per month = CL is roughly 10k (unless they are generous)

Don't see a reason why Signatures suddenly need that much since they reduced from 100k to 70k

This post has been edited by chiahau: Oct 16 2015, 10:10 AM
chiahau
post Oct 16 2015, 12:43 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 16 2015, 12:39 PM)
Minimum CL for Plat is RM 15k.
hmm.gif

10k FD can get Plat liao.

Limit will be scaled to 10k.

So what's minimum? laugh.gif

chiahau
post Oct 19 2015, 08:10 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(wjleong15 @ Oct 19 2015, 12:05 AM)
but she told me is 15k.

hlb is 12k, i asked hlb branch manager.

this is what i know.
Told you already.

I know few aunties earning 100k PA at least, holding gold cards with limit of 20k++

And I know few sales person holding Infinite but limit 10k or so only.

There's no limit or minimum la tbh.

It's up to bank how much they want to give.

Either way, does it matter? You want a signature, try and put 12k deposit and apply for it lo.

See your luck? Approval is by CC center. I know a friend who put 8k only and yet manage to get a Signatures as well.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0501sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:58 PM