Canon EOS Family, DSLR, EOS - V58, The White Paladins' Territory!

nicotine
post Aug 1 2014, 02:45 PM

Raging Storm
3,669 posts

QUOTE(tboxmy @ Aug 1 2014, 12:28 AM)
Have taken both photos at same distance, but why the 1st photo can't get the pet in focus?

Blur behind bars

Pets are in focus

I am attempting to use the auto focus feature of 70D and hope to learn further.
Using Autofocus is like betting on lottery on those scenario. You may want to use Auto when you are shooting sports and etc with AI servo on.

First pic, auto focus hit the cage metal, not the subject pet.
2nd pic, auto focus might hit part of ya pet but still it's not a perfect one.

You may want to review the pic on ya cam for which AF point it use on those pic and try to get some idea why it look soo funny/ no in focus.

Anyway, learn to manually set the focus point, you have either 11 or 9 AF point... so explore and play with it. Get yourself familiar composing using different AF point on your viewfinder. As you progress, you might use wunna use center AF with focus /recompose technique.

For me the later F and R works better as my 5d2 had extra 6 assist AF point surrounding the center AF.
nicotine
post Aug 1 2014, 08:58 PM

Raging Storm
3,669 posts

QUOTE(leonghan @ Aug 1 2014, 04:53 PM)
Bro, i just viewed your flickr album..damn nice portraiture there..
May i know which lens you using for all the portrait photos?
lol thank you, my album had been stagnant for quite sometime. hmmm I use mixture of 50 F1.8, 90F2.8, 135F2L, 24-105L, 70-200L. Sooo .. i had no idea, cant really recall unless I dig back the Exif lol. But mostly 135.
nicotine
post Aug 2 2014, 03:02 PM

Raging Storm
3,669 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 2 2014, 03:43 AM)
If you have something to sell, put it on your signature.
Buy gear pay gold, sell out macam selling empty tin can sweat.gif rclxub.gif ... might as well keep it as toy for my 1 year old dotter biggrin.gif
Btw not selling or buying anything as current gears is more then enuff for my requirement. Also I don't see any upgrade in another 3~5 year time unless the body kong first. laugh.gif

nicotine
post Aug 2 2014, 10:40 PM

Raging Storm
3,669 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 2 2014, 05:20 PM)
I haven't bought any new stuff for 3 - 4 years now I think.

The last lens I bought was my 10-22 I think, that also was in 2011 if I'm not mistaken, or was it 2012.

My 60D no change for now. Probably will get a 2nd / 3rd body for video works. Maybe a 70D and 100D or something along the lines of that.
If your works requires it just go ahead since you cari makan with photography biggrin.gif

---------
long time tarak spam, meet my big boss.

user posted imageIMG_05692 by nicotine [braindead], on Flickr
nicotine
post Aug 3 2014, 11:03 AM

Raging Storm
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Xiia0Ban @ Aug 2 2014, 10:54 PM)
How old is he? He looks so cute btw.  tongue.gif
she's 1 year.

QUOTE(leonghan @ Aug 3 2014, 02:20 AM)
135L very poison  drool.gif
poison is one thing, hard to use is another...not a easy lens to use if you come from zoom. This lens requires you to think/leg zoom before you press the trigger hehehe. I nearly give up on the first few weeks of usage. tongue.gif

QUOTE(cIvIc_noob @ Aug 3 2014, 06:59 AM)
He nampak marah
she don't really like to smile, perhaps she inherit some of my bad habit sweat.gif
nicotine
post Aug 4 2014, 09:10 PM

Raging Storm
3,669 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Aug 4 2014, 03:28 PM)
Hi, you shoot portrait?
I used to participate in 'photoshoot', but hasn't been doing it for a while, because:
1. the models (and organizers) charge too much
2. no breakthrough, as the photographers shoot independently rather than work together

Perhaps you can organize photoshoot for photographers who are serious in improving their skills (not for mingling with the pretty models)  nod.gif
1) I don't really shoot "leng mo" nowdays, I shoot mostly my dotter. Btw, I don't do those expensive indoor stuff which you had on ya flickr, I'll get into serious trouble with my HM later sweat.gif laugh.gif

2) You won't learn a thing from those outing, those outing were more like practical session to apply stuff which you already know. For learning best is to join workshop, you'll learn something handy from those workshop and of course it's all down to who's the speaker. Alternately you may find tutorials from the web such as editing and etc.

3) I don't have any talent contact, how to organize ? Also I don't mind learn a thing a two from you.

nicotine
post Oct 20 2014, 04:20 PM

Raging Storm
3,669 posts

I call it butt itchy or self poisoning syndrome, friends have I must have, forumer's have I must have it. Been through that.

Anyway as I progress, I put more effort on how to execute the shot rather then being so picky on gears. Infact nowadays I shot mostly with the unholy plastic 50F1.8 leaving all the Lansi lens inside dry cab laugh.gif

nicotine
post Oct 20 2014, 04:59 PM

Raging Storm
3,669 posts

@Jet23sky,

I'm not bashing you..

You should just go out and shot more post what ever you think it's best here and ask for critic. If you are confident enough, post it over POTN and Photomalaysia for feedback also.

From there we can know where's your current progress. Just like what mention by Sifu Kentang Emas... No one really give a hoot bout bokeh. If you tell people you gonna shoot portrait @ f1.4. Pro's most prolly will laugh at you. Ever heard of F8 and be there ?

Shooting at F2 with 50mm in close range get oof ear. oof eye brow, oof face that some what blend with the background, PP is tedious for these kind of pic just to bring back the details.

nicotine
post Oct 20 2014, 06:17 PM

Raging Storm
3,669 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Oct 20 2014, 05:14 PM)
Well, good pictures with thin dof always poison gao gao tongue.gif

for example
https://500px.com/photo/86241525/kim-natura...tm_source=500px

this guy always shoot at f1.4 or little narrower depends on DOF requirement
https://www.facebook.com/dd1photos?fref=ts
lol, bad for health and wallet. biggrin.gif
btw his PP god level, the amount of details he bring out with pp... fuhh. Gua kasi satu like.

This post has been edited by nicotine: Oct 20 2014, 06:26 PM
nicotine
post Oct 20 2014, 06:25 PM

Raging Storm
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Oct 20 2014, 05:17 PM)
Cause I love to play Bokeh effect. That's why I tend to test it out and verify the effect, whether it pleased my eyes or not. Its true that maybe Pro will laugh at my topics on this, but I, treat this photography as hobby and taking good photo to share with my frens. Sometime my perceptive is diff with Pros. Cause I never attended class or school. All learn by myself, keep shooting, gain experience.  smile.gif
no hal bro everyone perception/style is different. smile.gif
nicotine
post Dec 24 2014, 10:36 PM

Raging Storm
3,669 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Dec 22 2014, 02:48 AM)
Finally started editing another batch of convocation photos.

Organized and arranged by me, shot together with my friend.
Used a Nikon system though and a tele lens.

Steps used
- Basic Lightroom adjustment
- Frequency separation
- Liquify
- Merge with a different exposure
- Color Efex Pro
- Smoke brush

Settings
- ISO 640
- 1/8 Shutter speed
- f/4
- 500mm
- One strobe on each side
bro mind to explain on this frequency separation ? what does it do ? notworthy.gif
nicotine
post Dec 25 2014, 01:32 AM

Raging Storm
3,669 posts

something new, might be handy when dealing with not so perfect skin smile.gif

thank you.

0.0538sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:18 AM