Canon EOS Family, DSLR, EOS - V58, The White Paladins' Territory!

Jet23sky
post Sep 15 2014, 11:46 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

Canon 7D Mark II Official Released.

Canon EOS 7D Mark II Features

- 20.2 Megapixel CMOS (APS-C) sensor and ISO 100–16000 (expandable to H1: 25600, H2: 51200) for reduced noise at high ISOs and high performance Dual DIGIC 6 Image Processors for outstanding image quality and processing speed.
- High speed continuous shooting up to 10.0 fps allows you to capture fast action.
- 65-point* all cross-type AF system for high-performance, accurate subject tracking with EV -3 sensitivity (center point) for focusing in extreme low-light conditions.
- Canon’s innovative Dual Pixel CMOS AF enables you to shoot video like a camcorder with smooth, fast, and accurate autofocus and lets you enjoy instant and precise autofocus even when shooting stills.
- Stunning Full HD video with Custom Movie Servo AF (speed and sensitivity) for continuous focus tracking of moving subjects, multiple frame rates including Full HD recording at 60p in MOV and MP4 formats and uncompressed HDMI out.
- Intelligent Viewfinder II provides approximately 100% field of view for shooting ease.
- Improved custom controls and built-in intervalometer and bulb timer for expanded creativity.
- Magnesium alloy body with shutter durability up to 200,000 cycles and enhanced dust and weather resistance.
- EOS Scene Detection System features a new 150,000-pixel/RGB+IR metering sensor for improved precision.
- Built-in GPS** Receiver provides a digital compass, records location information (longitude, latitude, elevation and universal coordinated time (UTC)) as EXIF information for geotagging images when shooting.
- 3.0-inch Clear View II LCD monitor (approximately 1,040,000 dots) for bright and clear viewing.
- Additional Features

According to price, it cost around USD1799 with just Body itself. and with USD2149 with 18-135 IS STM Kit

This post has been edited by Jet23sky: Sep 16 2014, 12:05 AM
Jet23sky
post Sep 16 2014, 12:20 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Sep 16 2014, 11:29 AM)
I think the 7D II is only good for sports shooter. Most people will still buy the 70D instead, more features compared to the 7D other than AF and burst.
I'm one of those that you mentioned that will get 70D than 7d mark ii, though I've been holding to get 70D because of 7d mark ii, now I can full go towards 70D now. laugh.gif
Jet23sky
post Oct 12 2014, 11:31 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

I just bought Canon 70d to replace my 50d, and i would say I'm kinda satisfied with my decision instead of switching to Nikon 7100. But I have an unfortunate issue here.

I just found out that Tamron 17-50mm third party lense is not quite compatible with Canon 70D for video purpose as it would prompt the error message after 2 min of video recording. So I have no choice but to trade this lense with another portrait lenses.

My current plan is to get Tokina 11-16mm Wide angle lense next year Feb, and will change my portrait lense by end of this month. I have few lenses in mind.

1) Sigma 50mm 1.4 lense non art version - Read the review that gives better Bokeh effect than Canon 50mm 1.4 lense, but slightly into expensive part. Not sure whether worth it or not.
2) Canon 50mm 1.4 lense - A bit lose compare to sigma, but price is really cheap most probably best buck.
3) Any zoom lense - I also thought about video recording, using fixed lense i may not able to capture good video. So this part need you guys to recommend.

I'm currently struggling whether getting fixed lense or zoom lense. Fixed lense really can aid my photographing skill, no doubt about it. But video wise might be constraint, also can give good low light photography compare to zoom lense. Zoom lenses wise will not restraint by environment and able to make good video with zooming. But low light environment might lose to f1.4 compare with f2.8

Need you all sifu to help me. Really grateful u guys can help me on this.
Jet23sky
post Oct 12 2014, 11:52 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Oct 12 2014, 11:41 PM)
1. you sure it's lens problem? first time i hear of such.

2. fixed lens can capture good video too, it depends on how you use it.

3. actually both prime and zoom lenses will help you in your photography.

4. zoom lenses have environmental constraints too.

5. low light is flash / tripod / stabilizer. it depends on what your scene is.

I'm use both zoom lens and prime lens for my commercial work. I've not used my 50mm for a long time since I got the EF-S 15-85.

Video? I use high ISO. smile.gif Don't care just whack only.
https://www.flickr.com/groups/70d/discuss/72157636379017463/

There are more article about this, you may google it. But I think this is really happened as it happened to me as well. No reply from Tamron side, I think for a 1st generation of 17-50mm, I think they wont release any firmware just to fix the problem.

I mostly shoot portrait with bokeh affect. Get used with the F2.8, but I know having F1.4 would be very much fun on it. So i'm wondering, should I trade it with prime lense or just get zoom lenses. Video wise, normally are for those maybe like concert, or show.

What's your thought? I guess everyone get used with zoom lenses already. Vendor also told me, if in the future selling prime lense, nobody want to take it as they would prefer zoom lense.
Jet23sky
post Oct 13 2014, 11:30 AM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Oct 13 2014, 12:33 AM)
Not surprising though, my friends had problem with Tamron 24-70 VC USD as well.

Tamron distributor did acknowledge to me when I ask them last year, that they have problem with Canon bodies.

As for the lens, just find out which one you like. I use both zooms and primes, different lens for different purpose. My zooms are for interior photo, event and pictures of my meal of which I'll set the 15-85 to 50mm range.

For actual commercial work (eg food photo) then I use my EF 50mm f1.4 because it's not helpful when the zoom range keep changing as the EF-S 15-85 has heavy front element. I'll use the 100mm f2.8 macro for small food.
How about videography? Which lense do you usually use?

QUOTE(Silverfire @ Oct 13 2014, 01:28 AM)
On the contrary, my friends and I use prime lenses only. We have all sorts ranging from 14, 24, 35, 50, 85, 135 to 200.

For primes:
Might be hard to start with but once you get the hang of it, primes are actually much handier than zooms in the sense that you know which lens are made to fulfill or create what kind of images. So once you've set your mind on an image you want to create, which lens to use becomes apparent.

For zooms:
What I have personally experienced is that the 16-35 is an easy lens to use, you need time to get used to it, yes, but still easy to capture stunning images with it. However with the 24-70 is another story. At f2.8, the lens doesn't actually give you much depth to play with, so it depends more on your skill to create great images. And the 70-200 f2.8/f4 are great lenses to whoever knows what they wanna do with it.

Zoom lenses such as the Tamron 24-70 VC/Canon 24-105L IS works great due to the VC/IS but you'll have to make do with the distortion(which can be hard to be fixed if video) and, possibly, lower image quality. However new Canon lenses such as the 16-35L F4 IS and the 24-70L F4 IS are excellent in terms of image quality and IS performance but F4 is an extreme letdown if you're doing any amateur to advanced videography.

For video purposes, I can tell you that in dim location I still need to use up to ISO3200 for 1/50 or 1/30 shutter speeds (that is if you're shooting 30fps, for 60fps setting you will have to make do with 1/100 shutter speed to eliminate flicker) with prime lenses that are f2 and below. For you info, f1.4 -> f2.8 is 2 stops. So at f1.4 you may need just ISO1600 but with f2.8 you'll need ISO6400 to achieve the same brightness.

The Canon 50 1.4 and 85 1.8 are great and affordable lenses for both video and photos. Both are around RM900 used each.
True.. I have to agree on the F stop. If having the Full Frame and is another one stop further down. Hehe. But anyway, I have a fren who play vintage camera ( Fujifilm ) with all the fixed lenses. He said, once he played prime lense, he learned the purpose of each lense and will apply into different scenario, like what you said. True I could have issue using prime lense after 4 years of using zoom lense with Tamron.

At first I thought of whether want to trade my Tamron away and get the same 17-50mm Sigma F2.8, or the more exp Canon 17-55mm F2.8 lense. But since now my issue is just for the video wise, I found no issue in taking photo with it. And also, the chances to playing video is not quite often, so my plan now is to keep the Tamron and get another 50mm canon F1.4 lense for better Bokeh and also videography purpose.

Now you just mentioned the 85mm lense make me thinking whether want to get or not. I've never tired any lense that more than 50mm ( Usually I play portrait and scenary, those food photo usually I use handphone camera lol ). Maybe you can brief me on the 85mm general purpose for this lense. tongue.gif. Already confirmed to get Tokina Wide Angle lense next year Feb after play it in the camera shop. I have to admit, playing wide angle lense is so much fun than portrait. That's my preference though lol

This post has been edited by Jet23sky: Oct 13 2014, 11:31 AM
Jet23sky
post Oct 13 2014, 02:09 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Oct 13 2014, 02:02 PM)
Fujifilm isn't anu kind of vintage camera imo. it's a modern camera hiding inside a classic looking shell.

Not an expert in food photography but I think a simple kit lens can do the job? And for the 85mm, there's no specific purpose imo, you can use it for everything anyways (well that kinda applies to all the lenses out there), but most people would use it for portrait or low light (where the f1.8 or larger aperture comes in handy).
Is it? Cause his still using film instead of digital @_@
Jet23sky
post Oct 13 2014, 04:53 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(Silverfire @ Oct 13 2014, 03:52 PM)
If you're on APSC then a 50mm lens has a fov of 80mm lens while a 85mm lens will result in a fov of 136mm. So laugh.gif I suggest you go try it out yourself icon_idea.gif
Later once I test this 85mm lens..... I will get tempted with it...... but then my pocket will put another big hole. tongue.gif. Definitely will try this out since its not that expensive though.

So if I bought this, by March I should have 4 lenses..... geeze... time to change my camera sling bag to bigger size.... laugh.gif
Jet23sky
post Oct 13 2014, 07:06 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

guys, any trustable seller thatcan look for getting lense. the shop that i bought 70d give such high price
Jet23sky
post Oct 13 2014, 10:57 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(Rice_Owl84 @ Oct 13 2014, 07:25 PM)
I'v shopped from these guys before.

www.miyamondo.com.my
www.cameravalley.com.my

If you find cheaper than these guys tell me.
QUOTE(Silverfire @ Oct 13 2014, 08:17 PM)
After reading those website. I have made my final decision............. I'm going to get tokina 11-16mm lens ahead of 50mm F1.4 lens first!!!! I think i will use wide angle lens more when I travel to Taiwan end of Nov. I believe I can get the f1.4 later after come back from travel. Also, video problem I think i will just use my handphone to record first then, since its also full HD brows.gif
Jet23sky
post Oct 14 2014, 07:36 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Oct 14 2014, 11:01 AM)
How do you compare wide angle to portrait  hmm.gif
We can shoot portrait with wide angle too.
True. But I just love how enormous the natural in whole photo can be compare with portrait. Maybe is my preference tongue.gif
Jet23sky
post Oct 16 2014, 03:19 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

Guys, one more question, usually for wide angle lens, will you guys prefer better F stop like 2.8 rather than 4.0, 5.6 or features like Canon Image Stabilizer (IS)?

The reason I ask this is because I'm reading the comparison between Canon 10-18mm lense which was released 5 months ago and Tokina 11-16 F2.8 lense. There are pros and cons and giving the best buck, quite a number of people prefer canon because of the Image Stabilizer and much sharper photo though the Aperture is abit let down.

This post has been edited by Jet23sky: Oct 16 2014, 03:44 PM
Jet23sky
post Oct 16 2014, 05:15 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Oct 16 2014, 04:30 PM)
What are you using it for ?
F/2.8 will be more useful for astrophotography and videography(lowlight)
Definitely not for astrophotography purpose. More on scenary phototaking during travel.

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Oct 16 2014, 04:35 PM)
if you shoot low light including moving subject, get the tokina.

if not, get the canon, way smaller, cheaper, quite sharp and has IS (super useful for video).
I also feel that canon is sharper compare to Tokina and also tokina has some noise compare to it. And it is STM lense, much quieter for videography.

QUOTE(Rice_Owl84 @ Oct 16 2014, 04:55 PM)
Additional advantage to the tokina 11-16mm is that it can be mounted onto full frame and be used at 16mm.  So if you upgrade to FF you don't have to panic and got UWA covered right away.
I won't be going to full frame for the rest of my life. ( cause this is just part of my hobby, not really into the professional, too many commitment to my future wife and family :S ) But ya, full frame mounted is one of the advantage for tokina.

From all of your three advice. It seems like canon 10-18mm should be suitable to me. And is almost half of the price of Tokina lense. thumbup.gif
Jet23sky
post Oct 20 2014, 10:29 AM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

Got the Canon 10-18mm, Man I so in love with this lense. So wide~~~~~~~~ fast and quiet. The physical does feel and look like a toy. @_@ Very plastic but still feel solid.

Next target, Sigma 30mm F1.4 Art lense. Still studying the choice between sigma 30mm F1.4 Art and Canon 50mm F1.4 and Sigma 50mm F1.4. hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Jet23sky: Oct 20 2014, 10:30 AM
Jet23sky
post Oct 20 2014, 12:25 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Oct 20 2014, 11:20 AM)
your budget will help you decide, each lens have pros and cons from price, performance and resell value...
Base on those 3 lenses, their prices are quite similar. Of course canon lense is the cheapest among 3, then the 30mm and lastly 50mm. My friend said he's quite enjoy playing 30mm than 50mm as 30mm after mount it is 50mm. Its just whether I prefer tele or more wide.

Though canon lense cheap, but its bokeh is abit disappointment compare to the other 2. While I personally think 50mm Sigma has the best bokeh from all 3. But 30mm is kinda like a good spot range to take portrait and street photography.
Jet23sky
post Oct 20 2014, 02:32 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Oct 20 2014, 01:55 PM)
Are you SURE Sigma Art lens price is 'quite' similar to Canon EF and Sigma Non-Art lens ?

30mm and 50mm is totally giving different prospective IF you know how to make use of the focal length. Of course longer throw will have better bokeh ....still depend what you want.

If street photography on crop sensor = 30/35mm is best , if on FF 35mm is just great...
30mm sigma art lens has been released for quite a while already, I remember is 2013. What I know is 50mm art lens is exp compare to non art lense. ( The 50mm art just release like few months ago ). But bokeh in 50mm art lense is really sux. I've check the price is around RM1490 for Sigma 30mm art lense, and canon F1.4 is around RM1200. and 50mm Sigma Non Art Lense cost around RM1400 as well. So I don't see any big gap between 3 of them. At most is just RM200 difference.

I already knew 30mm cannot compete with 50mm due to focal length. What I said is in terms of photo taking, whether which one can give me a much better photo taking feel during shooting. I do have a portrait lense, but because it is not a prime lens, I tend to change it frequently. So I need to find a sweet spot for me to get a better photo taking.

Now I try to use 50mm for shooting for a day, and another day for 30mm shooting. And compare both in which one I feel is better.

I refer the price from www.cameravalley.com

This post has been edited by Jet23sky: Oct 20 2014, 02:35 PM
Jet23sky
post Oct 20 2014, 02:43 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Oct 20 2014, 02:37 PM)
do you really will notice the bokeh difference between the lenses? ask yourself. other than those pixel peeper or pro photographer that wants very smooth bokeh, most lenses will produce bokeh enough for a lot of us who is just hobbyist.
For the Sigma Art 50mm 1.4 lense. I have to admit I do see difference bokeh compare with canon F1.4 and sigma non art 50mm. Other than that, I still feel it is acceptable and unnoticeable. brows.gif

That is my preliminary testing at this moment, as my friend has the sigma 50mm 1.4mm lense to play and I did try the art lense during my canon 70D purchase.
Jet23sky
post Oct 20 2014, 04:15 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Oct 20 2014, 04:12 PM)
AND its always kinda of annoying + sad seeing ppl said ' my friend says....this good that good, i see my friend use this that good...' to me its like COME ON mate, what era are you in now...takkan friend ask you go jump river you also follow....
Ya, everyone has his/her own preference on selecting. It doesn't not always have to follow them. But they are informative and opinion based on the inquiries. Can be made it as reference and rethink in own perception, best is to experience ownself, and feel it. smile.gif
Jet23sky
post Oct 20 2014, 04:23 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(nicotine @ Oct 20 2014, 04:20 PM)
I call it butt itchy or self poisoning syndrome, friends have I must have, forumer's have I must have it. Been through that.

Anyway as I progress, I put more effort on how to execute the shot rather then being so picky on gears. Infact nowadays I shot mostly with the unholy plastic 50F1.8 leaving all the Lansi lens inside dry cab laugh.gif
A bit waste to leave those in dry cab..... laugh.gif laugh.gif . I also just use tamron lense play all around phototaking with 50D, been there done that. tongue.gif
Jet23sky
post Oct 20 2014, 04:31 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Oct 20 2014, 04:29 PM)
pandainya u putar belit  shakehead.gif
What distortion?? shocking.gif
Jet23sky
post Oct 20 2014, 04:43 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Oct 20 2014, 04:42 PM)
you really need to stop nit picking not important things.
Ehhh... Such as? Mind enlightened me? You mean the bokeh affect? ohmy.gif

0.0598sec    0.99    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:16 PM