LRT 3 route agreed!, LRT 3

usherken
post Feb 27 2015, 10:33 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(Babizz @ Feb 27 2015, 10:14 AM)
KTM klang to KL sentral is 55min i think.. LRT bkt tinggi to BU will be more than 1 hour based on 20 plus stops.. driving time to klang ktm is around 8mins from bkt tinggi.. Feasibility will increase if they cut down a few stations.. If ppl frm botanic go KL, they will use KESAS n cut into NPE.. my friends say driving thru jln langat is reli long/jam during peak hours.

Yes,during peak hours klang to KL is double of nonpeak via federal. I think jams in klang will become much worse when the LRT is undercon. good for long term investors.
The reason why KTM takes so long is cause at some stretch, the train slows down like crazy and sometimes stop for a while due to operational procedures. I believe LRT is a much better solution than KTM. Having said that, it will not impact ppl who use KTM to go to KL as it still is a better option. The LRT will benefit those that works in Shah Alam or Damansara area where previously they have to take the KTM to Sentral before taking the LRT back towards PJ, most likely they can now interchange at 1 of the stations and head directly to PJ.

Peak hour from Klang KTM to/from Bukit Tinggi can take anywhere from 15mins to 30mins actually. So instead of driving and get tired from peak hour rush, can now chillax in the LRT until near home liao.

I also think once these public transportations (MRT and LRT) are done, traffic in KL and surrounding areas will be much better. I personally prefer to use public transport, but forced to drive around due to the inadequacies of the current public transportation systems.

Just the 2 cents from a Klang boy.
usherken
post Mar 3 2015, 11:34 AM

116 posts

I think main point is to encourage people to use public transportation. Right now so many people are actually driving or using motorcycles. For us lucky few we can drive la no problem but there are a lot of people out there that resorts to badshape buses and kapchais. Better if we see less motorcycles on the road lor.

Travel time would still be acceptable. KTM takes 1 hour from Klang to Sentral. If wanna go KLCC another 15 mins on the LRT. End up same same lor.
usherken
post Mar 23 2015, 03:11 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(Babizz @ Mar 5 2015, 12:04 PM)
Duno. my knowledge on all this nitty gritty details quite bad lor. if gt public display, ill go la  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
They already show which area earmarked for the stations?
usherken
post Mar 27 2015, 10:21 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(Babizz @ Mar 27 2015, 10:11 AM)
although thr are many stops in south klang.. i still think the time taken to reach kl sentral or BU frm south klang might be too long.. jus imagine..25 stations until BU will take around 1 hour.. can also connect to the Kelana LRT to klcc at station 3 near glenmarie... a few stations r nt neccesary n can be kept fr the future like hishamudin n sirim stations..
i wonder why no integrated station for the LRT with the KTM in Klang? I mean it would have made perfect sense to integrate them right??
usherken
post Mar 27 2015, 10:34 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(Babizz @ Mar 27 2015, 10:27 AM)
did u check properly ah? i think now they using the main bridge route n not the tengku kelana one as the tengku kelana owners are reli angry.. its also a heritage site. maybe im wrong too.. focus on the exec summary..
Checked d, the station will stop at MPK there, the main bridge. so if wanna go KTM, very far walk. Hopefully got feeder bus system lor.

If thats the case they can build the station over the existing KTM station and loop back out towards the main bridge lor. Also, if you notice the Klang KTM station got some workshop shed kinda structure at platform 2 there can utilize that mah.

Then again maybe they cannot get approval or something la. A bit inconvenient.
usherken
post Mar 27 2015, 01:40 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(New Klang @ Mar 27 2015, 01:13 PM)
LRT is a good solution as  traffic jam is happening almost everywhere.

Travelling from Klang to PJ can take 1-1.5 hours by car.
+1

I'm also all for the LRT!
usherken
post Mar 30 2015, 02:33 PM

116 posts

http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...tart/?style=biz

Pretty much LRT3 is confirmed and happening even with the tough economic climate based on the last sentence in the article.
usherken
post May 14 2015, 01:51 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(kiawin @ May 14 2015, 10:30 AM)
To me public transportation is not meant to be a replacement transportation medium for a faster mode of transport. It is a transportation medium with reasonable travel time (can be more or less than existing mode of transport), consistent travel time (with tolerable minimal delay) and productive time during transit (in which I don't need to focus upon my steering wheel, and perhaps do some reading and stuff). Last but not least, I also don't expect public transportation to be dirt cheap as that is not practical at all.
Not to forget, not everyone can afford to buy cars. So i think in the end it all comes down to pros and cons with driving or taking public transportation. Honestly if KTM isn't such a big c*ck up i will choose to ride it instead of driving to KL. Hopefully the LRT will be managed properly lah.
usherken
post May 14 2015, 03:52 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(Babizz @ May 14 2015, 03:31 PM)
yes.. ktm n monorail no good although ktm improving..now ktm asking for more fare which will make it damm expensive.. Ktm is doing d signaling works now n the main prob is still if u go home late u nit sure wthr got any train or not..

monorail on d other hand only can fit 220 ppl n always inadequate.. hear during hangtuah interchange station will be madrush to go in... LRT on the other hand has many extra trains so sometimes its only 20-30 seconds headway..
But still KTM is subjected to annoying situations. This incident was what changed my mind forever. I was otw to work on KTM, already there was a delay due to some nonsensical issue, then the train stopped at Petaling. I saw so many ppl outside and wondering what happened, turns out that it is the last stop for the train and the people outside were from the 2 earlier trains which stopped there too. We were told to get out, and after we got out, the train went back the other direction. Apparently, there was a planned demo in KL that day so they didn't allow ppl to go into KL with KTM. So there were hundreds of ppl stuck on that Petaling platform unsure what to do because they didn't say when trains will be allowed to go to KL. Imagine rush 6 coaches full of ppl, times 3 on Petaling platform. And so that was the last time I ever took KTM.

They might have improved, but this episode taught me that with KTM, ANYTHING can happen. Road blocks I get it la but train blocks?! And they were willing to comply to the demand!

Sorry sudah lari tajuk but I am very satisfied with LRT services and it will probably be much better than KTM for Klang ppl.
usherken
post May 19 2015, 02:01 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(LTG @ May 19 2015, 11:08 AM)
why one utama LRT 3 and MRT one utama like not connected ?
not interchange ?

350m away. need to walk
usherken
post May 19 2015, 03:59 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(Babizz @ May 19 2015, 03:23 PM)
Im assuming u mean the interchange b4 they implemented the ticketless transfer la.. i actually nvr cross over to the star lrt.. how far is it? btw, 350m is quite a distance...
operation is by different companies so i doubt they will implement ticketless transfer. i mean for ktm and lrt lah. lrt and mrt maybe they planning something?

This post has been edited by usherken: May 19 2015, 04:06 PM

0.0227sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:25 AM