Chipset cooler, discussion and suggestion

styloe
post Mar 31 2007, 06:47 PM

6 sTaR wORkaHOLic JuNKie
1,242 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ Mar 31 2007, 06:14 PM)
do you have the fan clip for NC-U6? mine dont have leh
using cable tie shud do the trick but not so "lawa" but it works.
styloe
post Mar 31 2007, 06:55 PM

6 sTaR wORkaHOLic JuNKie
1,242 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Mar 31 2007, 06:47 PM)
Is it very hard to get those fan clips?
i think i ask irangan oredi U6 dont have fan klip.dunno maybe can ask him to find or make mini bulk. hmm.gif if the item existla.im also still wanna get wan but strap for cash now.maybe later when i get c2d proc nod.gif

if u have a good air flowing case running U6 on passive cooling will be good enuff flex.gif
styloe
post Jul 29 2007, 03:21 AM

6 sTaR wORkaHOLic JuNKie
1,242 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Jul 29 2007, 12:51 AM)
Zalman flower NB hsf (forget the model name) at RM38 should be a good buy. Decent performer and affordable.
i reckon uglyvamp pc cooler NB400cu also a goodbuy copper + fan for extra cooling brows.gif
styloe
post Jul 30 2007, 04:14 AM

6 sTaR wORkaHOLic JuNKie
1,242 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jul 29 2007, 07:27 PM)
I'm new to this northbridge cooling concept as I've been using AMD prior to this.

What would be considered an acceptable temperature for an OC/Overvolt northbridge? Not more than 50'c at load?  hmm.gif
im also. so far the intel boards hv hotter NB my last board DS3 was 43-45c not even OC-ed yet sweat.gif .my last board asus was barely at 40c but it was 915p chipset laugh.gif
styloe
post Aug 4 2007, 03:26 AM

6 sTaR wORkaHOLic JuNKie
1,242 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Aug 4 2007, 01:51 AM)
Anything below 45'C is ok.. Though my one only at 25-30'C even during OC.
wow very NICE temp there btw what mobo? brows.gif

also ur case has very good air flow flex.gif
styloe
post Aug 5 2007, 02:53 AM

6 sTaR wORkaHOLic JuNKie
1,242 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Aug 4 2007, 05:13 PM)
That wouldn't do any good.
Trust me.
Maybe just 1-2 degrees better than the old HR-05, but certainly not better than the NC-U6. smile.gif

High performance fan for the NB HSF?
Think again, high performance fan will give so much vibrations.

You don't want vibrations on your NB HSF.
Why?

Because most of the NB chipset nowadays [except for X38 chipset] has a naked die, they don't have any IHS, which the area that can support the base of the NB HSF is too small.
And when vibtration happens, heat transfer will be even worse if you compare it to when you're using a low speed fan. smile.gif

Been there, done that. smile.gif
i think active cooling is better than passive but if too much vibration can lessen the efficiency of heat transfer no less than hware damage, u wudnt sacrifice the mobo just for the sake of cooling the NB.IMO get the best NB cooler money can buy strap a decent fan on it VOALA!!!!

0.0301sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:33 PM