Chipset cooler, discussion and suggestion
akachester
Apr 24 2007, 08:14 AM
QUOTE(Zicron @ Apr 22 2007, 10:24 PM) The blue is the 1 i currently using, quite hot on my expert And the gold one very rare, hard to find in LYP @.@ Well, i dont mind if its not that good.It must at least be better than my current one cause my SB is kinda hot. I will check out at LYP today and see whether i could find it or not.I actually first saw the CM NB cooler that look so much like the Zalman for replacement but it uses thermal tape which i dont like cause i cant find them.. This post has been edited by akachester: Apr 24 2007, 08:15 AM
TerryZeroX
Apr 26 2007, 12:14 AM
QUOTE(TerryZeroX @ Apr 23 2007, 02:55 AM) Hey guys, wanna ask how do i check my northbridge temp? i'm in GA-M55SLI-S4 sucky mobo, but since i bought it i gotta live with it lol  i only see this on my everest » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « [attachmentid=221594] wat is that Aux lol  no answer?  i need to know which is the temp for my chipset
akachester
Apr 26 2007, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(TerryZeroX @ Apr 26 2007, 12:14 AM) no answer?  i need to know which is the temp for my chipset  Check it at bios?
edwin3210
Apr 26 2007, 11:52 AM
Hey guys, i just found that chipset doenst need that sophisticated cooling mechanism, well as long as my nforce4 goes. the fan of my chipset just went haywire weeks ago, it suddenly produce annoying sound (it spun at 6k rpm). this sound didn exist when this motherboard is new. the temperature when using with the fan spin at 6k is around 37C. as the fan is very annoying, i decide to take the fan out and run some benchmark to see whether it have any difference, to my surprise, it still more or less the same temperature even without the fan. but of coz, i maintain a good ventilation of my casing, maybe the fan which suck the air out behind the casing is helping it?
TerryZeroX
Apr 26 2007, 12:41 PM
QUOTE(akachester @ Apr 26 2007, 11:02 AM) did that, it shows the same temp as Aux, but i seriously doubt its at 34c, i would say it'll be around 50? its darn hot.
lolhalol
Apr 30 2007, 11:00 AM
QUOTE(edwin3210 @ Apr 26 2007, 12:52 PM) Hey guys, i just found that chipset doenst need that sophisticated cooling mechanism, well as long as my nforce4 goes. the fan of my chipset just went haywire weeks ago, it suddenly produce annoying sound (it spun at 6k rpm). this sound didn exist when this motherboard is new. the temperature when using with the fan spin at 6k is around 37C. as the fan is very annoying, i decide to take the fan out and run some benchmark to see whether it have any difference, to my surprise, it still more or less the same temperature even without the fan. but of coz, i maintain a good ventilation of my casing, maybe the fan which suck the air out behind the casing is helping it? bro is ur chipset overclockeD? most of us here that are stil on nf4s are probably on the dfi boards, and voltage is pumped quite high. and the beter cooling u have, the higher u can hit when u oc.... of course running at stock will not overheat it...
Zicron
May 4 2007, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ May 4 2007, 01:23 AM) Do you think this thing can fit in here ? » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «
dont think can..unless u remove ur geminII The chipset most probally would be block
Doom
May 4 2007, 05:31 PM
With that cooler, is there need for the additional chipset cooler ??
I think the air from both fans are definitely more than enough to keep the chipset cool enough as long as there's a slightly better chipset heat sink installed .. maybe a Zalman passive chipset cooler will works..
mcchin
May 4 2007, 05:53 PM
QUOTE(TerryZeroX @ Apr 26 2007, 12:14 AM) no answer?  i need to know which is the temp for my chipset  is it really possible to check some mobo dont supports it the way i check i using a laser thermometer the other is using the crud way touchy-feelie if its warm to touch the temp is ~40++ it it is hot to touch then it is prolly >50++ degree
irangan
May 4 2007, 05:54 PM
QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ May 4 2007, 01:23 AM) Do you think this thing can fit in here ?
No you cant... Probably you can try HR05 SLI.
TerryZeroX
May 5 2007, 02:53 AM
QUOTE(mcchin @ May 4 2007, 05:53 PM) is it really possible to check some mobo dont supports it the way i check i using a laser thermometer the other is using the crud way touchy-feelie if its warm to touch the temp is ~40++ it it is hot to touch then it is prolly >50++ degree its really reallllly HOT. touch for few more secs it might even burn my skin lol.
Zicron
May 6 2007, 07:34 PM
@TerryZeroX  Chipset temp shud be the temp3 and HD0 is hdd temp
TerryZeroX
May 11 2007, 09:29 AM
QUOTE(Zicron @ May 6 2007, 07:34 PM) @TerryZeroX  Chipset temp shud be the temp3 and HD0 is hdd temp hmmm okay... my temp3 in smartfan shows 34c which i doubt so  same reading as everest's Aux. Dang my mobo sux... can't even show proper temp.
shinzhizu
May 12 2007, 03:28 PM
just know that the Biostar T series all got the chipset cooler..run at 5XXX rpm..can adjust the speed of the fan?
and if change the cooler, which one is compatible and better..??Thermalright HR-05 or sli version..i just scare it that if my coming 8800gts card cant fit in..who got experience?
mADmAN
May 12 2007, 03:49 PM
hhhmmm....... is anyone here mad enough to try THIS as a chipset cooler?? looking at the mountings it seems possible...... only thing is dunno where to get... karom's bulk no pricing on it yet
sHawTY
May 12 2007, 05:17 PM
QUOTE(mADmAN @ May 12 2007, 03:49 PM) hhhmmm....... is anyone here mad enough to try THIS as a chipset cooler?? looking at the mountings it seems possible...... only thing is dunno where to get... karom's bulk no pricing on it yet Ko sorang je yang gila nak guna heatsink tu untuk chipset.
salimbest83
May 12 2007, 05:23 PM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ May 12 2007, 05:17 PM) Ko sorang je yang gila nak guna heatsink tu untuk chipset.  hehe.. bukan dia sorang je gila... aku pun rasa cam nak potong2 HSink kat MOBO nii.. panas melampau..
emilz
May 12 2007, 05:52 PM
i dont have any idea y they can cum out with that heatsink heheh very geli when look at it
mADmAN
May 12 2007, 08:26 PM
geli?? y geli?? i think that it looks friggin sexy man...if price is right think i wanna pick up 1 for myself...