Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V60, From A to E mount!

zstan
post Jul 26 2014, 09:44 AM

15,856 posts

oooo. so both A mount & E mount now combined thumbup.gif
zstan
post Jul 27 2014, 11:52 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(bdrc @ Jul 27 2014, 10:00 AM)
Hmm... I think article here got show how the field of view and angle differs in aps-c and FF, note the 15mm on FF and 12mm on aps-c: (you can ignore the rest of the review on lens)
http://www.lenstip.com/311.1-Lens_review-C...isheye_USM.html

and extra for those who might interested to read:
http://photographylife.com/equivalent-foca...d-field-of-view
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/find/newsLet...les-of-View.jsp
Anyway, today is my 1 year anniversary with my NEX-6 and started shooting photos ever since.

Put up my latest photo here and celebrate,
shot with NEX-6 & Vivitar 135mm f/2.8 

user posted imageDSC00422 by bdrc, on Flickr

user posted imageDSC00452 by bdrc, on Flickr
wahhh the bokeh rclxub.gif time to get 135mm Zeiss icon_idea.gif
zstan
post Jul 29 2014, 10:54 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(bdrc @ Jul 29 2014, 08:26 AM)
Interesting. Anywhere to get the square filters and the clip-holders for landscape purpose?

Complementary photo, comments and critiques always wanted:
Nex-6 with Nikkor 50mm f/1.4 D

user posted imageDSC00641 by bdrc, on Flickr

why cut off at her butt area? sweat.gif
zstan
post Jul 29 2014, 10:20 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Jul 29 2014, 08:36 PM)
Does anyone here have the Sigma 60mm F2.8 DN? How much did you buy it for?

Its sharpness is rated highly in Dxomark, so I'm thinking of getting it for taking product shots.
What kind of product shots are you doing? generally you won't be shooting at wide open unless you plan to do creative shots and need good amounts of bokeh. otherwise with proper lighting you are probably gonna step down the aperture and everything will be sharp anyway.

the main question is, are you comfortable working with 60mm focal length?
zstan
post Sep 1 2014, 10:27 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(themanwithnoname @ Sep 1 2014, 06:33 AM)
Yes, why not  tongue.gif

Leica will get all the spotlight and fame.

But the a6000 will get me the picture (and a fatter wallet).
Yes you heard that the first time from me tongue.gif
fixed
zstan
post Sep 22 2014, 03:03 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Sep 22 2014, 12:59 PM)
Have enough to pack it now. But want keep spare money in case of emergency.

Still hoping for a 35 or 50 f1.8 lens. But it's really expensive la. More than half the price of A6000 kit. Let's see if there's any good deals in any of the IT fairs here. Few weeks ago got one fair, Olympus giving extra prime lens that costs over 500SGD on top of kit lens(es) with freebies like dual 32GB card. Samsung on the other hand included free tablet with purchase of their camera. If can get A6000 with some similar offer it's really nice tongue.gif

So fast want persuade ppl buy flash d? Engine haven't order at all, even engine model not decided yet now already recommending me to supercharge my engine doh.gif biggrin.gif
if you need to spare money for emergency then you probably should save more money instead of rushing to buy a camera and then telling yourself that the purchase is justified. unless you are getting the camera to make a living then yes, go ahead and grab one now. if you are just playing it for fun, either buy a system within your means or just save more. icon_rolleyes.gif

lens purchase can always come later la. use a normal zoom lens first. again, unless you using it for serious work. otherwise the cost of buying a new more powderful lens is really unjustified just to satisfy your gear lust.
zstan
post Sep 26 2014, 01:05 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(edpaul @ Sep 25 2014, 09:10 PM)
ok. Eye detection Auto Focus, yea, it focus on the eye via contrast detect. no 'anti blink' feature (no links founded) although the feature was introduce in recent cybershots DSC-HX9/HX9V and WX1 (or could be earlier, and i may misread it thinking E mount uses it too) my mistake
tau salah tak apa
zstan
post Sep 26 2014, 11:57 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(edpaul @ Sep 26 2014, 02:44 AM)
the reason i read wrong is because when sony pass me the unit(prototype), with the thick 'marketing' booklet (printed from powerpoint), its all sweet sweet marketing words... and the internet doesnt have any reviews yet(because its not time to release yet) and so, when i google for more info, it lead me back to that eye(blink) detection feature in wx1  sweat.gif  that why i mixed up with the feature.  sweat.gif
hahahaha paiseh, my bad also... coz misunderstood u.
i remember you send me a article last  time, the fellow shot one at wide, one at tele zoomed, of the same subject. he extracted the car plate behind from both picture and put side by side and both show the exact same 'bokeh-ness'... and it was the best article ever disproof many many misconception.

Eiraku:
if i recall, HSS is pointless with leaf shutter(they cant use HSS). the leafshutter is syncspeed is base on design. some limit at 1/500, some at 1/2000. so it varies from lens to lens (or manufacturer to manufacturer)

and about HSS application... it works better when shooting still... it actually doesnt work well with fast moving subject, it actually cause motion blur effect... again, this is where a lot ppl misunderstood HSS and apply it in high motion photography, which is nothing to do highspeed photograph

although all that being said, the shutter leaf still wins... in many aspect, 1 is it can retain higher power (lets use "power" easy for us to understand, although its duration of albnok mention) uses over the syncspeed.
it can use to shoot really FAST moving subject oppose to HSS(very very technical sh*tz)
that's why ask u attend the new camera try out sessions to understand the camera better you don't want. read theory theory for what tongue.gif
zstan
post Oct 12 2014, 02:46 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(spicyfooty @ Oct 11 2014, 10:47 PM)
been fidling with my lovely a6000 but this thing bugs me alot.

when i shot 24p video, i noticed it stutters alot! When viewed on the camera monitor or on the computer, the stutter is too much to bear, especially when panning.

but on 60i or 60p, no stutters at all, smooth as silk.

can any a6000 owners confirm this? is it normal for 24p? I hope it's not camera problem.
what software did you use to view the video?
zstan
post Nov 24 2014, 12:13 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(HaN18 @ Nov 24 2014, 11:12 AM)
thinking to upgrade my body.. should I go for a6000 or wait for new model of a6000? is FF really necessary? smile.gif
can you even afford FF in the first place?
zstan
post Dec 4 2014, 12:29 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(ahpingko @ Dec 3 2014, 11:26 PM)
guys.. my old A550 got some issue now... it keep on auto turn off and turn on again.. whenever i click half shutter for focus it will go off.. anyone encountered this? agak agak how much to send to sony ah? anyone know?
probably enough to get you a 2nd hand camera .. not worth to repair i guess

0.0607sec    1.06    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:05 AM