Economics Doctor of Business Admin

cfa28
post Oct 31 2014, 10:15 AM

4,829 posts

QUOTE(juniortok @ Jul 16 2014, 01:22 PM)
Hi guys,

I am new to this forum and I am glad that we have this Phd section in this forum.  I have been accepted to a DBA program by a well known British university and will start my course this year.  I am living in HK now and thinking about moving back to KL (too long in HK, sian already). 

Do you guys think that a DBA graduate can get a good job in Malaysia assuming that you have the right experience? or its a market where people dont care about your knowledge?

Cheers
mind sharing which University is this? how are u doing the DBA, in MY or UK.
cfa28
post Oct 31 2014, 11:01 AM

4,829 posts

QUOTE(juniortok @ Oct 31 2014, 10:56 AM)
University of Manchester.  Need to go Manchester (but I am Liverpool fan....) 3 times a year.  For the first 2 years:

Feb - Need to attend 6 full days (9-5 pm) of lectures
June - Attend conference and workshops (around 4-5 days)
Oct - Need to attend 6 full days (9-5 pm) of lectures

From third year onward, need to go twice a year to work with your supervisor.

So, you need to allocate around 24 days (including travelling days and jet leg recovery days) to attend classes in Manchester.

In addition, there are some coursework to finish which I estimate to take around 10 hours a week (on average) for 52 weeks for the first 2 years.  Writing the thesis will depend on you.

So, its a big commitment.

Uni of Manchester used to have the best DBA program and PHD program (both ranked together) in the world, but dropped to third recently.  In any event, they are still very reputable.  I would not say they are world class, world class.  But they are definitely quite good.
thanks for your reply - too big commitment for me

but in your case = congrats to you. Am sure that there are employers who will recognize reputable Uni to answer your first question

cfa28
post Oct 31 2014, 11:22 AM

4,829 posts

QUOTE(juniortok @ Oct 31 2014, 11:14 AM)
After attending the course, I actually think that Asia employers will not pay for this.  So, it is a negative IRR investment if you look at it that way.  But there are many other benefits.
Bro, your DBA in Real Estate Finance seems very interesting.

What is your specific area of research or discovery

0.0166sec    1.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:16 AM