Proton PrevĂ© V21, Versione ventuno!

colboynick
post Aug 15 2014, 09:30 PM

Been reading this thread for some time..
I Gotto say really useful information provided! Thumbs up! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Getting my car tmr.
Despite all the negative thing i heard from friends on Preve, it still attract me the most comparing to others. (+ - 10k)
I guess its the stylish head! tongue.gif

Been worried bout the FC, but driving a big solid car, this is the cost you need to pay right? brows.gif brows.gif

My question -

I realize the DRL in Suprima S is brighter than Preve?
Anyone know where to tune it brighter? How much it cost?
Actually is tuning or changing?

My SA told me i can add on the bodykit from R3 for 3k full set.
Is this the normal rate?

Thank in advance!
colboynick
post Aug 17 2014, 01:26 PM

Got my Car yesterday!

Helicopter sound as usual.. yawn.gif

But i need to clarify one thing,

Im facing reverse difficulties as in when i try to reverse, it seems like you really have to press down the paddle quite a lot before the car start reversing. I must say its actually not steep at all! sad.gif

Is this normal or i should bring this up to SC?

Im in D mode, going down the hill, my RPM went up and dragg my car.
I have to brake the car halfway and all the way down the hill??

I dont think putting N mode downhill is a good idea. @.@"

Thanks Sifus in advance! notworthy.gif
colboynick
post Aug 17 2014, 11:14 PM

QUOTE(Raymond T. @ Aug 17 2014, 01:32 PM)
1. Helicopter sound will gone after few week, if not resolved bring back to sc.
2. Due to cvt gearbox, it's normal.
3. Due to cvt gearbox, it's normal. (either press light break once or accelerate to release)

source based on my experience, no offence.  laugh.gif
Thanks Raymond! Will see for this few days if the helicopter sound still exist.

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Aug 17 2014, 01:42 PM)
Both are normal characteristics of CVT transmission, although the 'delay' time varies from car to car.

Do not put into N mode whenever your car is moving! It's very dangerous. Your RPM went up due to engine braking which it is designed for that purpose.
Thanks Mushy! Just so not used to the reverse. Slow and powerless unless "tekan!". blink.gif

QUOTE(sanadi @ Aug 17 2014, 02:36 PM)
If you don't like the engine braking, just tap the right paddle shift to up shift the ratio. Just upshift to the ratio you want, 5, 6, 7, etc.. That way you temporarily override the gearbox. It is called "Tip mode". The is no need to move the gear lever to manual mode. Try it.
I will try this when im back to the road! Thanks Sanadi!

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Aug 17 2014, 05:41 PM)
It's engine braking. On most automatic transmission cars now, if throttle input is 0, then a lower gear will be used to resist acceleration going down hill.
Noted! Thanks a lot Mengsuan!

Sifus!
Im facing a dilemma here..
Im going down to Kedah from KL next week.
Estimated 850km for return trip.
Plus mileage now is already 150km.

I got one week of work left which will round up to 200km this week.

By this time i would have passed my 1k service.
SA told me SC would forfeit my 1k service.
But i got no choice but to go for the kedah trip.

Please advise.. doh.gif doh.gif
colboynick
post Aug 19 2014, 08:31 AM

I must say,
It's actually a self preference type of car, every car also got their negative side i believe.
Try not to look down on Proton and i think we will have a pleasant experience with our Preve! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Everyone say proton this bad that bad, when i got my car, everyone wants to "TRY".
NAHH!! LoL! cool2.gif rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(ChuanHong @ Aug 18 2014, 08:45 AM)
please inform your SA first before u go for your trip. It's ok as long as dont over extremely..

if 200km+850km = 1050km only.. its ok.. coz my case, i exceed 1000km too near to around 1150km.. still ok.. as long as u are not go to 2000km only go 1000km service.. there is no statement must go service at 1000km accurately.. if that SA cannot help, go other service centre.. no need let that service centre earn money..
I called SC, i explained and they told me as long as dont exceed 1500km.
Cross finger that day no problem arise. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(g00glesYYl @ Aug 18 2014, 10:22 PM)
Claim for brake disc in SC immediately or in 1st services. My case is that the sound will not go away by its own, so just claim.

If over certain mileage, some SC will request you to "buy" the brake pad too. Brake pad is wear and tear item.
Funny part is sometimes i hear the sound, sometimes it seems like its gone.
Will monitor again this few days. Thanks! biggrin.gif
colboynick
post Aug 20 2014, 09:37 AM

Hey Sifus!

*I had check through manual book* icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

Anyone has the answer, when does the soft turbo kicks off?
I mean the Rpm.

My friend told me 3.5Rpm,
My SA told me 2.0Rpm and above.

Just want to make sure so that i can keep myself a limit. LoL

Thank You! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
colboynick
post Aug 20 2014, 03:21 PM

QUOTE(ChuanHong @ Aug 20 2014, 03:00 PM)
above 2k rpm.. u can feel a bit of turbo kick in when rpm above rpm. put it in Paddle shift mode or S mode u will see the significant feel.. but for better fuel consumption then use D mode..
Thanks ChuanHong!

I restraint myself from above 2k Rpm currently.
But i think its quite easy to go over 2k Rpm right? blink.gif

Where did you get this information?
Could you share with me? I wanna read more on this..

Thank You in advance ! notworthy.gif
colboynick
post Aug 20 2014, 04:23 PM

QUOTE(ChuanHong @ Aug 20 2014, 03:37 PM)
from proton preve brochure and also self experience. from idle u press pedal till 2k rpm or above 2k u can feel the kick.. normally 2k rpm can go up to around 90km/h.. 100km/h just above 2k rpm abit.. u can try drive below 2k rpm.. then sudden press pedal harder a bit to make it above 2k rpm, for sure you can feel the turbo kick in.

for those press pedal hardly, it actually easily to get above 2k rpm.. but personally focus on save fuel, only sometimes press harder when get challenge by ppl.. rm80 petrol able to give me 400km plus and still able to go 140km from estimation.. i want try stress till the fuel indicator appear then see final total mileage.
Thanks for the info!

Yea. Im currently doing below 2k Rpm.
But traveling to Kedah soon, so i dont think can maintain 2k Rpm dy. haha! tongue.gif

This few days i travel to office, I press softly. 2k Rpm at most.

Actually not so bad la.. Just that expect slow start after green light.

Other than that, pleasant ride to office and back home!

Maybe just change from Manual to Auto. Thats why left leg feel easy, thats why pleasant ride. HAHAHA! rclxm9.gif

colboynick
post Aug 21 2014, 08:24 AM

QUOTE(ChuanHong @ Aug 20 2014, 04:58 PM)
me also travel from home to office everyday around 60~70km.just maintain low rpm too.. previous got went to kedah changlun.. i got accelerate till 190km/h 2 times.. car is still stable until 160km/h.. after that, its feel floating already but not so serious.. if can try dont do it always.. i just let my car exercise only during that time before 1000km service.

dont know its my car problem or not.. i feel auto cruise control will use higher rpm than normally we manual press pedal.. example i can press pedal at 2k rpm abit for 100km/h, but if i use auto cruise, rpm will go up to 2.5k rpm..
Hahaha!
I dont think I will have the chance of trying at this speed. (Mom's on board). LoL!!

Is it s a good idea to go exceed 120km/h before 1k service??
I was about to try but Manual book says dont exceed 120km/h before 1k service.
*Engine hasn't kick in, to confirm brake fully function, engine oil not full or smth, ?(this is those i heard around not to try exceed 120km/h before 1k. Myth??

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Aug 20 2014, 05:27 PM)
0-2k rpm is the spooling.
Thanks for the information!

It took me sometime to google "Spooling", but its a good read!!
I will try turbo after my 1k service. tongue.gif
colboynick
post Aug 21 2014, 10:20 AM

QUOTE(sAm fIsher @ Aug 21 2014, 09:44 AM)
2 break-in methods, doing it the recommended way or the hard way. recommended way is the one u can find from the manual, hard way u can google a bit on "hard break in" or HERE.
Hey ya!

I read about this before i got my car.
But there are still loads of people debating about this.
So im kinda like 50-50%.

I just want to clear this up : -

Hard break in, said as better and clear engine up!
But will this exhaust the engine at first = FC will be high onwards.

I know it dont sounds convincing, but just want to confirm on this.

Thanks in advance! notworthy.gif
colboynick
post Sep 1 2014, 08:38 PM

QUOTE(Yoooo @ Aug 31 2014, 01:30 PM)
there is a piece of metal each side 1 in the boot of preve, anyone knows the usage of it?
Its for the boot tray. nod.gif
colboynick
post Sep 3 2014, 06:36 PM

QUOTE(alien9 @ Sep 3 2014, 10:23 AM)
Well, I'm at PJ Sect 13 SC for my 1000km service. The Front Desk lady recommend me to topup extra to use Syn 800 instead of the Mineral Oil for RM56. Service so far so good.

Got an update from a staff here. Syn800 can be use till 10k km if you use the car for daily ride. If you have done a lot of Long Distance Driving, it's advisable to change at 5k km.
Lucky you!
I had my 1st service there on Tuesday. Left my car there at 7.50am then went to work.
Only got my car back at 5pm when they finally called and says done. =.="
I hated the receptionist attitude so much! "Belum siap, sudah siap kite akan call la~". I called twice also tell me this.
vmad.gif vmad.gif

colboynick
post Sep 4 2014, 12:12 PM

QUOTE(alien9 @ Sep 4 2014, 02:06 AM)
You had your service where? The service receptionist told me that my car will be attended at 10.30 am since the mechanics have am break from 10 am to 10.30 am  eventhou my appointment at 10 am. thumbup.gif They promised me the car will be ready at 12pm. At 11.30, my car still haven't been attended and I straight complain and they attend my car shortly afterwards and surprisingly, they managed to get it done within 30 minutes.  shakehead.gif

And they scratched my car key hole  cry.gif
Sect13, PJ.

I left my car there while i walk to work..
I dont think they followed the number to attend to my car.
Tak nampak owner then tak payah service dulu. =.="
colboynick
post Sep 9 2014, 01:19 PM

QUOTE(kimraz @ Sep 8 2014, 06:35 PM)
thanks theon for reply, any sc will do? and doesnt it come with waranty and free services? i still need to pay?
ok i will ask my dad to go tomorrow as i bz working.. for driving exceed 100km.. no concern on that thing?

i expected that kind of problem, been monitoring this thread about 3 month.. i hope that fixable.. smile.gif
Go to those proton SC. They will rectify it for you.
I dont think you will need to pay if the car was delivered this way.

I called SC to inform them i will be exceeding my 1k before i went. So that they know and you can expect less "bla bla blah" at SC. *they told me less than 1.5k is ok, but i played safe, sent my car around 1150 milage. smile.gif

In proton service,
I felt their serviceman really good and friendly. Just that those receptionist, blardy not helpful and **&%$&%!!
Look at the bright side of the car! loves it! icon_rolleyes.gif
colboynick
post Sep 18 2014, 08:07 AM

QUOTE(vostro78 @ Sep 17 2014, 04:01 PM)
each sc hv own standard...sien liao like that... my wife car going to send for service next week for 1st 1k service. any 1 service their car at Pantai Bharu Klang ?
I think you should call them up and ask if its possible to top up.
My experience is i spoke to the service guy before i make a trip down.

Got my advised from sifus around, dont let them earn that bit of money if they cant satisfy you. cool2.gif

colboynick
post Sep 18 2014, 08:14 AM

Hi Sifus around,
Im kinda attracted by Sportivo BK.
Not so sure if this body kit face the same problem when going through bumps and parking.

Anyone using Sportivo? Price range?

**Facing dilemma in either changing rim or BK first. hmm.gif doh.gif
colboynick
post Oct 30 2014, 11:46 AM

Been with my Car for 3months now..

Just realize that we are suppose to press the start button TWICE before pressing down the brkepad and third time for starting engine.
All the while i press start once and brakepad and start again.

There is one morning when i start my car, the viper, double signal and lights all on by themselves. Thats the moment i start pressing start twice before third for starting the engine.. @@"

Craps. i hope i did not short-circuit anything in there. *finger crossed*
colboynick
post Nov 13 2014, 01:55 PM

I think i have some probs with my car radio. cry.gif

I set 92.9 on channel 2, but somehow, after listening for some distance(on the way home roughly 45mins), the radio channel auto change to some malay radio frequency.

This doesn't happen when i turned in to my set channel 1 frequency (88.1).

I dont think its frequency disruption because the auto change frequency can happen in anywhere during the way back home.

Anyone facing this problem? I dont think SC can help as i myself also not sure when will this happen. =.="

Btw, there is really difference when you try to drive with your RPM below 2 and above 2.
I was pumping 30litres for 4 occasions, 2 occasions i drive below RPM2 and another 2 above RPM2, was at 2.5 to RPM3.0MAX (tekan sesuka hati). There is really a difference! The distance variance could be up to 50km..
I could not confirm this data as i only pump for 4 occasions for this testing of myself. Try it guys. rclxms.gif

0.0507sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:57 PM