hang after wake up from sleep, please help

wei
post Mar 6 2007, 08:05 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

How much RAM you have? Do you have many applications running?
Maybe you can try "Repair Permission".

Black screen might because your Mac switch off the display. Maybe turning on the brightness will do.

This post has been edited by wei: Mar 6 2007, 08:06 PM
wei
post Mar 7 2007, 08:51 AM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(vicfirth @ Mar 7 2007, 04:59 AM)
mine is macbook 13"... whenever i press any key, the macbook will produce sound. basically there is nothing i can do but hard shut down. how to do "Repair Permission"?
Go into your Applications folder > Utilities > Disk Utility

Select your harddrive, Repair Permission.
wei
post Mar 7 2007, 10:59 AM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Mar 7 2007, 10:39 AM)
@wei,
If the screen's hung, how to go into Repair Permission?  Or, do we go in immediately after boot up?

@xandman,
I haven't had any problems waking my system up from sleep mode *phew*  though there was once when I had to force quit the system cause God knows what happened ! *ugh*
Well, it's pretty common sense that you'll only able to do that when u re-boot. Now I have to remind myself to put each and every little details out.

And again, we normally don't compare pro system with consumer line system, yours is Macbook Pro (if im not mistaken). The one having issues here is MacMini & Macbook.
wei
post Mar 7 2007, 07:16 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(supafreak @ Mar 7 2007, 03:22 PM)
Wei,
anyways... i'm using a MB... my problem is not so much the machine hanging but rather when i close the lid, it used to put the machine to sleep... but now, i close it, nothing happens.. no sleep... no monitor off...

will repair permissions help my little predicament?
You can try, but very unlikely. Sounds more like a hardware issue. I hope the magnet inside your lid wasn't out of place. You should call up the apple center on this issue.
wei
post Mar 8 2007, 07:52 PM

6,496 posts

ok, most probably ur lid sleep sensor is not working well.
you can try to disable lid wake.

go to terminal and type:
sudo pmset lidwake 0

to enable it again, change zero in the end to digit one.

I found this tricks extra useful. I wont have problem as my powerbook accidentally wake inside my backpack because I didnt close the lid nicely. I can also open it up for cleaning without waking the machine.
wei
post Mar 9 2007, 09:37 AM

6,496 posts

But for long term, i still think u should at lease call up service center and talk to technician on this.

Same to other's that having wake issue on thier mac. If you still have warranty on the mac. Don't wait.

Added on March 9, 2007, 9:44 amDid some search on Apple.com

here's what i found.
MacMini: http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?m...141069�
Macbook: http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?m...834383�

This post has been edited by wei: Mar 9 2007, 09:44 AM

0.0137sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:40 AM