The Journey and Guide to A Budget Condo, A Place You Can Call Home
S'aimer
Jul 20 2014, 12:01 AM
Maxlite paint is the cheapest white paint and is commonly used for ceilings.
Frankly if you have high ceiling, you can add a color accent for L box ceiling such as painting the flat ceiling in the middle a light/dark shade of grey or champagne like color and paint the L Box part white color only.
Second accent alternative would be to paint the sides of the L Box part instead and the rest of the L box & ceiling in the middle white.
S'aimer
Jul 20 2014, 09:55 PM
Mine is also very low that even my other half can reach out to touch fan with hand when fan not switched on so having mostly white ceiling does not draw too much attention to the height. Saw this on the net. Like the picture with blue color for the flat ceiling in the middle of the L Box part, can paint with a neutral or cool shade for your L Box ceiling.. Or else just paint the vertical sides of the L Box like a strip of borderline around the square part. QUOTE(princessgalaria @ Jul 20 2014, 02:25 AM) Thanks for the advise... My ceiling is pretty low, actual is about 10feet dropping about 6-7 inches. This post has been edited by S'aimer: Jul 20 2014, 10:00 PM Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached image(s)
S'aimer
Jul 21 2014, 03:31 PM
No. It's the photo angle when it was taken I believe because sometimes I do that way for my photos. QUOTE(princessgalaria @ Jul 21 2014, 11:09 AM) Thank you for the great advice, let me speak to my other half, he's the one who's making all the decision  Just wondering the other picture with the blue wall on top, is the wall kind of slanting?
S'aimer
Jul 21 2014, 03:59 PM
keke, it would be really wierd to have false ceiling for a slanted ceiling unless built that way with concrete ceiling QUOTE(princessgalaria @ Jul 21 2014, 04:41 PM) Haha I see I see, so that's the same picture.. I thought why got slanting ceiling, macam cottage house 
S'aimer
Jul 25 2014, 07:13 PM
Yes princessgalaria is right. Installation charges between 100-200. However they provide standard trunking distance. So if trunking distance is longer, will charge more for extra trunking material. But standard trunking, piping is foc since it comes with aircon, compressor. QUOTE(princessgalaria @ Jul 25 2014, 06:00 PM) That's way toooooo pricy dy, normally they will quote together aircond + installation about 100-200 only ?
S'aimer
Jul 27 2014, 01:42 AM
My installation charge is RM160. Trunking is mounted on the wall closest to the window and run outside. This is for DST. Seems this installation charge is standard at the shop where we also bought our aircon and downlights from. The problem is the trunking layout itself and whether you choose the longer route to make the trunking less obvious in common areas . For e.g; if trunking goes down from above after coming out from the room to living room before exiting outside, this kind of zig-zag pattern means longer route, then the charge will be extra I believe? Straight line and shortest route is best. QUOTE(princessgalaria @ Jul 27 2014, 02:28 AM) Hmm I happened to be living at the same condo with him/her who commented on the charges, the trunking shouldn't be that far, in fact for living room is just a wall away. Extra charges for the room, RM80 but told the fellor RM50, as if I don't know how to count the distance... these aircond installers cincai con ppl one..