Travel Travel To Japan V5, Discover Japan start here

lowyatter
post Jul 17 2014, 01:54 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(skylinegear @ Jul 16 2014, 09:48 PM)
below is a draft of my itinenary
going on march 2015 for 10 days

day1 arrival
day2 osaka castle, kaiyukan aquarium, dotonbori
day3 USJ, namba
day4 kinkakuji, arashiyama, nishiki market
day5 fushimi inari, kiyomizudera
day6 travel to tokyo, sensoji, ueno park
day7 hakone
day8 disneysea
day9 tsukiji market, tokyo tower, odaiba city
day10 meiji jingu, hachiko statue
day 11 depart

does it look too rush?
or any places i miss out?
thanks  smile.gif
Don't be greedy. 4 cities in 11 days?

Forget about Hakone and Tokyo. Just go to Osaka, Kyoto and Nara.
lowyatter
post Aug 4 2014, 09:37 AM

70 posts

Here's a shot I took of Kamikochi recently.

And another:

lowyatter
post Aug 4 2014, 09:50 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(JooSeng @ Aug 4 2014, 09:41 AM)
nice one lowyatter....especially the 2nd pic.
the river looks crystal clear :0
The water in Kamikochi is unbelievably clean. Same with the air, so fresh and sweet, really a good antidote to hazy Malaysian air...
lowyatter
post Aug 8 2014, 11:17 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(nles @ Aug 8 2014, 11:08 AM)
Ya was good. Will upload some photos when I. Free, now back to work.

Anyway the most frustrating part. As I don't use credit card, I made quite a few transaction with my maybank ATM/debit card. I guess they are not familiar with it, they slot the card and it doesn't work, need to use the IC chip and voila, it works.

Now comes the nightmare, maybank said usually the transaction goes like this, there will be a preauth transaction deducting the amount, then refund back the amount, and another sales debit amount which goes. Deduct, refund, deduct.

But all my transaction don't get refunded so every transaction got deducted twice from my account. Have to make a dispute and wait for then to refund, which takes 2-4 weeks.
Maybank cards have some issues. A lot of ppl complain that the debit card cannot withdraw from Japan Post Office ATMs.

I recommend HSBC or Citibank for those who want to withdraw money in Japan. No problem with Post Office.

lowyatter
post Aug 13 2014, 09:28 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(dry75 @ Aug 13 2014, 09:19 AM)
Im arriving haneda airport 10.50pm . Booked a hotel which is at nihombashi.
Should i cancel the first night and get a hotel nearby airport instead?
Just stay at Toyoko inn Haneda la, so much easier.
lowyatter
post Sep 15 2014, 09:16 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(notoriousfiq @ Sep 15 2014, 09:13 AM)
Thanks, will check them out.. OTS seem to be available only in Hokkaido and Okinawa. Surveying Nippon
I have rented many cars in Japan. Both Nissan and Toyota rentacars are fine, with Toyota being a bit cheaper. Book via Tocoo for a nice discount.

lowyatter
post Sep 15 2014, 09:29 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(notoriousfiq @ Sep 15 2014, 09:24 AM)
Yes, I was looking at Nissan because they got branch very close to Toyama station. But I feel like I have to call them to book properly. Is online booking sufficient for Nissan?
Oh, just use http://www2.tocoo.jp/en

You can do everything online, then just print out your confirmation email.

Bring it to the shop and pay and you'll get your car, easy.

Strongly recommend getting an ETC card as well. You just drive through the toll and it registers you automatically. Then settle when you return the car. Easier than paying at every toll.

This post has been edited by lowyatter: Sep 15 2014, 09:34 AM
lowyatter
post Sep 15 2014, 03:41 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Sep 15 2014, 02:44 PM)
i booked via tocoo oso... and the other one is ots

remember most of the online car rental is available in japanese only
the most preferably way to book is via email... and telephone call to confirm
ohh warning they have limited english capability, especially speaking

i done mostly via phone, coz i can call to 10 countrys for free brows.gif
Tocoo is all in English la.