Travel Travel To Japan V5, Discover Japan start here
michlove
Oct 28 2014, 02:17 PM

QUOTE(JohnnyBeGud @ Oct 28 2014, 01:27 PM) Hi guys, appreciate your recommendations. I will be arriving in Tokyo via Shinkansen at Tokyo Station. Can anyone recommend an easily accessible 4-5 star hotel along the JR line? Maximum budget is RM 600 per night. I would prefer to use as little metro as possible since I'm traveling in a group and with baggage. You can consider hotels near JR Shinjuku. Mine is Nishi-Shinjuku Hotel Mystays http://www.mystays.com/e/location/nishishinjuku/
TSRegentCid
Oct 28 2014, 02:36 PM
QUOTE(JohnnyBeGud @ Oct 28 2014, 01:07 PM) I'm traveling with my family. So, budget's not a problem. But still, RM600 it the maximum lah. If you can recommend cheaper around 450-500 than that would be better. Previously I was looking at Marunaouchi Metropolitan Hotel, but somehow my travel agent could not get the booking confirmation. So, I'm currently looking for alternatives. You can Try Agoda.
calvin
Oct 28 2014, 02:38 PM
QUOTE(azxel @ Oct 27 2014, 05:45 PM) Clear your cookies and try again? I tried a different workstation and different location .. still the same problem
edit: Tried with different browsers, results the same (Firefox, IE, Chrome) This post has been edited by calvin: Oct 28 2014, 02:56 PM
Human Nature
Oct 28 2014, 03:54 PM
QUOTE(calvin @ Oct 28 2014, 02:38 PM) I tried a different workstation and different location .. still the same problem
edit: Tried with different browsers, results the same (Firefox, IE, Chrome) lol better don't proceed...
michlove
Oct 28 2014, 04:04 PM

Hilton Tokyo, Shinjuku is having a 50% discount now...maybe for those who have not booked your hotel, can try to check it out.
Human Nature
Oct 28 2014, 04:23 PM
QUOTE(michlove @ Oct 28 2014, 04:04 PM) Hilton Tokyo, Shinjuku is having a 50% discount now...maybe for those who have not booked your hotel, can try to check it out. good offer! it is quite a distance from shinjuku station but they do provide hourly bus shuttle service.
michlove
Oct 28 2014, 04:43 PM

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 28 2014, 04:23 PM) good offer! it is quite a distance from shinjuku station but they do provide hourly bus shuttle service. Yeah, i also saw it's abit of distance to JR Shinjuku...around 1km. But room is big and for RM300++, consider ok la
terryykf
Oct 28 2014, 04:47 PM

QUOTE(JohnnyBeGud @ Oct 28 2014, 01:27 PM) Hi guys, appreciate your recommendations. I will be arriving in Tokyo via Shinkansen at Tokyo Station. Can anyone recommend an easily accessible 4-5 star hotel along the JR line? Maximum budget is RM 600 per night. I would prefer to use as little metro as possible since I'm traveling in a group and with baggage. QUOTE(JohnnyBeGud @ Oct 28 2014, 02:07 PM) I'm traveling with my family. So, budget's not a problem. But still, RM600 it the maximum lah. If you can recommend cheaper around 450-500 than that would be better. Previously I was looking at Marunaouchi Metropolitan Hotel, but somehow my travel agent could not get the booking confirmation. So, I'm currently looking for alternatives. Mercure Hotel Ginza Tokyo? The hotel basement connects to the subway
Human Nature
Oct 28 2014, 04:48 PM
QUOTE(michlove @ Oct 28 2014, 04:43 PM) Yeah, i also saw it's abit of distance to JR Shinjuku...around 1km. But room is big and for RM300++, consider ok la Took a night cab from shinjuku station to the hotel once and got charged Y1200 Their breakfast spread is good too. You got this offer from their website?
ZeroSP
Oct 28 2014, 04:53 PM

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Oct 28 2014, 01:01 PM) Well not necessary. Really depends on which company you work. Been here for two years and do really like it here. Met tons of Malaysian here as well who have been here for much much longer and not many of them have plan to go back home to work....retirement yes. I could tell from your face last time BTW, Indomie finished lol?
michlove
Oct 28 2014, 05:07 PM

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 28 2014, 04:48 PM) Took a night cab from shinjuku station to the hotel once and got charged Y1200 Their breakfast spread is good too. You got this offer from their website? The offer is through Expedia now....72hours sales time only But I think I'll just stick to my earlier bboking at Mystays Nishi Shinjuku
ruztynail
Oct 28 2014, 10:35 PM
QUOTE(calvin @ Oct 28 2014, 02:38 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « I tried a different workstation and different location .. still the same problem
edit: Tried with different browsers, results the same (Firefox, IE, Chrome) hv u tried calling disney tokyo to enquire? i will be buying it online too.. would be a hassle if i encounter the same problem....
calvin
Oct 29 2014, 07:56 AM
QUOTE(ruztynail @ Oct 28 2014, 10:35 PM) hv u tried calling disney tokyo to enquire? i will be buying it online too.. would be a hassle if i encounter the same problem.... I searched for their contacts.. but it only pointed me to japanese speaking ones  You may have a try and let us know if the problem exists for yourself too, just don't proceed to pay
bkkjam
Oct 29 2014, 02:11 PM
QUOTE(JohnnyBeGud @ Oct 28 2014, 12:27 PM) Hi guys, appreciate your recommendations. I will be arriving in Tokyo via Shinkansen at Tokyo Station. Can anyone recommend an easily accessible 4-5 star hotel along the JR line? Maximum budget is RM 600 per night. I would prefer to use as little metro as possible since I'm traveling in a group and with baggage. I used Citadines Shinjuku for 6 nights earlier this month. There were 3 of us, including a 10 yr old kid and lots of bags. Price was about rm 600/ night for studio executive twin room, including sofabed. Room size was 28m2. I took a taxi from Shinjuku station to hotel after using the NEX.
electron
Oct 29 2014, 05:14 PM
QUOTE(JohnnyBeGud @ Oct 28 2014, 02:07 PM) I'm traveling with my family. So, budget's not a problem. But still, RM600 it the maximum lah. If you can recommend cheaper around 450-500 than that would be better. Previously I was looking at Marunaouchi Metropolitan Hotel, but somehow my travel agent could not get the booking confirmation. So, I'm currently looking for alternatives. Tried loading up Agoda and got into map view? there's you get to see the rough distance of the hotel to the stations and also the pricing
bkkjam
Oct 30 2014, 11:17 AM
QUOTE(michlove @ Oct 28 2014, 03:04 PM) Hilton Tokyo, Shinjuku is having a 50% discount now...maybe for those who have not booked your hotel, can try to check it out. Thanks. Very tempting.
michlove
Oct 30 2014, 02:51 PM

Do you think it's really necessary to have a pocket wifi? in terms of just using it to find our way in Tokyo, Kyoto and Osaka?
This post has been edited by michlove: Oct 30 2014, 02:52 PM
TSRegentCid
Oct 30 2014, 03:06 PM
QUOTE(michlove @ Oct 30 2014, 01:51 PM) Do you think it's really necessary to have a pocket wifi? in terms of just using it to find our way in Tokyo, Kyoto and Osaka? Emm.....I never used this kind of thing since first time I touch Japan.
michlove
Oct 30 2014, 03:09 PM

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 30 2014, 03:06 PM) Emm.....I never used this kind of thing since first time I touch Japan. i've never been to japan, so do you think it's easy to find our way without any google map?
ZeroSP
Oct 30 2014, 04:04 PM

QUOTE(michlove @ Oct 30 2014, 03:09 PM) i've never been to japan, so do you think it's easy to find our way without any google map? The first time I went to Tokyo 2 years ago I went without wifi too. Last year went with family, my dad brought one. This year April I go with friends, I rented one because they wanted to use lol. So, technically, I'd say good to have, but I rarely use it to navigate around, more like surfing on the go always. Back to hotel then use the LAN cable since I brought laptop.