5,220 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Jul 12 2014, 02:02 AM)
Anyone ? no news yet on mediapad M1?
Ap sets available at most major Ap reseller rm800+
leonlim619
post Jul 12 2014, 04:30 AM

43 posts

dear sifus, is ok to leave x1 charge overnight every night? how long normally it took to fully charge to 100%?
MAAG
post Jul 12 2014, 06:57 AM

157 posts

I am using flip case cover,how to disable auto-on & auto-off screen
benny888
post Jul 12 2014, 07:28 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(leonlim619 @ Jul 12 2014, 04:30 AM)
dear sifus, is ok to leave x1 charge overnight every night? how long normally it took to fully charge to 100%?
It is OK but a poor practice...I suggest you use a timer to cut off electricity supply after 4 hours. I am using my LG charger n Nokia cable and it takes about 3.5 hours to hit 100% from about 10%. The phone electrical circuitry theoretically will auto cut off charging once fully charged. Is your choice..
benny888
post Jul 12 2014, 07:33 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(MAAG @ Jul 12 2014, 06:57 AM)
I am using flip case cover,how to disable auto-on & auto-off screen
Maybe you can try setting/display n untick cover window. If it works is very good feature n why the need to disable it?
I never bother as I use an app ( very efficient) to shutdown display - screen off n just doubletap on display to wake it up ( this is phone default feature)
My flipcase is not a good fit as flip cover doesn't closes it well flat n unable to test this

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 12 2014, 07:34 AM
leonlim619
post Jul 12 2014, 07:34 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 12 2014, 08:28 AM)
It is OK but a poor practice...I suggest you use a timer to cut off electricity supply after 4 hours. I am using my LG charger n Nokia cable and it takes about 3.5 hours to hit 100% from about 10%. The phone electrical circuitry theoretically will auto cut off charging once fully charged. Is your choice..
how to set timer ya? any apps for that?
benny888
post Jul 12 2014, 07:35 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(leonlim619 @ Jul 12 2014, 07:34 AM)
how to set timer ya? any apps for that?
Buy a timer from any electrical outlet n plug your charger into it. Cheap one about rm30-40 while better quality around rm100

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 12 2014, 07:36 AM
leonlim619
post Jul 12 2014, 07:40 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 12 2014, 08:35 AM)
Buy a timer from any electrical outlet n plug your charger into it. Cheap one about rm30-40 while better quality around rm100
lol. never know got such accessory in a market. thank you so much.
benny888
post Jul 12 2014, 07:48 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(leonlim619 @ Jul 12 2014, 07:40 AM)
lol. never know got such accessory in a market. thank you so much.
This is basic electrical gadget. You can set multiple timers on it. I use it only to control my koi pond water pump. I have set pump to run only alternately every 4 hours meaning 6 times a day. A good unit can last many years while those cheap ones will break down after a year or two. Any electrical outlet or big departmental stores electrical section should be selling it too
leonlim619
post Jul 12 2014, 07:52 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 12 2014, 08:48 AM)
This is basic electrical gadget. You can set multiple timers on it. I use it only to control my koi pond water pump. I have set pump to run only alternately every 4 hours meaning 6 times a day. A good unit can last many years while those cheap ones will break down after a year or two. Any electrical outlet or big departmental stores electrical section should be selling it too
can you please recommend me which brand/model should i get? how much roughly cost?
MAAG
post Jul 12 2014, 10:12 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 12 2014, 07:33 AM)
Maybe you can try setting/display n untick cover window. If it works is very good feature n why the need to disable it?
I never bother as I use an app ( very efficient) to shutdown display - screen off n just doubletap on display to wake it up ( this is phone default feature)
My flipcase is not a good fit as flip cover doesn't closes it well flat n unable to test this
try already untick cover window but no different. my phone put inside my porch bag...sometime flipcase cover accidently open
benny888
post Jul 12 2014, 10:48 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(leonlim619 @ Jul 12 2014, 07:52 AM)
can you please recommend me which brand/model should i get? how much roughly cost?
I am using THEBEN brand which I bought at least 5 years ago for around rm100. It should be cheaper now. Just don't buy those too cheap type as it wont last based on my experience using such stuff past 20+ years

TSjoytest
post Jul 12 2014, 11:46 AM

Vox populi vox dei? Quot homines,tot sententiae
13,188 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 12 2014, 10:48 AM)
I am using THEBEN brand which I bought at least 5 years ago for around rm100. It should be cheaper now. Just don't buy those too cheap type as it wont last based on my experience using such stuff past 20+ years

Slightly OT but it seems that Malaysians lack in exposure to some things. Somewhat surprising to find a lack of awareness even for an electrical timer.

However, hopefully things improve as I saw that the government has mandated a power consumption rating for white goods like air conditioners and fridges. They have to display the total kWh consumption over the course of 1 year. This is a helpful way to spread awareness for consumption management and hopefully a smarter consumer base.
solsekuin44
post Jul 12 2014, 06:07 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

OMG!!! So excited, tried the phone just now at Subang Parade, bright display and it's huge!
Best price still goes to DirectD with all the freebies included. brows.gif Will be getting one.
ahchun
post Jul 12 2014, 06:11 PM

MiddleAge
1,146 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Jul 12 2014, 06:07 PM)
OMG!!! So excited, tried the phone just now at Subang Parade, bright display and it's huge!
Best price still goes to DirectD with all the freebies included. brows.gif Will be getting one.
After get one let us know. As I am planning to get one too.
TSjoytest
post Jul 12 2014, 07:35 PM

13,188 posts

I posted a teardown of the Mi 10400mah powerbank here for those interested in this sort of stuff.

Very nice design and engineering.
TSjoytest
post Jul 12 2014, 07:46 PM

13,188 posts

Would sapphire glass really give you an edge?

http://www.engadget.com/2014/07/11/sapphire-displays/

......There's one major reason why manufacturers are looking into using sapphire displays: The material is strong. Very strong. Sapphire is about four times as tough as glass. Gorilla Glass, regularly found protecting current smartphone screens, fares pretty well against hard objects too, but in order to scratch sapphire, you'd need to find something higher than nine on the Mohs scale.....

......There are plenty of other issues associated with sapphire. It's heavier than Gorilla Glass and the material remains less transparent than glass, meaning it would be more difficult to see the screen unless manufacturers add a special coating to increase transparency. (Even then, it still wouldn't be as good as glass.).....

....Additionally, each representative I talked to confirmed that while sapphire is durable, it certainly isn't unbreakable. In fact, the larger the display is, the more brittle it becomes; "The sapphire is too hard to withstand bending," said a representative of a top-tier phone maker who also asked to remain anonymous. "It's easier to break during drop tests when the size of sapphire increases."

This post has been edited by joytest: Jul 12 2014, 07:46 PM
ttkyy
post Jul 12 2014, 08:06 PM

571 posts

QUOTE(MAAG @ Jul 12 2014, 10:12 AM)
try already untick cover window but no different. my phone put inside my porch bag...sometime flipcase cover accidently open
Can not totally off it,
1.set pattern lock
2.take out from flip case when put inside beg
3.use rubber band~ikat sama dia wink.gif

benny888
post Jul 12 2014, 08:30 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Sapphire iphone6 ? I cannot imagine the price Apple will be selling it ? With a larger display of 4.7 and 5.5 inch do not be surprised at a much higher price vs present 5s. I read the cost of sapphire glass alone is 10x higher than gorilla glass 3

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 12 2014, 08:35 PM
derrickmoo
post Jul 12 2014, 08:34 PM

All About GADGETS
1,180 posts

anyone interested to grab a one day old M1.. bought wrongly..

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3287539

please let me know.. smile.gif

88 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0302sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:06 PM