Xiaomi Mi3 Official Thread V11, Strictly on technical discussion ONLY!

w143
post Jul 3 2014, 05:25 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Jul 3 2014, 05:16 PM)
Hey guys, apart from the notification badge appearing on the app icon. Are there any ways for the notifications to appear on the bar on top of the phone? Most android has that. But i realise mi3 doesn't, or is it because of my setting?
BTW, how to show notification badge appearing on the app icon? Mine don't have tongue.gif
w143
post Jul 3 2014, 07:30 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Jul 3 2014, 06:35 PM)
One of my colleague bought a unit from Kompleks Pertama. RM800++. Hmmm...If anyone desperately looking for one, you might want to give Kompleks Pertama a try.
Those are mostly AP phone. If it is Malaysia set, then can consider.
w143
post Jul 3 2014, 07:51 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(keebl @ Jul 3 2014, 07:44 PM)
Would hope to buy a mipad
The price of mipad is not really cheap. How is it compare to iPad mini in terms of performance/speed?
w143
post Jul 3 2014, 08:39 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Jul 3 2014, 08:09 PM)
Just to let you know,

MiPad is RMB1499 = RM771.21
iPad Mini = RM1279.00
Get iPad Mini (not the HD) should be around RM950.
The RM700-800 is the Nexus 7 price range.

w143
post Jul 4 2014, 01:05 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(quikstep @ Jul 4 2014, 11:48 AM)
hi all. is it normal for your phone to vibrate when charging? it's like pulsing when charging. 5 sec pause, 2 vibrations, 5 sec pause, 2 vibrations, etc etc.
Not normal, mine doesn't. Maybe your cable is not fully insert or your cable faulty?
w143
post Jul 4 2014, 07:06 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(andears99 @ Jul 4 2014, 05:33 PM)
Mine xiaomi having 1 trouble, whatapps syok syok shown mine fren online, sometime were blank on the bottom of fren name....somebody know why?
Because your friend is sneaky. haha... j/k. It is your friend's whatsapp privacy setting. You can't see his 'last seen' status and he also can't see others 'last seen' status.
w143
post Jul 4 2014, 10:34 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(hon kin @ Jul 4 2014, 08:36 PM)
For those who are ordering Mi Piston earphone and want some comparison, here are some of my thought
All were powered by the same Mi3, same EQ, unamped and no DAC, very original.

CKS55 VS Mi Piston
CKS55 has a better impact but Mi Piston hits you harder. Both are crystal clear but CKS55 provide you a much sweeter female vocal. It feels like Mi Piston has wider soundstage though. Vocal is being layered too backward when compare to the CKS55. CKS55 serves more like a all rounder here while Mi Piston is a bassy earphone.

urBeats VS Mi Piston
Mi Piston trashes the urBeats everywhere. urBeats is being too boomy and the bass is really least refined compare to the Mi Piston. Treble wise, Mi Piston wins by a mile. Very full and crisp while urBeats is muffled shakehead.gif

Hippo Black VS Mi Piston
Both is bassy and both have similar clarity, just the Hippo layers the vocal very backward and the bass is less refined. The Mi Piston sound more clearer and bass is much more controlled than the Hippo.

IM50 VS Mi Piston
Not a same level comparison here, the IM50 trashes the Mi Piston everywhere, from the vocal down to the bass. It sounds very full and everything is much more transparent on IM50. On the other hand, Mi Piston sounds really like a different league. Duo dynamic driver really makes that great difference. nod.gif

Does the Mi Piston sounds that bad after seeing those comparison? Definitely no, you can notice the Mi Piston is actually beaten by sub-200 to 300 bucks earphone, while the price of itself is just below RM100, so it is performing very very well.

Just grab it if you wan some decent earphone without big hole in your pocket! smile.gif
Nice review and comparison. Thanks! BTW, do you happen to have iPhone earphones to compare? It is one that can be easily benchmark by a lot of people.
w143
post Jul 4 2014, 10:39 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(tolaktakjatuh @ Jul 4 2014, 08:47 PM)
Between Mi3 and Note, which one would be the better buy?

My cousin is using a Mi 3, which is awesome. But a Note, would be good to since I'm used to Note II size.

But MediaTk chip, is it good? Last time I use a MediaTk chip is 9tology, super crappiest phone I ever used.

I also heard Note have some battery problem, only lasting 10h under full wifi use.
Note 3 is almost RM1800-RM1900 compare to RM769. It is no brainer unless money is nothing to you.
If you really like the size of Note 3 then buy the OnePlus, about RM1k, but AP set.
w143
post Jul 4 2014, 11:03 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(kennethkee93 @ Jul 4 2014, 10:44 PM)
He's talking about Redmi Note if I may correct you.

Redmi Note is using the Mediatek's so called true octa core cpu, saw the review that it performed great and battery can last longer due to the smaller screen resolution of 720p and large battery capacity with price tag of RM500+, not bad.
lol.... waiting for World Cup and feel sleepy tongue.gif I should have know it is Redmi Note doh.gif
w143
post Jul 5 2014, 02:03 PM

414 posts

I don't know what I did, now the Mic icon on my google keyboard is gone. It used to be there on top of the keyboard for speech recognition. Do you know how to get it back on Google keyboard? Thanks!!!
w143
post Jul 5 2014, 02:49 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(kennethkee93 @ Jul 5 2014, 02:33 PM)
Enable Google voice typing in your language and input settings.
Under 'Google Keyboard Setting', I checked the 'Voice input key'. But still can't see the mic icon on my keyboard cry.gif

w143
post Jul 5 2014, 02:57 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(kennethkee93 @ Jul 5 2014, 02:55 PM)
Are you using the Google Pinyin keyboard? Btw, can you check if in the Language and Input settings, there's Google Voice Typing enabled there? If it's not enabled, try to enable and check if the mic button appears.
Under 'Language & input' setting, there is no 'Google Voice Typing' option.
w143
post Jul 5 2014, 03:16 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(kennethkee93 @ Jul 5 2014, 02:59 PM)
Try download Google Voice Search in Playstore. I tried mine, if I disable the voice typing, the mic won't appear in my keyboard.

edit: Sorry, please download Google Search, or re-download if you already had it. It includes Google Now and voice search.
Got it back! THANKS!!!! Yes, I removed the Google Search on top of the first page homepage. It actually deleted the whole Google Search app. I thought I just removed the Google Search widget without uninstalling it. Now I got it back after installed back the Google Search. Thank you so much for your help!
w143
post Jul 5 2014, 06:45 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(PrincZe @ Jul 5 2014, 04:33 PM)
dont understand. i had google search but the front/main did not appear the google search box?
If you have Google Search installed and don't see the search box, just go to the widget list (hold the empty space on a page then tap widget) and pull it out from there.
w143
post Jul 5 2014, 10:34 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(mulut99 @ Jul 5 2014, 09:13 PM)
Agree....i uninstall my mi3 swiftkey and install Swiftkey from playstore. Newer version better features.
Does it support Chinese language now? I uninstalled it since it doesn't have Chinese, use Google keyboard instead.
w143
post Jul 6 2014, 10:16 AM

414 posts

QUOTE(MyRedz @ Jul 6 2014, 10:08 AM)
waiting to buy..any tips how to get snap of it fast??fast internet conncetion??
Practice how to fill in the form fast smile.gif (your name, address, phone# and pick the correct postal code)
w143
post Jul 7 2014, 01:35 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(vvnchow @ Jul 7 2014, 01:25 PM)
I faced 2 problem with Mi3 camera :-  icon_question.gif

1. the camera is constantly trying to focus, re-focus and re-focus, it won't stop. It means that the timing for the pressing of shutter is critical, if you press the shutter while it is refocusing, the picture is very very blur. How to stop this constant focus and re-focus issue?

2. is there any ways to set the camera that it will only capture the picture at its sharpest moment?
Same issue here. Did you try other camera app instead of MIUI default camera?
w143
post Jul 8 2014, 12:58 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(suntzulee @ Jul 8 2014, 11:51 AM)
actually it all depends what os u used in your lappy/desktop...if windows 7 or 8, u need not to worry as it auto detect...if win xp, then a bit troublesome...as drivers are needed tongue.gif
Do u know where to get the XP driver? I tried a couple drivers and still doesn't work. Can u provide a link on first page if u have?
w143
post Jul 8 2014, 01:36 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(vvnchow @ Jul 8 2014, 01:34 PM)
for me,

1) whatsapp voice messages sounds like robot  rclxub.gif

2) camera functions wasn't as great as written, need to improve  sweat.gif
Same here, whatsapp voice is sounds like transformer talking.
Camera focusing is not good.
w143
post Jul 11 2014, 10:32 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(jolokia @ Jul 11 2014, 10:19 PM)
[attachmentid=4050474]

[attachmentid=4050475]
Looks like Samsung S2?