Increase RAM

supafreak
post Aug 17 2006, 03:05 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(n20nine @ Aug 17 2006, 10:10 AM)
yea but it is not apple ram, made by other companies, not sure who, but must be from a reputable company else they will not sell.
I got my 2GB RAM from FCC Tech at Midvalley... A-Data RAMs... never heard of them but they work great... bsides, the preinstalled rams in my MB is some BP Hynix or some shit like tat...

price i got no longer applicable cause i got it at pc fair price... wink.gif

This post has been edited by supafreak: Aug 17 2006, 06:39 PM
supafreak
post Aug 17 2006, 05:12 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(thim @ Aug 17 2006, 03:17 PM)
Thank you for all your feedback...i will try the FCC at Mid Valley. By the way, supfreak, did you install it your self or the shop did it for you?
i know the folks thr... so we sorta did it together... heheh... quite a simple process... remove battery, loosen 3 screw... then flip the 2 stupid latch.. it'll pop the rams out... get rid of the old... pop in the new... it takes abit effort to pop it in... so use LOTS of strength... heheh... u know u screwed up if the machine doesnt boot... smile.gif

neeways, someone can do it for u if u dont wanna do it urself... go look for catherine... smile.gif
supafreak
post Aug 17 2006, 06:38 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(thim @ Aug 17 2006, 06:33 PM)
Talked to Catherine...price has gone up now selling at Rm370 for 1G so for 2G the price is Rm740/- pretty expensive huh..
Yea... she gave me a call too... apparently my price was the PC Fair price... eeks... sorry dude... but still much cheaper than travellin to Penang for CG COmp.. hehe.. or buyin it at 500+ per 1GB stick... :-)

Sorry for misinfo...
supafreak
post Aug 23 2006, 08:37 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(na21m @ Aug 23 2006, 05:53 PM)
Guys, issit worthwhile to upgrade to 1GB? Im not into video editing and stuff..just a little bit of photo editting.
dude... totally worth it... any RAM boost is just super... i got juz A Data RAM... and it works like charm... 2GB sumore... totally worth each cent... smile.gif
supafreak
post Aug 24 2006, 03:30 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(junkieG @ Aug 24 2006, 02:34 AM)
ur on imac or mb?
junkieG... I'm on a MB...

erm... very interesting signature...
supafreak
post Aug 28 2006, 04:16 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(lokgotz @ Aug 28 2006, 02:55 PM)
after u guys change the rams...what do u do with the old ones???
i traded in mine...
supafreak
post Sep 8 2006, 03:33 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(gmail @ Aug 31 2006, 07:48 PM)
how much did u trade it?

wanna ask if i buy only 1 stick of 1gb kvr will it work on macbook? or need to get 2 x 512mb??
i traded it in for chicken feed la dude... less than 100bucks... better that than gettin nothing for somethin i'll chuck away anyways... smile.gif

I dont think it'll work... cause i stuck one 1GB in it first and tried booting, nothing happened... when 2 sticks r in, phwwooaarrr....

It runs less hot now... and the apps launch much faster... neeways, if u read Vandetta's comment, 512 is indeed enough but if u r a kiasu speedfreak like me, then u wanna go upgrade lor... smile.gif

So tempted to get the iMacs!...

0.0159sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 01:38 AM