Like this can make profit long term meh.win little little , lose plenty .should target 100 -200 pips or more.
Forex Version XIV, Foreign Exchange Market Discussion
Sep 2 2014, 04:50 PM
1,207 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
Like this can make profit long term meh.win little little , lose plenty .should target 100 -200 pips or more.
Sep 2 2014, 05:04 PM
can i ask what is idk mate ?. still testing strategies with spare cash is ok but dont overtest. in forex one must be prepared to lose what one can afford and let the profit run.most will think it is an investment with strategies and technical knowhow but after taking position many things will play on one's mind and could turn up to be gambling afterall .anyway i am still a amateur. any sifu wish to share their experience
gotcha idk This post has been edited by starship1: Sep 2 2014, 05:09 PM |
Sep 2 2014, 05:25 PM
@marraipo
can you tell us why you prefer intraday over scalping . i thought some make good profits from scalping too |
Sep 8 2014, 12:53 PM
so many Sifu ,Tok Guru ,Founder and GrandMaster here at lowyat forum.i like to invest or speculate even but getting a little confused.
currency trading is an extremely high volatile and never ending game of predictions with extremely high risk of burning your accounts and monies. a friend once told me ,once entered positions bodies and balls will shake and swing. i like to say ,only with a small likelihood ,profits can still be achieved but make sure you can TAHAN the losses first.you may enjoy or disgust yourself with emotional ups and downs |
Sep 8 2014, 02:56 PM
QUOTE(highlowyat @ Sep 8 2014, 01:55 PM) i have no idea why would ppl predict the price movement. my advice is to go with the trend.. whoever u r.. scalper, intraday, swinger, position.. just go with the trend. why would ppl try to predict the market, its look like they have some supernatural power they can predict future. Agreed in some way to what you said about trend trading although it sounded rather easy by looking at daily or multiple timeframe . by simply identifying a trend, the trader has noticed a bias that has shown itself in the marketplace. it is popular amongst traders and may hit a reasonable percentage of profits each time a position is taken, but am i right to say you still need to look to technical indicators to plot an entry and exit and is that not consider as making prediction.what is trend? look at Daily timeframe. higher high = uptrend. lower low = downtrend. my advice to just dance with the market, follow the rythm. trend trading i guess could be very time consuming. pls correct me as i am inexperience in this field.i just have some experience in making business plans and make it as sensible as possible |
Sep 8 2014, 03:03 PM
Sep 8 2014, 03:04 PM
Sep 8 2014, 03:26 PM
QUOTE(highlowyat @ Sep 8 2014, 03:10 PM) of course we need technical indicator. to make this clear, if trend is uptrend, and then your indicator is showing buy signal.. enter buy. vice versa thanks bro for your insights. i am a firm believer of whenever possible ,follow the trend and as little as possible, going against the trendits sound easy but not that easy. but if you follow the trend, u r heading to the right direction and will make money in long term. just for the fun of it,a few times at genting on the baccarat table ,i observed many ppl follow the trend on the winning hits and i saw many smiling faces. its surely is more fun |
Sep 8 2014, 03:51 PM
QUOTE(bulkbiz @ Sep 8 2014, 03:31 PM) Do not trade against the trend, if weekly and daily trend is going up, you better don't keep shorting, else you will end up in disaster. Unless you are shorter term with SL in hand. thanks bro bulkbizwords of wisdoms from experience and well informed trader must be taken into consideration.i am looking forward to invest in currency trading, and appreciates all for the feedbacks |
Sep 9 2014, 09:00 AM
QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Sep 8 2014, 05:26 PM) guys, got to pay for kopi-O or Learner fees lah. USD 700 is not a lot of money and i am sure many can still afford it.although i certainly dont hope so ,you may still lose a few more rounds of similar amount if you are :- not patience or discipline enuff ,not experience or technically or fundamentally ill-equipped or simply ,not good enuff.just asking. Being a newbie in this forex and trading demo is no fun. I opted for real account but in 2 weeks time, I have burned about USD600-700. Over 2 weeks time, I found that my forex trading is not suitable. I tend to take small profit but lost in big. Been a newbie, checking the graph or progress every hour is an habit and if possible, I want to open and close position everytime I look at graph. I wonder how does full time trader trade. Some of them show their income in FB, forum, etc with capture, "after 5 hours of trading day" and so on. Are they really sitting in front of computer and watching the market movement? Don't you feel bored when there is no open position to take care? Kindly guide me guys. Thanks. it takes a good few years to acquire this skills in a game very few survived and have success and by the end of it and after losing tons of monies one finally re-discover oneself to be deluded ,dis-iilusioned and vision also blurred after spending years in front of computer screen looking and analyzing charts and graphs the journey to become a successful trader means one have to go through many frustrating and nerve wrecking moments and it is very very time consuming and not forgetting ,you need to spend many many lonely nights in front of computer screen . are you pyschologically and mentally prepare for this kind of torture. you never know ofcourse until you burnt your monies but a few will plough through and enjoy some success This post has been edited by starship1: Sep 9 2014, 09:05 AM |
Sep 9 2014, 09:03 AM
deleted
This post has been edited by starship1: Sep 9 2014, 09:04 AM |
Sep 9 2014, 05:15 PM
May be interested to open account with Alpari or GlobalPrime ,any advise from sifu on trading,payment/funding and withdrawal types. should i use CC or TT or Wire for payment and what about withdrawal methods. would appreciate any feedback
This post has been edited by starship1: Sep 9 2014, 08:10 PM |
Sep 10 2014, 10:11 AM
can any well informed member here provide advise on this-
1) There are no restrictions on the number of open positions you can have over the weekend, as long as you have the required margin*. It's worth noting though that we have an automated risk management system in place where open positions are automatically closed out when the account margin level falls below 20% (ie equity* falls below 20% of the initial margin). Consequently, if you're holding positions over a weekend when we are closed, the market can open out of line from the close on Friday, causing extended losses. 2)We have an automatic stop-out system in place. This means that if the equity on your account falls below 20% of the necessary margin, the system will automatically start closing out your open positions, starting with the order making the greatest loss. the above are quotes from Q n A from one broker thread in UK. Does it mean with open position over weekend ,the the broker or for that matter all brokers have the rights to close open position if the margin capital falls below 20% of the initial fund capital. |
Sep 12 2014, 11:43 AM
So quiet on the Eastern Front.No more bullet or tank burst
Sep 12 2014, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(starship1 @ Sep 12 2014, 11:43 AM) want to ask some advise here ,if i had a 5k USD accounts or more ,what is the best leverage to use .i was thinking standard lot 1:1. or is it 25:1 or 50:1 or 100: 1. is better .i dislike high leverages and short term trade .in the end does it matter if one uses the wrong strategies and trading management/method .if die i prefer to die in one execution rather than from multiple wounds of slow death.i fully understand the high risk of losing all and ofcoz the big thrill of winning big afterall forex is a speculative game camouflaged with investment ambience.Life is too short to enjoy winning too little if there is a chance to win big whenever or wherever opportunities arises .ofcoz caution cannot be entirely ignored. anyone mind to teach me trading on MT4 platform over coffee and whatever side dish orders ,prefer 1 to 1 and not go to any high academy of shaolin kung fu or Grandmaster Ip Man martial art skool. too lazy to read all the tools and technical application there. any feedback and advise will be much appreciated. happy peep peep pipping to all |
Sep 12 2014, 03:00 PM
QUOTE(csong60 @ Sep 12 2014, 02:54 PM) Get as high leverage as possible. Why? It's like having extra cushion if the price goes against your position. Whether your leverage is 1:50 or 1:400 the max. you will lose is still US$5K. With higher leverage your "free margin" is higher ... meaning less chances of margin call. Sure bo brother, go GH better meh. GH is all about game of chance lah broIf you are thinking of 1:1 leverage then better go to Genting casino. You definitely stand a better chance .... trust me ;-) if possible ,please cite a few example the difference between 1:1 ,1:50 and say (1 :200 )which is popular in layman terms. see if i am correct here,say i deposit 5k and i have 500pips to play right on 1:1. This post has been edited by starship1: Sep 12 2014, 03:04 PM |
Sep 12 2014, 03:53 PM
QUOTE(csong60 @ Sep 12 2014, 03:16 PM) If you trade 1 pair in Standard Account with Leverage of 1:1 – thanks for the feedback bro(1) Capital/Equity = $5,000 (2) Margin required = $1,250 (estimated deposit per pair for Standard Lot) (3) Free Margin = $5000-$1250 = $3750 (4) Free Margin Level % = 3750/1250 = 300% (5) Margin Call Definition: Once your Free Margin Level drops to 100% you go into a Margin call and your most detrimental trade or the first FIFO compliant trade (if applicable) is closed to bring you above 100%. If the first closed trade does not bring you above 100% the server will continue to close out trades until our account come up above 100%.” With a leverage of 1:10, then your capital becomes $50,000 and the Free Margin Level % becomes 3900%! So which Free Margin Level % you prefer …. 300% or 3900%? Let me be more certain here as i am new :- !) understood 2) margin required : is there a forex law governing the requirement for deposit equivalent to 25% of Capital/Equity per pair for standard lot 1:1 ? in my case of 5 k ,i only think of if i buy 2 standard lot for 1:1 ,i will only burst my account if the market is against me by 250 pips. right or wrong 3) Free margin : does it mean i have only 3,750 to play with before a margin call is made and the broker will close trade upon touching the margin call rate. 4) i assumed this is related to item 3 5) Margin call definition : drop to 100% of and from what ? is there a margin call level in forex where your Capital level drop to a certain low percentages and the broker reserves the right to close your trades or you will only burst your account until the last dollar by pips calculation. pls enlighten more for i still cant fully understand coz to me even if the free margin level is higher on higher leverage,in the end you either win big or lose big,irregardless of leverages ratios. but 10:1 sound reasonable it seem ridiculous on those margin calls . no wonder you said go casino and play ice cream circling is better |
Sep 12 2014, 04:26 PM
Sep 12 2014, 04:50 PM
QUOTE(csong60 @ Sep 12 2014, 04:04 PM) See in details the formula for computing the Free Margin Level %. thanks once againI think you are getting confused. Margin required IS NOT 25% of your capital. So happen that we use 5K as an example so I guess you thought 1250/5000 = 25%, right? If your capital is 10K, the margin required is still 1250 per standard lot. Hope you get what I mean. (2) If you trade 2 standard lot, then margin required = 1250x2 = 2500. Therefore Free Margin = 5000-2500 = 2500. Free Margin Level % = 2500/2500 = 100%. Bingo! You just had margin call! Not 250 pips leeway, bro! You are right when you said GH is all about game of chance. But gamble smart, lah brother! Ask yourself, between the punter (you) & the casino, who usually (if not always) win? 1) can you kindly explain why the rate 1250 is used for standard lot 1:1 ? you mentioned estimated deposits . isnt it not supposed to be fix 2) i read it that a investor would want a much higher free margins as the rule said once the free margin levels drops to 100% ,a margin call will be made and the broker will close your losing trades and the trader will be left counting his losses. 3) by your explanation, if you could ,pls calculate how many pips against me on 1 standard lot trade for 5k before a margin call is executed or account is burn. i need to know the risk and losses first. 4) can you also advise what will be the best leverage ratio for 5 k funding. (no worries as nothing would be blame ).what are the usual leverage ratios most brokers provide or the investor could request for its own leverage ratios once again .thanks in advance This post has been edited by starship1: Sep 12 2014, 05:00 PM |
Sep 12 2014, 05:18 PM
Thanks bro for your kind effort
i did not realize a margin call can be executed upon reaching approx. only half of one's capital/equity. got to study more about this. one last Q bro , 50 : 1 ratio on 5k ,is it 250,000 units is it .what is the advise. mini lot trading i suppose. sometimes GH casino is better lah. can play sai lang with whatever you have. |
| Change to: | 0.0438sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:19 AM |