7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Forex Version XIV, Foreign Exchange Market Discussion

Supreme1394
post Jan 17 2015, 02:43 PM

Achieving Supremacy
864 posts

QUOTE(Love & Money @ Jan 17 2015, 10:44 AM)
Based on your experience, which forex broker is credible and honest? Beside FXCM.
I don't know, lol tongue.gif As I've said before, I'm new to forex also, still using ICMarkets demo. Hope some sifus here can help.

QUOTE(cylaipro @ Jan 17 2015, 01:37 PM)
for me market maker or ecn it the same as long as u know how to play. i am still profiting even myself using both market maker and ecn. but i can tell u one thing never choose market maker as ur broker if u trade and hold more than 24 hours.
QUOTE(cylaipro @ Jan 17 2015, 01:55 PM)
yes mm would widen the spread so much mean news release like oanda. system lagging it the broker server problem like hotforex will keep dc. slow fill i never had these problem be4. read review be4 u choose broker. but one thing i know MM will manipulate ur chart.
Hmm, interesting. What broker are you using for the market maker and ecn? And why don't hold for more than 24 hours?

QUOTE(Love & Money @ Jan 17 2015, 01:50 PM)
I just realized something.
If a broker can offer leverage as high as 100:1, then it is extremely likely this broker is a market maker.

Reason: At 100x leverage, if the customer has not enough money to over for sharp losing moves, the broker that pledge its own 99:1 with the banks would suffer more than the customer, in absolute term. Only a broker that is also a market maker would have no problem offering 100:1 to the customers because it knows it will not transfer the order to the exchange when the customers can lose their money in-house and the broker keeps them all.

If 400:1, then can 100% confirm is a market maker.
Quite possiblly true hmm.gif But Alpari's Pro accounts have 1:100 leverage, and they're in deep trouble now. So I would assume 1:100 can still be considered true ECN but not 1:400 or 1:500

This post has been edited by Supreme1394: Jan 17 2015, 02:55 PM
Supreme1394
post Jan 19 2015, 03:55 AM

Achieving Supremacy
864 posts

QUOTE(nicnyx @ Jan 19 2015, 01:28 AM)
I heard that it's good to buy gold now, they confident that gold will go up until 1550-1600. Price below 1300 is good entry. What do you guys think ?
QUOTE(JAIDK23 @ Jan 19 2015, 01:31 AM)
who confident? shakehead.gif
Seems like a good buy, a good SL would be at 1250 icon_rolleyes.gif
Supreme1394
post Jan 19 2015, 03:39 PM

Achieving Supremacy
864 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Jan 19 2015, 03:32 PM)
Only the good ones are actually exposed to the recent swiss jolt as they had real money in the markets. They were the ones at risk. Other better ones are not reviewed as they are not in the USA like SWISS broker Dukascopy which reduced leverage on CHF positions to 1:10 back in October 2014 and warn about the 'emptyness' below the 1.20 peg.

The rest who got away unscathed are the market makers who can make up all sorts of stories to their clients and have very little risk in the market since they are not exposed like Real ECN brokers.
So would you recommend dukascopy?
Supreme1394
post Jan 19 2015, 05:05 PM

Achieving Supremacy
864 posts

QUOTE(Vitorbarbosa @ Jan 19 2015, 04:22 PM)
The only reason I do not trade with Dukascopy is because they do not use MT4, their platform is own made. Their spread is not the best around, but definitely one of the most reputable broker out there.
Well as long as they're realiable, spread is not so much of an issue for me as I trade H4 charts only. Unless you have other brokers that give better spreads and are reasonably reliable? drool.gif
Supreme1394
post Jan 19 2015, 05:47 PM

Achieving Supremacy
864 posts

QUOTE(haziqnet @ Jan 19 2015, 05:36 PM)
what happened to CHF could happen to any currency...just hope it will not happen again next time...huhuh i love to trade on CHF pair lately but lucky when the incident happened i dun make any trade...if not im also will become one of the victim....huhuhuh...
Lucky you bro, but a successful trader always anticipates the worst case scenario and plans an emergency exit. But in this case, since there is no emergency exit, you can only plan how to avoid an all out loss, which is by withdrawing a certain % of your profit for safekeeping after every profitable month. That way, nothing can stop you from owning forex flex.gif
Supreme1394
post Jan 20 2015, 10:36 PM

Achieving Supremacy
864 posts

My latest account update:

rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
Supreme1394
post Jan 21 2015, 12:36 AM

Achieving Supremacy
864 posts

QUOTE(krofal @ Jan 20 2015, 11:41 PM)
Niceeee  rclxms.gif
Do you mind to share which broker you are using?  smile.gif
Thanks tongue.gif I'm using ICMarkets demo, but it's a market maker mad.gif

This post has been edited by Supreme1394: Jan 21 2015, 01:34 AM
Supreme1394
post Jan 21 2015, 12:58 AM

Achieving Supremacy
864 posts

QUOTE(RonaldF @ Jan 21 2015, 12:47 AM)
I would like trying to trade forex. I have been practicing with meta trader 4 trial. There is something I'm not really sure with. What is leverage? And how could i put in real money to start trading?

Anyone could guide me?
Thanks a lot
9kingsir gave a good reply. But maybe I can explain a little more about leverage, below I copy pasted my reply to others many pages ago :

Basically all leverage means is how big a lot size you can afford to open compared to your capital. eg. let's say you want to open 1 lot, with no leverage that will cost you $100,000. Now if you use 500:1 leverage, you only need to use $200 as your margin. So basically with 500:1 you can open much bigger lot sizes compared to 50:1.

This post has been edited by Supreme1394: Jan 21 2015, 01:00 AM
Supreme1394
post Jan 21 2015, 03:40 AM

Achieving Supremacy
864 posts

QUOTE(demolationz @ Jan 21 2015, 02:46 AM)
Power la lu abang. Come teach me, can?  blush.gif
How can I teach sifu? This is preposterous brows.gif
tongue.gif
Okla, come we discuss some tips in pm icon_rolleyes.gif
Supreme1394
post Jan 21 2015, 03:59 AM

Achieving Supremacy
864 posts

QUOTE(demolationz @ Jan 21 2015, 02:45 AM)
Correcting my friend analysis. Its a cross pair. Rather than waste it, better share it. LOL

I'm not taking this pair, but if I would, I'd recommend shorting at 1.505 with sl at 1.535 icon_rolleyes.gif
Supreme1394
post Jan 21 2015, 01:17 PM

Achieving Supremacy
864 posts

QUOTE(Gravity @ Jan 21 2015, 01:03 PM)
Hi guys,

Am doing some reading in babypips on position size. I don't quite understand the following bold and underlined area:

Ever since he blew out his first account, he has now sworn that he doesn’t want to risk more than 1% of his account per trade. Let’s figure how big his position size needs to be to stay within his risk comfort zone.

Using his account balance and the percentage amount he wants to risk, we can calculate the dollar amount risked.

USD 5,000 x 1% (or 0.01) = USD 50

Next we divide the amount risked by the stop to find the value per pip.

(USD 50)/(200 pips) = USD 0.25/pip

Lastly, we multiply the value per pip by a known unit/pip value ratio of EUR/USD. In this case, with 10k units (or one mini lot), each pip move is worth USD 1.[U]

USD 0.25 per pip * [(10k units of EUR/USD)/(USD 1 per pip)] = 2,500 units of EUR/USD

So, Newbie Ned should put on 2,500 units of EUR/USD or less to stay within his risk comfort level with his current trade setup.

Read more: http://www.babypips.com/school/undergradua...l#ixzz3PQfRAHNO
Hope sifus can decode it into a more simpler english!  hmm.gif
Wow, I also rclxub.gif
Here's how I do it the plain and simple way :
So based on the example above, want to risk 1% so can only risk USD 50,
and the SL is 20 pips away from entry (example gives 200 pips, which is too big for risking USD50 laugh.gif ), so to calculate lot size needed : USD 50 / 200 = 0.25 lots.
Note why I divide USD 50 with 200 even though SL is 20 pips, it's because 1 pip = USD 10
An intersting fact : 20 pips in MT4 charts would be 0.00200 icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Supreme1394: Jan 21 2015, 01:32 PM
Supreme1394
post Jan 21 2015, 06:22 PM

Achieving Supremacy
864 posts

QUOTE(learners @ Jan 21 2015, 05:56 PM)
Want to give everyone a heads up with experience with FXPRO.
They hunted down my Stop Loss today after GBP news at 5:30pm!!! The ask price was never reached!
I have an order to sell gbpusd at 1.51315 and SL at 1.51724. The price was never even reach and my order was shown closed DUE TO SL...
Lost about 40 pips where i could be profit because of the GBP news.

Fcking nonsense they said they are no desk dealing brokers.
My opinion is that your SL was too close, so widening spreads will easily trigger it. If I were you, I would have put my SL at a much safer 1.52050 icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Supreme1394: Jan 21 2015, 06:26 PM
Supreme1394
post Jan 21 2015, 08:54 PM

Achieving Supremacy
864 posts

QUOTE(RonaldF @ Jan 21 2015, 08:42 PM)
Thanks for the info. Let's say my start up capital is 100USD, what ratio of leverage would u recommend? and which apps do u recommend?
Honestly, 1:500 leverage because your $100 is quite small. I would recommend $500 as the start, as it would enable you to play bigger time frames like H4 with good SL. And MT4 is the de facto app out there and it's great.
Supreme1394
post Jan 21 2015, 10:45 PM

Achieving Supremacy
864 posts

QUOTE(RonaldF @ Jan 21 2015, 09:12 PM)
i dont think i will start with 500$ first because im still a student.. and newbie to forex.. i cant afford to lose 500$..

if i were to deposit, who do i deposit to? and how do i withdraw if i earned some money?

Thanks very much
Have you tried demo before? Go demo before you think about going live at least for a few months. And $100 is really very little, I think most accounts require minimum $200.

I haven't gone live yet but most brokers allow you to fund through debit/credit card and can withdraw through the same way also. TT transfer through banks also accepted mostly.
Supreme1394
post Jan 22 2015, 02:30 PM

Achieving Supremacy
864 posts

QUOTE(oreomambo @ Jan 22 2015, 11:09 AM)
ECB rate announcement..tricky. Last round already maintain interest rate. This round still can hold the fort, tough decision.

if they cut the the rate, then you'll see ppl dumping EUR like mad. (see what happen to CAD after the rate cut announcement)
if they don't cut the rate, then status quo (EUR still diving south, maybe going up at first after the news..then drifting to hell again...slowly)

yummy time to go in short
Hi, I wanna ask why was NZDUSD affected by the CAD news last night? My trade was spoilt because of it lol.
Supreme1394
post Jan 22 2015, 04:14 PM

Achieving Supremacy
864 posts

QUOTE(oreomambo @ Jan 22 2015, 03:26 PM)
No idea. maybe other sifu can tell. Probably USD at that time was the only viable safe heaven..with all the CAD, CHF and EUR debacles.
Yes, I think you're right. Damn these fundamentals are so confusing cry.gif So with the upcoming ECB minimum bid rate, do you suggest we hold short on EURUSD? hmm.gif
Supreme1394
post Jan 22 2015, 11:55 PM

Achieving Supremacy
864 posts

QUOTE(oreomambo @ Jan 22 2015, 11:39 PM)
Hidden message is "we will print more euro to buy bonds and assets".  You can hold to your euro but it's gonna be toilet paper like ringgit.
rclxms.gif
Didn't know their deflation can be solved overnight lol, now I think become massive inflation pulak doh.gif

This post has been edited by Supreme1394: Jan 22 2015, 11:56 PM
Supreme1394
post Jan 23 2015, 06:42 PM

Achieving Supremacy
864 posts

QUOTE(cylaipro @ Jan 23 2015, 01:23 PM)
true grandmasters are the bankers. http://www.fxstreet.com/education/forex-ba...asy/2013/12/05/

if u know how the big boys trick the small fish. congratulation! u graduated!
Kasi you satu +1
Supreme1394
post Jan 23 2015, 08:49 PM

Achieving Supremacy
864 posts

QUOTE(cylaipro @ Jan 23 2015, 07:19 PM)
haha how ur trade alr? got become better?  whistling.gif
Dunno how to follow your technique cry.gif

QUOTE(cylaipro @ Jan 23 2015, 08:21 PM)
stick with plan  rclxm9.gif

[attachmentid=4314202]
This is pro

QUOTE(Love & Money @ Jan 23 2015, 08:45 PM)
fuyoh! mana lu punya equity curve?

With 1:500 means your capital just + 50x more?
Post myfxbook account gain plox brows.gif
Supreme1394
post Jan 30 2015, 03:01 PM

Achieving Supremacy
864 posts

XM as a market maker...giving signals? hmm hmm.gif

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0558sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:53 PM