The World Through A Macro Lens, Macro Photography <3

mingyuyu
post Jul 1 2014, 10:36 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

wah the sifu finally opens a showcase thread.

too much awesomeness tongue.gif
mingyuyu
post Oct 5 2014, 08:20 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

Admire your knowledge in identifying all the species, salute to you tongue.gif

I bumped into a green scorpion today at FRIM, is it just a normal scorpion or? Because normally scorpions are in black or brown right?

Sorry for tumpang thread, but I will remove this if it distracts your thread.

This post has been edited by mingyuyu: Oct 5 2014, 08:20 PM
mingyuyu
post Oct 5 2014, 09:59 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 5 2014, 08:59 PM)
Nice find there man~
Its a Giant Forest Scorpion, likely Heterometrus spinifer
This one is quite difficult to photograph since it has very reflective carapace  laugh.gif

But like all scorpions and many other arthropods, this one will glow under UV, very nice to photograph thumbup.gif

user posted imageGiant Forest Scorpion (Heterometrus spinifer) glowing under UV light by PF T.J., on Flickr
Yeah, was really lucky to bump into a large scorpion at the middle of the pathway. I heard that scorpion is quite hard to found at FRIM right?

It looks really funny in real life, the very shinny carapace and saturated green color make it looks like plastic toy at first.
mingyuyu
post Dec 30 2014, 12:24 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

a lot of awesome shots as usual, i think you can consider to maybe print all of them out as a book, that would be awesome biggrin.gif

0.0242sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:49 PM