Battlefield 2 tourney @ CELgames 2006, Calling all BF2 players!

TSthurtin
post Aug 15 2006, 12:54 PM, updated 20y ago

277 posts

Hi guys,

This is Blake from GameAxis Malaysia.

First of all, I wish to apologize to all BF2 freaks in Malaysia because GameAxis hasn't been showing you guys much love. But to make up for it, here is a piece of good news.

For the first time ever, GameAxis' CELgames this year will feature a BF2 compy!

Details are a bit sketchy at the moment and but here's what I can share with you guys.

Date: Detween 20 to 26 November 2006.
Format: 8v8 and/or 2v2
Prizes: Cash and/or prizes for the entire team
Locations: Plaza Low Yat
Entry Fees: RM20 per person
Goodie bags: T-shirts, caps, etc etc (still working out the details)

I hope that is good enough for you guys. BTW, if everything goes according to plans, we might just fly down teams from Singapore as well! Then, the BF2 tourney will be more like a invitational/exhibition tourney. Keep your fingers crossed.

But now I have a favor to ask from you guys.

Can all the BF2 clan leaders in LYN contact me? I need to speak to you guys urgently. Please drop an email to blake (at) gameaxis.com with your contact number and I will contact you guys ASAP.

As for the others, if you have questions, post them here and I will try my best to answer them.

Majulah e-Sukan Untuk Negara

Aoshi_88
post Aug 15 2006, 01:36 PM

Talking isn't difficult. Speaking is.
4,670 posts

2v2? Wonder how that works. Anyway, i'll let my clan leader know ASAp.
Everdying
post Aug 15 2006, 02:03 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

cool.
finally announced something after you guys were deciding for last couple months tongue.gif
but now in nov?
TSthurtin
post Aug 15 2006, 02:25 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Aug 15 2006, 02:03 PM)
cool.
finally announced something after you guys were deciding for last couple months tongue.gif
but now in nov?
Its something we've been working on for a long time and we're sure glad as hell that it can finally materialize.

Yup, The tourney will be held in nov. More time for you guys to train i guess.
TSthurtin
post Aug 15 2006, 02:32 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(Aoshi_88 @ Aug 15 2006, 01:36 PM)
2v2? Wonder how that works. Anyway, i'll let my clan leader know ASAp.
Yeah, me too. tongue.gif

It's something we may try from the recent big BF2 tourney in Singapore. Who knows man.

newbi3s
post Aug 15 2006, 04:11 PM

FALIQ
4,325 posts

good news, I will try to discuss about it with my clanmates

5 vs 5 would be better as the community here not that big as in Singapore. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by newbi3s: Aug 15 2006, 04:17 PM
crestfallen
post Aug 15 2006, 04:27 PM

Ooh.. you touched my tra la la... Mmm.. my ding ding dong
1,761 posts

w00t!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ill let my team know bout this. smile.gif

newbi3s
post Aug 15 2006, 04:31 PM

FALIQ
4,325 posts

ask CS clans to join like Starhub Masters Series tongue.gif
crestfallen
post Aug 15 2006, 04:39 PM

1,761 posts

btw, most important questions is.... WHATS THE PRIZES???? tongue.gif

at last a 2v2 compy.. now it sounds more like the TWL!

hopefully the event took plaace for only 1 (or 2) days. the one that is held in singapore right now took too long. otherwise we already joined.

& do i need to send my contacts again to u blake?

& in November??? can make it earlier.. by nov i think everyone been busy playing BF2142 (of BF2142 demo) if its ever comes out. tongue.gif

but yeah, we will support yah as long as it happens smile.gif

This post has been edited by crestfallen: Aug 15 2006, 04:48 PM
newbi3s
post Aug 15 2006, 04:54 PM

FALIQ
4,325 posts

QUOTE(crestfallen @ Aug 15 2006, 04:39 PM)

hopefully the event took plaace for only 1 (or 2) days. the one that is held in singapore right now took too long. otherwise we already joined.

& in November??? can make it earlier.. by nov i think everyone been busy playing BF2142 (of BF2142 demo) if its ever comes out. tongue.gif

I prefer 5v5 because can attract more teams to join. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSthurtin
post Aug 15 2006, 05:59 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(newbi3s @ Aug 15 2006, 04:11 PM)
good news, I will try to discuss about it with my clanmates

5 vs 5 would be better as the community here not that big as in Singapore.  thumbup.gif
5v5 eh? noted.

get more of your clanmates here to give feedbacks and comments.

TSthurtin
post Aug 15 2006, 06:04 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(crestfallen @ Aug 15 2006, 04:39 PM)

the 2v2 compy is something still up in the air. Not really sure if we're going to do it at all. we'll see how la.

FYI, the BF2 will be just a 1 or 2 day event on the weekends. Dont worry.

I got yr contact dude. Will get in touch with you soon.

Sorry dude, we locked down the dates already for Nov. Cannot change it.

and BTW, we have something special lined up for BF2142. But its top secret though. shhhhh. tongue.gif

POYOZER
post Aug 15 2006, 08:05 PM

Traveler
3,653 posts

if use 2 vs 2 format
then play the custom map should be much better
like..tank vs tank
air to air
or chopper vs chopper
RaedeanBF2
post Aug 15 2006, 08:09 PM

276 posts

good good....at least something is going on for bf2 community..

thx...gameaxis...i love ya :luv:

mdzaboy
post Aug 15 2006, 09:28 PM

CuChee MunK KuK
2,061 posts

QUOTE(RaedeanBF2 @ Aug 15 2006, 08:09 PM)
good good....at least something is going on for bf2 community..
thx...gameaxis...i love ya :luv:
oih..gay ape..? huhu

btw

blake..is it for clan only..? how bout the individual..?
RaedeanBF2
post Aug 15 2006, 10:03 PM

276 posts

Entah aa...sejak menjak aku main artificial girl 2 tuhh...semacam.. laugh.gif

Back to the topic,jom pekopons.....kita buat Malaysian United Freelancers. tongue.gif
mdzaboy
post Aug 15 2006, 10:58 PM

CuChee MunK KuK
2,061 posts

QUOTE(RaedeanBF2 @ Aug 15 2006, 10:03 PM)
Entah aa...sejak menjak aku main artificial girl 2 tuhh...semacam.. laugh.gif

Back to the topic,jom pekopons.....kita buat Malaysian United Freelancers. tongue.gif
to much handle the mouse...huhu sign0006.gif

okeh..no prob for me..
SoulReaper
post Aug 16 2006, 01:54 AM

28 posts

hmmm...will let RTS know about this.
gestapo
post Aug 16 2006, 04:33 AM

Full HD Post Count
1,160 posts

Cool finally some event for BF2. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(newbi3s @ Aug 15 2006, 04:54 PM)
I prefer 5v5 because can attract more teams to join.  icon_rolleyes.gif
QUOTE(POYOZER @ Aug 15 2006, 08:05 PM)
if use 2 vs 2 format
then play the custom map should be much better
like..tank vs tank
air to air
or chopper vs chopper
lets just stick to at least 8 vs 8. pls dont degrade the game anymore. if 2 vs 2 maybe good for mini game. and 5 vs 5 is dota! whistling.gif tongue.gif
Aoshi_88
post Aug 16 2006, 08:48 AM

4,670 posts

5 vs. 5 is also CS-like. No thank you! Stick to 8 vs. 8 please.
DeFaeco
post Aug 16 2006, 11:34 AM

30 posts

ceh, 32 vs 32 la baru shiok!! tongue.gif
newbi3s
post Aug 16 2006, 11:36 AM

FALIQ
4,325 posts

32 vs 32 how to get that much of ppl? tongue.gif
newbi3s
post Aug 16 2006, 11:39 AM

FALIQ
4,325 posts

QUOTE(Aoshi_88 @ Aug 16 2006, 08:48 AM)
5 vs. 5 is also CS-like. No thank you! Stick to 8 vs. 8 please.
If 8 vs 8. Not many teams will join. Later 3-4 teams joined susah doh.gif

Aoshi pls check our private forum asap doh.gif

This post has been edited by newbi3s: Aug 16 2006, 12:17 PM
Dejeka Infinitus
post Aug 16 2006, 11:45 AM

29 posts

5vs5 tak syok la...8vs8..err commander gestapo, is our new team ready?
newbi3s
post Aug 16 2006, 12:03 PM

FALIQ
4,325 posts

FSN and Jinggez said if 5v5 they will be consider
crestfallen
post Aug 16 2006, 02:19 PM

1,761 posts

dont worry. with proper promotions (& PRIZES), there will be teams joining. will let hunt knows bout it.. maybe they can get the B0hj4Ns as well.
newbi3s
post Aug 16 2006, 02:37 PM

FALIQ
4,325 posts

QUOTE(crestfallen @ Aug 16 2006, 02:19 PM)
dont worry. with proper promotions (& PRIZES), there will be teams joining. will let hunt knows bout it.. maybe they can get the B0hj4Ns as well.
FSN and Jinggez will only join if it 5 on 5
MejarKurtz
post Aug 16 2006, 02:49 PM

745 posts

hoping start on day not night time, not suitable for me....yo newbie, apa planning for the match, let me know!!
Dejeka Infinitus
post Aug 16 2006, 03:02 PM

29 posts

huhuhu semangat ni!
newbi3s
post Aug 16 2006, 03:34 PM

FALIQ
4,325 posts

if we confident get more teams than set it 8v8
try to get the feedback from many teams first see whats their respond.
MejarKurtz
post Aug 16 2006, 03:37 PM

745 posts

ok then, I waits the news from ya newbie.......can't waits playin along my old comrade.....let shake and kill
TSthurtin
post Aug 16 2006, 04:06 PM

277 posts

hmmm... 5v5 or 8v8?

This is a question that i will discuss with the BF2 clans leaders next week.

stay tuned guys...

Everdying
post Aug 16 2006, 04:06 PM

30,735 posts

negative on a 5v5.
the aim is to show what battlefield is capable of.
ie. vehicular combat etc.
not making it into a CS copy.

qu|kZ
post Aug 16 2006, 04:23 PM

48 posts

Hi all,

Don't mind if i give my suggestions for the tournament.

First off, i'm glad that Malaysia is starting to have a BF2 tournament since the last LAN party in which we attended last year, July thumbup.gif

Currently in Singapore, we're having the Starhub Master Series : BF2 Singapore Championship which is organised by our local GameAxis crew and sponsored by Starhub.

What we've up for grabs in the Starhub Master Series are definitely attractive.

The prizes are as follow:

Starhub Master Series BF2 Singapore Championship -

1st $8000

2nd $4000

3rd $2000

4th $800

2v2 Mini-Competitions -

Champions of Armor/Helicopter/Aviator: 1x MSI GeForce 6600 Graphics Card + 1x Sennheiser Headset + 2x EA CD Wallet + 2x Battlefield Vietnam Torch Box Set + 2x BF2 Special Forces T-Shirt + 2 sets of ROL Gaming Bundle worth $198 that includes 2x Razer eXactMat + 2x Razer Diamondback Mouse + 2x Rise of Legends PC Game

BF2 Public Challenge -

Win EA Premiums including CD wallet, BF2 Special Forces A2 Posters & EA 2006 calenders! ß12 sets in total

Guess the 3 Winners (1st, 2nd & 3rd) Contest -

1x HP nx6115 notebook worth $1299

As the Starhub Master Series started on the following weekend straight after the GXL Finals, not many teams decided to join as it was too fast and probably at a bad timing since most of the clans had students who are currently facing exams.

But good thing was, the GameAxis crew managed to get 2 of our local top CS teams to participate in this event as well, so as to show tt BF2 ain't just for the BF players, but for everyone round. Kudos to TitaNs and RageFaction for being good sports even thou they didn't know how to play the game, giving them crash courses through the event was indeed fun as well.

As for the format wise, i'm definitely to go with the 8 vs 8 format like what the others said. 5 vs 5 is definitely a no no shakehead.gif

For those who are interested to find out how the Starhub Master Series is progressing, here's the link smile.gif

If you want teams from Singapore going to Malaysia to participate in this event, i'll rope in the other LAN teams as well but i'll need time and more details.

Everdying
post Aug 16 2006, 04:26 PM

30,735 posts

yes quikz.
the guy doing it here is from gameaxis malaysia tongue.gif

qu|kZ
post Aug 16 2006, 04:30 PM

48 posts

Yeah, i know biggrin.gif

Just giving suggestions if you guys want to run it similar to the Starhub Master Series, based on formats and events.

Aoshi_88
post Aug 16 2006, 06:28 PM

4,670 posts

I prefer 8 vs. 8. This certainly is not a CS wannabe kind-of-game.
Manock Colock
post Aug 18 2006, 04:53 PM

24 posts

watabout 16 vs 16? happy.gif

hmm...Nov is actually quite nice,for me la...coz its after raye!! Byk duit leh bili GC!! rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

er...plus by then more people are free rite? students like me especially dah abis finals thumbup.gif So more time to practice? icon_idea.gif
Manock Colock
post Aug 18 2006, 04:59 PM

24 posts

Oh, by the way...dono if Knight_ALX@Convicted_Knight said this b4...but we just started a new "clan" sweat.gif

Namanya B[H]² knek tok ada mek 2 jak so x byk aktiviti glakla....sapa2 org swak mun mok join feel free...sapa2 bukan miak swak asal paham apa dipadahku boleh juak laugh.gif

oh and it stands for Borneo[HeadHuntaz]
newbi3s
post Aug 18 2006, 08:29 PM

FALIQ
4,325 posts

QUOTE(Manock Colock @ Aug 18 2006, 04:53 PM)
watabout 16 vs 16? happy.gif

hmm...Nov is actually quite nice,for me la...coz its after raye!! Byk duit leh bili GC!! rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif

er...plus by then more people are free rite? students like me especially dah abis finals thumbup.gif  So more time to practice? icon_idea.gif
Our community not that big enough for 16 vs 16 ....
Manock Colock
post Aug 18 2006, 11:24 PM

24 posts

Oh...ya meh? u mean in P]G[K also not enuf? I never counted how many members there were...
Infantrie
post Aug 19 2006, 02:13 AM

can i join u guys?do i need a clan for this??
crestfallen
post Aug 19 2006, 10:22 AM

1,761 posts

you dont need to be in a clan, but you need a team of 8 to enter the main event (if its 8v8).

or you could also look for another teammate if you like to go for the 2v2 events.

the tourney is open to public, yes you can join smile.gif

This post has been edited by crestfallen: Aug 19 2006, 10:23 AM
Manock Colock
post Aug 19 2006, 11:36 AM

24 posts

Damm man..your sig is disturbing.. shocking.gif
convicted_knight
post Aug 19 2006, 04:54 PM

506 posts

QUOTE(Manock Colock @ Aug 19 2006, 11:36 AM)
Damm man..your sig is disturbing.. shocking.gif
Lom potong kontol nya gik... shonat namo nyak den.. apuu.. parai nuan... Know what i mean..? huhuh.. whistling.gif
Manock Colock
post Aug 19 2006, 10:21 PM

24 posts

Yo knight, we gonna join or what?
RaedeanBF2
post Aug 19 2006, 10:42 PM

276 posts

Btw,ini LAN atau Online??... :dizzy:
crestfallen
post Aug 19 2006, 11:57 PM

1,761 posts

i think CELgames gonna be LAN type of event.
gestapo
post Aug 20 2006, 10:39 AM

Full HD Post Count
1,160 posts

ppl sure gonna try out for this event. lets just make it a domestic event for a while. malaysian bf community is bigger than what we think actually, just need some proper promotions and ad to find those players.

stick to minimum 8 vs 8 pls.
newbi3s
post Aug 20 2006, 10:51 AM

FALIQ
4,325 posts

QUOTE(gestapo @ Aug 20 2006, 10:39 AM)
ppl sure gonna try out for this event. lets just make it a domestic event for a while.  malaysian bf community is bigger than what we think actually, just need some proper promotions and ad to find those players.

stick to minimum 8 vs 8 pls.
yeah proper promotions is a must notworthy.gif
RaedeanBF2
post Aug 20 2006, 11:21 AM

276 posts

yeah...cmon...buy the shirt tongue.gif

Sorry offtopic.. tongue.gif
POYOZER
post Aug 20 2006, 11:24 AM

Traveler
3,653 posts

make sure promote early lah
bf2 event in malaysia always confirm last minute
for example...it should promote 1 month early @ gameaxis, cybercafe, etc
RaedeanBF2
post Aug 20 2006, 11:26 AM

276 posts

yeah....you guys go promote at ss2 or ss15 or any ss that you guys can.I'm promoting workers in TGI Friday's to play bf2 but they all kaki Css sad.gif
Manock Colock
post Aug 20 2006, 02:16 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(RaedeanBF2 @ Aug 20 2006, 11:26 AM)
yeah....you guys go promote at ss2 or ss15 or any ss that you guys can.I'm promoting workers in TGI Friday's to play bf2 but they all kaki Css sad.gif
Ala, then u show them how much cooler they can pwn in bf2 bruce.gif
newbi3s
post Aug 20 2006, 11:49 PM

FALIQ
4,325 posts

heard few sg clans interested biggrin.gif
gestapo
post Aug 21 2006, 01:32 AM

Full HD Post Count
1,160 posts

ahh finally got our own malaysian event but open to all sweat.gif

gimme a break
TSthurtin
post Aug 23 2006, 03:34 PM

277 posts

hi guys

sorry for the lack of updates, but i'm really swamped with work right now.

however, what i can tell you that the BF2 tourney is definitely a go! Just bear with me as I nail down the exact details of how its going to be.

i also have a favor to ask from the BF2 clan leaders/senior members in Malaysia, please pm me with your name and contact number.

somewhere around 1 or 2 sept, I hope to meet up with you guys for your opinions and input on the tourney. tentatively, the venue will be the ss2 coffee bean, next to TSB.

stay tuned for more details.

kthxbai.
RaedeanBF2
post Aug 26 2006, 01:39 PM

276 posts

Any latest news about CELgames??
SoulReaper
post Aug 27 2006, 09:17 PM

28 posts

we RTS cant join. Only 1 member in KL right now, the rest still in Borneo. (RTS e|-h0ra).
qu|kZ
post Aug 27 2006, 11:54 PM

48 posts

Don't forget us Singapore teams ;D
MejarKurtz
post Aug 28 2006, 10:31 AM

745 posts

QUOTE(thurtin @ Aug 23 2006, 03:34 PM)
hi guys

sorry for the lack of updates, but i'm really swamped with work right now.

however, what i can tell you that the BF2 tourney is definitely a go! Just bear with me as I nail down the exact details of how its going to be.

i also have a favor to ask from the BF2 clan leaders/senior members in Malaysia, please pm me with your name and contact number.

somewhere around 1 or 2 sept, I hope to meet up with you guys for your opinions and input on the tourney. tentatively, the venue will be the ss2 coffee bean, next to TSB.

stay tuned for more details.

kthxbai.
yo blake , sent me the invitation card for the Celgames.......surely the game fall on friday , saturday or sunday....hate to says it but i had too since that 3 day no official dayoff from tesco.....darn, had it very well tho.... i wanna join the game but at least had some official letter or something that can give me a 3 day off...

no offence but its true..... cry.gif icon_question.gif did i ask to more or even more???

I promise i give one hell of scream that you won't forget me!!!
newbi3s
post Sep 1 2006, 10:46 PM

FALIQ
4,325 posts

any news about CEL?
MejarKurtz
post Sep 4 2006, 09:07 AM

745 posts

non.....either way, lets just sent the e-mail 2 him...

0.0291sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:52 PM