6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Hobbies The Official LEGO Enthusiast Club V21

Lego_Jason
post Aug 7 2014, 03:40 PM

QUOTE(xfrenzy @ Aug 7 2014, 03:01 PM)
I'm not sure what it is, I got it from IT Toys - KO Mechanical Base 008 - for $32

I think 1 base is not enough.
Thanks. I think it will serve as a nice backdrop for Exo Suit. That's the lazy way... tongue.gif The purist way is to build it out of Lego. icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(sheemmet @ Aug 7 2014, 03:03 PM)
wow you all start getting exo suit smile.gif
hope to see one here soon tongue.gif
Fingers crossed la but with the strong demand overseas we stand a very slim chance of getting our hands on one... unsure.gif

Meanwhile, yesterday opened a set and my first encounter with a defective Lego part:
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

My Joker steamroller with a "cacat" wheel. doh.gif

Attached Image Joker attacking with an AK47. I'm gonna get him a Tommy gun. wink.gif

Attached Image Robin is going to pounce from behind...

This post has been edited by Lego_Jason: Aug 7 2014, 03:41 PM
Lego_Jason
post Aug 7 2014, 11:03 PM

QUOTE(Bigfoot-X @ Aug 7 2014, 05:49 PM)
True. Trooper suits lousy matetial. 1 blaster shot KO tongue.gif
Is it true they made this set because of a letter they received from a little girl who wanted more female "professional" minifigs?

Read it somewhere - didn't verify the authenticity.
Wow, it looks like it was bitten off! Angry Lego staff at assembly line? biggrin.gif

This is a set on my wanted list. Only got 1 out of the 4 Batman sets released mainly for Batgirl and Robin. The other minifigs are almost similar to the 2012 sets except for Joker's fedora. And the plane isn't the best design I've seen ...
haha! Yeah, when I first saw it I also thought it got bitten by rats! rclxub.gif tongue.gif

Wrote to Lego for a replacement part. So far the process is very straightforward and simple. Hopefully they will ship the part soon without asking too many questions.. smile.gif
Lego_Jason
post Aug 8 2014, 12:16 PM

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Aug 7 2014, 11:56 PM)
u sendiri bite it is it?  tongue.gif
Haha! Like that I need to have my teeth checked at the dentist! tongue.gif

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Aug 8 2014, 12:03 AM)
That looks like a short shot during the injection molding process.

Funny how it could pass QC as the weight will definitely be different.
Yeah, such a big piece and the deformed part is quite obvious. I spotted it immediately when I poured the bag contents onto the table.

QUOTE(yhlee12 @ Aug 8 2014, 12:21 AM)
it was never in my wanted list... but come to think of it, it's only 20 dollars, having 3 female minifigs, 3 different mini builds and occupation.. it will appeal to certain market (education, female consumers..). think i'll keep it for now (if i can get it that is), see can poison wife into lego or not  tongue.gif
nothing to be envied la bro.. i just use hopshopgo service.. mentioned before couple of months back.. everyone can do that  biggrin.gif
that's one horrible part! such a big "cacat" part also can pass QC?
Really?!?!? I have tried HopShopGo in the past and was immediately rejected by Lego. You're very lucky that you managed to slipped through their net. rclxms.gif

May I ask if HopShopGo has different tiers as in are you a premium member or something that you get a special address that Lego cannot detect is a forwarding service? hmm.gif

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Aug 8 2014, 12:26 AM)
These just came in the mail from UK today.

I won it from Brickset.

[attachmentid=4085353]
Wah! So lucky! Congrats!! rclxms.gif

QUOTE(ilfort @ Aug 8 2014, 08:31 AM)
wow, quality dropping.
Hopefully not la.... This is my first incident. After so many years and opening so many sets I am bound to 'kena' with either missing or defective part one day... My time has come. tongue.gif
Lego_Jason
post Aug 8 2014, 12:17 PM

QUOTE(ryucando @ Aug 8 2014, 09:27 AM)
my experience with part replacement for 'Flash' head, TLG will ask for the serial no. printed at the back of the manual.
They will tell you some mumbo jumbo about

" The pieces you need are based on a story and characters we didn’t create ourselves. Before we can send you the parts, we’ll need to get a number off the back of your instructions."

Haha... but it was an easy process.... shipping does take a while though... (mine was about 5 weeks).

Good luck!
Thanks for sharing, I'll be ready when I get their email. wink.gif

QUOTE(kaizer3000 @ Aug 8 2014, 10:06 AM)
Hi all LEGO masters...

can anyone kind enuf tell me where i can get the below at a reasonable price?

- Lego Ghostbusters
- Lego Simpsons + house set

many thanks ya
I only have Simpsons CMF, pls check your pm. wink.gif
Lego_Jason
post Aug 8 2014, 03:07 PM

QUOTE(littleprawn @ Aug 8 2014, 02:07 PM)
thanks n glad u like them~  laugh.gif
woah, ur defective part quite serious~

still havent ask for replacement for my GE~  sweat.gif
2 wolverine claw scratch and hulk smash brick n a missing brick~  cry.gif
Better put in a request la... New toy feels like old toy with the defects. I was lucky the defective wheel is still serviceable and that allowed me to attach to the steam roller thus completing my build. However, I accept that as a temporary measure while waiting for replacement part to come. I cannot live with a cacat Lego set. haha! tongue.gif

QUOTE(kaizer3000 @ Aug 8 2014, 02:16 PM)
where where???
in sg i found a shop selling GB set...but it costs SGD 195 !! Crazy leh!!
That's daylight robbery! shakehead.gif

QUOTE(Bigfoot-X @ Aug 8 2014, 02:26 PM)
Well, I've made 2 requests so far. First time was for a scratched Vampyre's Bride face. That one didn't have any additional questions.

Recently I made a request for replacement Batman torso from 76001 set due to scratch as well. I got those questions above so had to dig up the instruction manual.

My first replacement request took 3 weeks. Let's see how long this one takes.
Congrats. They're not generic polybags either!
QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Aug 8 2014, 02:37 PM)
Regarding the questions asked during replacement parts requests, they will need proof of purchase from you only for parts where they are exclusively printed, or part of a licensed range, like Batman's torso or the Flux Capacitor.

This is to avoid people abusing the system and get parts for cheap to resale.  You know how expensive these parts can be.

My experience has been smooth.  Asked for the reprint flux capacitor, only needed to quote the number on the back of my instruction booklet.  Another incident where my Ecto-1 booklet fell apart, they didn't ask any questions, just asked me to log on with my Lego S@H account and put in the request.  I think they can check there that I purchased it from them.  They even sent an extra one without my requesting since I bought another set for red5ive-O.

If you are asking for a generic replacement part like a 4x2 red brick, they usually don't care much, unless your request is abnormal.
Thanks for sharing your experiences. notworthy.gif Still no reply from Lego...
Lego_Jason
post Aug 8 2014, 03:35 PM

QUOTE(yhlee12 @ Aug 8 2014, 02:39 PM)
i just use their buy for me service... the US address is of no use smile.gif

their prime membership offers lower shipping costs n practically a discount on most of their services.. which i find quite reasonable la. we are not in US.. so gotta pay premium to get that lo.
Oh! You used their shopping service! doh.gif Sorry, I forgot about that service. tongue.gif

But sayang la... All the Lego VIP points gone... cry.gif Some staff or the manager of HopShopGo should be redeeming free Lego every week/month... laugh.gif

QUOTE(Bigfoot-X @ Aug 8 2014, 02:53 PM)
oh snap. I forgot about the "SHEILD" part for my BTTF set ...
Haha! That'll be another love letter to Lego. wink.gif

QUOTE(maxilife1 @ Aug 8 2014, 03:06 PM)
Smart Brick - to control ur technic using iOS, android or windows phone via bluetooth!

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/sbrick...ster=nav_search

Thanks for sharing! I saw that a few weeks back in Brickset and thought it to be interesting. This is right up my alley again so I will be pledging to get myself some SBricks! Hope to see fellow AFOLs in LYN, BOM and LOM pledging too! thumbup.gif
Lego_Jason
post Aug 8 2014, 05:02 PM

QUOTE(Chaud @ Aug 8 2014, 04:11 PM)
got request for replacement parts?
Yes I did. nod.gif

QUOTE(Bigfoot-X @ Aug 8 2014, 04:28 PM)
So far, I've received minimum 2 emails for each case. One to confirm that you've submitted a request.  The 2nd to notify you the parts have shipped.

I guess with licensed sets, there's another email in between asking for proof of purchase from the code/serial number in the back page of the instruction booklet.
I also received email confirmation from Lego. icon_rolleyes.gif
Lego_Jason
post Aug 8 2014, 05:59 PM

QUOTE(elementz @ Aug 8 2014, 05:05 PM)
Don't worry.. It takes some time for them to respond.. Hope you will get the replacement soon..  biggrin.gif

Finally can join us in the club of those who got defect parts..  tongue.gif
Haha! Thanks for welcoming me to the club! tongue.gif

Pledged!! Can't wait to play with this! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Lego_Jason: Aug 8 2014, 06:00 PM
Lego_Jason
post Aug 9 2014, 01:08 AM

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Aug 8 2014, 08:41 PM)
Just got this message from Lego.

So Lego_Jason, do you want that special message from Lego?  tongue.gif
Hahaha! Lego really knows how to write very nice PR letter! tongue.gif No thanks, I just want the Exo Suit! laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

So it may look like we will only be able to get 5 sets... sad.gif

QUOTE(littleprawn @ Aug 8 2014, 09:27 PM)
UCS Tumbler pics~  drool.gif

UCS Tumbler~
Wah! This is very strong poison leh! Next time pls put warning leh! icon_question.gif (Joking only ya! icon_rolleyes.gif )

Before this I was only 50-50 on the UCS Tumbler... Now I am beyond the point of no return. BUY!!! moneyflies.gif

QUOTE(zlan99 @ Aug 8 2014, 10:39 PM)
dear lego sifu
newbie here;
i want to buy LEGO Creator Family House 31012 (2 units) & LEGO Movie MetalBeard's Sea Cow.
any recommend shop within kl & selangor area (lego shop @ curve/bangsar = sold out)
btw
here my small haul @ tropicanamall (2 month ago)
Welcome to the forum. smile.gif
Lego_Jason
post Aug 9 2014, 03:02 PM

QUOTE(yeane @ Aug 9 2014, 07:35 AM)
i wanna ask  is there anyway i can buy lego from lego us official website?

i notice that there are a lot of members buying from there, are they having friend in US and request them to ship the item back for them?

can anyone give me some hints ~~~ plz~~~
Some have friends/relatives to help them ship the orders home while some use shopping services to buy from Lego.

If you go back a few posts you can see bro yhlee12 mentioned he uses HopShopGo's shopping service to buy his Lego from Lego S@H.

Here is the link: HopShopGo

There are many other services like this, not only limited to HopShopGo but I have used their services (and a few others) before for non-Lego related purchases and am pretty happy with their service and shipping rates.

In other news... This year's Winter set!!! drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif

10245 Santa’s Workshop (open if you want this for Christmas! wink.gif )

This post has been edited by Lego_Jason: Aug 9 2014, 03:17 PM
Lego_Jason
post Aug 9 2014, 05:15 PM

QUOTE(joker98 @ Aug 9 2014, 04:17 PM)
Woo hoo....my bird arrived.

[attachmentid=4087170]
Nice!! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

The box look to be in very good condition! Just like new! thumbup.gif
Lego_Jason
post Aug 11 2014, 03:17 PM

QUOTE(littleprawn @ Aug 10 2014, 01:20 AM)
ek, i already give u warning~
tis is the warning sign -->  drool.gif
lol! So subtle I didn't get the warning leh... tongue.gif

QUOTE(hiroka88 @ Aug 11 2014, 02:51 AM)
Need help guys
I just builded up lego technic 42030 Volvo loader. But I missed the step of Connect the motor (first few page of the menu book) because that time I dont have battery.

But now already finished build up this monster but the motor/remote control totally no response.

Any help?

Tqvm
Perhaps if you can post some photos of how you connect the PF components together the experts here can help to narrow down the problem?

While waiting for more information from you my first instinct is to check the basics, have you set the same channels on the receiver and remote?

Attached ImageAttached Image

QUOTE(anak kenyalang @ Aug 11 2014, 11:56 AM)
Hello all. So basically I'm new to this hobby, but I've been collecting figures (Hot Toys) and Gundam for some years already. And I think its time for me to start collecting Lego as well, as I never play Lego when I was a child (damn poor. Haha)

So long story short, I'm very keen to purchase any ship Lego. I have 3 things in mind: Queen Anne's Revenge, Black Pearl and Metalbeard ship. I saw Queen Anne's Revenge at Amcorp, damage is 1600. Is it worthy to get it with that price? Any other good place to get Lego beside Amcorp Mall? Thanks in advance. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Hello and welcome. smile.gif

If you like ships then you should also throw 10210 Imperial Flagship into the mix. wink.gif

It is technically not a pirate ship (this is the good guys) but they all belong to the Lego Pirate sub-theme.

Imperial Flagship will be the biggest of them all, Metalbeard's Sea Cow is probably taller but I don't own it so I can't tell for sure.

If you are a big fan of Pirates of the Caribbean (POTC) then perhaps it may be worth spending so much of Queen Anne's Revenge. With discontinued sets it is definitely not going to be a value-for-money purchase, it really boils down to how badly you want it. I highly doubt Lego will reproduce any of the POTC ships ever again so if it is something you want then you have to bite the bullet...

As for price references and sourcing for your Lego, besides the usual eBay, Mudah etc. One of the best sites we AFOLs always go to is BrickLink

I took the liberty of checking the prices of Queen Anne's Revenge for you on BrickLink, you can see it HERE

Oh and finally, if you are not crazy over POTC or any of their ships and is happy with any pirate ship then may I suggest you wait a few more months? Strong rumour is a new pirate ship will be released by end of the year... wink.gif

Hope this helps! smile.gif

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Aug 11 2014, 01:51 PM)
Good news everyone! Brothers Brick reported that Exo suit will not have only 1 production run. So those still did not have one or going to buy one, don't worry.
Ah! That's very good news indeed! rclxms.gif

Very upset with Lego for not making a statement sooner and cause widespread panic among their fans... vmad.gif

This post has been edited by Lego_Jason: Aug 11 2014, 03:21 PM
Lego_Jason
post Aug 11 2014, 04:42 PM

Hi guys,

I need some help from the more internet savvy peeps here... It is off topic but related to LYN so I put in spoiler below. Anyone who can help is greatly appreciated! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

ps. I wrote to LYN admin and he told me to click "Advance" and proceed to the page... Isn't that risky? hmm.gif

Lego_Jason
post Aug 11 2014, 05:03 PM

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Aug 11 2014, 04:44 PM)
It could probably be an ad being served.

Try any of the available ad-blocking software or plugins.  Adblock Plus for Chrome is my choice.  Although LYN needs to make some money from ads, but if it's jeopardizing your security, I think it's OK to block the ad for the time being.

Hope that works.

I saw the error you posted and it seems it's due to thereelbits.com.

It could be that their site is infected and somehow their ads are showing or you are linking to their page somehow, via iframe or maybe a picture.
QUOTE(Bigfoot-X @ Aug 11 2014, 05:00 PM)
Cool bro. You have a build diary too!

This is mine - but for my Modulars.

I've receive warning messages like this before - just tried on mobile Chrome. Seems to work fine.
Now waiting for the UCS Tumbler link tongue.gif thumbup.gif
Thanks guys. Installed Adblock but still getting the same message. Maybe it is really a malware and not an ad? hmm.gif

lol! I also hope to be able to setup a UCS Tumbler link... Fingers crossed!
Lego_Jason
post Aug 11 2014, 05:42 PM

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Aug 11 2014, 05:05 PM)
I've got my own UCS Tumbler link  tongue.gif (see sig).

But of course, if you wanna organize a larger bulk to reduce costs, it'll be to everyone's advantage.
Wow! So fast! Hahaha! rclxms.gif

Good thing you mentioned it, if not it may have gone unnoticed... C'mon guys, if you want UCS Tumbler fast you know who to look for now! brows.gif

Very professionally setup page, good dose of humour and even have its own FAQ! thumbup.gif notworthy.gif

QUOTE(jolene30 @ Aug 11 2014, 05:37 PM)
hey im looking for harry potter lego set anyone has any details on it?
Summoning bro BT!!

QUOTE(mryellow19 @ Aug 11 2014, 05:35 PM)
Figured out the problem to you accessing your sales thread. It appears that your image for Simpsons CMF is taken from "thereelbits. com" and Google is thinking that there is malware on that website (I didn't check and confirm though). I would suggest you to click "Advance" for now then remove that picture and replace it with another from perhaps Lego site. Then you shouldn't be getting anymore prompt from Google.
QUOTE(cfyong2020 @ Aug 11 2014, 05:38 PM)
is the image u source from...not your tread problem...you try right click on your image and open image link you will understand
Thank you so much for solving my mystery!! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Lego_Jason
post Aug 12 2014, 05:03 PM

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Aug 12 2014, 12:07 AM)
Now both Ideas sets are out of stock in Europe.

[attachmentid=4090297]

Word on the street is saying that brick and mortar stores (pardon the pun) still have stock.  I think Lego underestimated the online shopping crowd.  Also, Brickpicker is showing many scalpers sitting on upwards of 10 sets, even up to 45!

I hope Lego can somehow slot in more production of this set soon.  It's not gonna be easy, seeing as production for the holiday season should be right about now.

Frankfurt Lego store is celebrating 5 year anniversary end of August.  Free Lego Store set for purchases above €125.  Anyone willing to sponsor my trip there?  brows.gif [attachmentid=4090307]
This is just crazy and Lego is solely responsible for encouraging this sort of activity. IMHO I think it is fine if a collector keeps a set and it becomes expensive once discontinued, there is speculative element in this and the collector is also taking a risk in terms of picking the right set to collect. But to just goreng the price like this is scandalous! vmad.gif

QUOTE(anak kenyalang @ Aug 12 2014, 09:05 AM)
Thanks everyone for the suggestion and replies. Yea, I am aware that QAR and BP production had stopped, hence the sky high price. Maybe I will go for Sea Cow and Imperial Flagship. Plus, RM1k+ for my first Lego is kinda high. Hell, this new hobby is more expensive than Gundam and Hot Toys. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

I am generally more interested in classical ship theme. POTC theme suits my taste, but my wallet doesn't agree with it (and so does my wife). I will get Seacow or Imperical instead.

Thanks again everyone. :thumb:
Sorry to mention Imperial Flagship is also discontinued. tongue.gif

If you just like the classic looking ships then wait for the new one. icon_rolleyes.gif Ships being ships they tend to look pretty much the same release after re-releases...

QUOTE(Bigfoot-X @ Aug 12 2014, 09:34 AM)
I'm on mobile version - missed out on everyone's signatures!
I've semi-retired my Hot Toys collecting (future releases). I'm going to LEGO and smaller-scale action figures now. OMG.  icon_question.gif
I read that as saving up for a big purchase. tongue.gif

QUOTE(hiroka88 @ Aug 12 2014, 10:39 AM)
thank you for reply..
problem solved.. just a small stupid problem..
the main motor i just put 3 batteries instead of 6 batteries slot there..
hehehe i think im not first one here because previously saw someone shared before
Ah! Glad you solved it, it is always the little things that we missed after spending so many hours building it. laugh.gif

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Aug 12 2014, 01:53 PM)
There will be a new pirate ship coming out next year I think.  Previously there was a name the ship contest.

The winning name was "The Brick Bounty".  Not the best of names, in my opinion.
I didn't like that name either. shakehead.gif

Lego_Jason
post Aug 12 2014, 05:07 PM

QUOTE(501-Elite @ Aug 12 2014, 02:20 PM)
i just manage to put in my order  rclxm9.gif
Same dilemma , should i sell off or keep the extra  hmm.gif 

[attachmentid=4091137]
QUOTE(yhlee12 @ Aug 12 2014, 02:26 PM)
amazon available again? great news for those who haven't get  rclxms.gif
works out to be less than 210 a box... much better than a lot of reseller price.. even cheaper than price i'm getting via hopshopgo  biggrin.gif
That's very cheap!! drool.gif rclxms.gif Thanks for sharing! rclxms.gif

QUOTE(cfyong2020 @ Aug 12 2014, 02:36 PM)
i wondering we buy lego from amazon will the custom hold or lego?
Customs will hold if the value of your parcel (Lego + shipping cost) is > RM500. That's the general guideline. smile.gif
Lego_Jason
post Aug 12 2014, 05:10 PM

In other news, was down with high fever last night and only felt strong enough this morning to open my boxes.

Ladies and gentlemen, presenting the largest Lego Technic sets of 2013 and 2014:

Lego_Jason
post Aug 12 2014, 07:50 PM

QUOTE(Bigfoot-X @ Aug 12 2014, 06:14 PM)
Unfortunately, I don't think that's the case. Placed a pre-order for some Batman figures from DC Collectibles at RM 100/each. They come in sets of 4. Already pre-ordered Series 2 and 3rd Series coming out Q1 next year. *gulp*
If that was a wall of UCS Tumblers, I'd cry man-tears. REALLY.  tongue.gif

Why is there a Barbarian up there?
lol! I don't want to find out what are those Batman Figures... nanti kena poison. tongue.gif

Believe or not, the Barbarian is just a cardboard cut-out figure (I think it is CMF Series 11) and was used as part of the packing material! doh.gif
Lego_Jason
post Aug 15 2014, 09:16 AM

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Aug 13 2014, 07:17 PM)
Bila boleh collect ?  smile.gif
I'm recovering now, hopefully can meet up with you this weekend ok? Will call you. wink.gif

QUOTE(vey99 @ Aug 14 2014, 10:26 AM)
I just realise this set is very big and hard to built (for me)
i never build technic b4, feeling not confident... but i kinda want it also ...
For a MOC master like yourself this is not a difficult challenge, you just have to watch the pin positions because that's usually where one can go wrong and it is physically painful to go backwards with Technic.

One thing I can assure you is your thumb(s) will be very sore mid-way through the build. laugh.gif But you will be very happy in the end. rclxms.gif tongue.gif

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0505sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:51 PM