Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread [V3], Motion & Emotion

hongjoo
post Aug 8 2014, 02:15 AM

29 posts

Second time that my 408T died on me. First time was 5 months back when mileage was 8K. Currently happened at 18K.

No warning signs or whatsoever. Car was at Neutral and then suddenly the rpm kept fluctuating between 500-800, car was vibrating and at this point of time, engine was not responsive (not moving even when i stepped the accelerator). Engine died 20 seconds later.

Moved my car to the side of the road and tried to start the car again but it couldn't start. After few tries it started up, but something was wrong with the car as the car kept jerking whenever i step on the accelerator.

Called careline to tow back to glenmarie. Already 2nd time so nothing special to me. Sigh..

After the first time having this problem, SC rectified problem by replacing fuel pump. Now it happened again.

hongjoo
post Aug 10 2014, 10:48 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(hongjoo @ Aug 8 2014, 02:15 AM)
Second time that my 408T died on me. First time was 5 months back when mileage was 8K. Currently happened at 18K.

No warning signs or whatsoever. Car was at Neutral and then suddenly the rpm kept fluctuating between 500-800, car was vibrating and at this point of time, engine was not responsive (not moving even when i stepped the accelerator). Engine died 20 seconds later.

Moved my car to the side of the road and tried to start the car again but it couldn't start. After few tries it started up, but something was wrong with the car as the car kept jerking whenever i step on the accelerator.

Called careline to tow back to glenmarie. Already 2nd time so nothing special to me. Sigh..

After the first time having this problem, SC rectified problem by replacing fuel pump. Now it happened again.
Service center diagnosed the cause of the problem saying that there is a problem with the drive shaft.

hongjoo
post Aug 12 2014, 12:06 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Aug 11 2014, 10:33 AM)
Bro,just to give a basic insight on your problem.

ECU is the heart and soul of engine operation. It is responsible for the entire engine operation from startup to final shut down. The engine will run, based on driver's command and feedback from various sensors at the engine and gearbox, which continually interact with ECU.

Any failure of component or sensor can cause ECU to shut down the engine. It can prevent further engine start or permit start after cooldown. On these high technology engines,there are numerous senores.

I am positive the drive shaft has nothing to do with your engine shut down!
I am also thinking likewise. What is your advise in dealing with the technicians in the SC? Well atleast they are still the technician. Who am I to say that these is not related to drive shaft?

However, after the incident. The car jerks upon acceleration. Drive shaft damaged?
hongjoo
post Aug 21 2014, 12:56 PM

29 posts

If you have noticed, I had lots of issues with my 408 Turbo from the past.
1. Fuel Pump
2. Fuel Tank
3. Fuel Tank seal
4. Turbo
5. High pressure pump
6. Drive shaft
7. Engine/turbo rattling

8. Last but not least. Losing power suddenly and breaking down.

I can pretty much confirm that i've gotten a lemon unit. I will NOT recommend peugeot to any of my friends and family.

Those with no problems with their car. You should be really grateful. I have been attended to by ALL the service advisors possible in Glenmarie Service Centre.

http://youtu.be/Ov3VNzkOO94

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

This post has been edited by hongjoo: Sep 3 2014, 03:24 AM
hongjoo
post Aug 21 2014, 01:20 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(mtbk3 @ Aug 21 2014, 01:11 PM)
May i know how long you been having the car?
About 9 months. But i've already been in service centre for over 6 times. My car was towed in 3 times.

This post has been edited by hongjoo: Aug 21 2014, 01:21 PM
hongjoo
post Aug 21 2014, 02:49 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(eusened @ Aug 21 2014, 02:27 PM)
Bro, I understand your frustration on your 408. I know there is no word we can offer to comfort you.
Maybe you could write to Peugeot France and see what will happen.

Else, sell it, lose some and get a new car.
Take care bro.
Thanks for the advice bro smile.gif
I will do my best to make sure the management and careline is well aware of my case. I believe it is time for them to step up.
hongjoo
post Sep 3 2014, 03:31 AM

29 posts

Hi, can anyone compare the sound from my engine to your 408 turbo?

I am always hearing the rattling metal sound whenever I rev my engine. You can see the video below:
Youtube Link

This post has been edited by hongjoo: Sep 3 2014, 03:33 AM
hongjoo
post Sep 3 2014, 02:38 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(khaidzar @ Sep 3 2014, 01:36 PM)
i think that one problem cannot be avoided ley coz mine also face the same issue last time i did tell them and u know hwat they did or not just press and fix a little bit to the metal and the rattling sound gone but it only work for a few days or hours then the rattling sound come out again...btw i did complaint so  many time bout that until i give up
Thanks for letting me know. I am trying to find out if the other 408 T is facing this problem.
hongjoo
post Sep 4 2014, 10:24 AM

29 posts

[quote=hongjoo,Sep 3 2014, 03:31 AM]
Hi, can anyone compare the sound from my engine to your 408 turbo?

I am always hearing the rattling metal sound whenever I rev my engine. You can see the video below:
Youtube Link

Other 408T users, please let me know if you are hearing this noise or not
hongjoo
post Sep 8 2014, 11:20 PM

29 posts

I cannot describe how disappointed and disgusted I am towards Peugeot's after sales service. My car broke down on 3 separate occasions:

1st time they say fuel pump (claimed warranty)
2nd time they say fuel seal/high pressure pump (claimed warranty)
3rd time they say engine harness (electronics) (claiming warranty)

My car has been in the service center for 3 WEEKS now, it it just SITTING THERE and PENDING APPROVAL for warranty replacement. Even worst, what I found out today from calling the service advisor is that they REJECTED the warranty claim.

WHAT. THE. HECK.

They diagnosed the problem to the electronics (harness) and yet they are not approving a warranty claim. This is going beyond what I can comprehend. My patience has ran out. Oh god.. I thought Peugeot was a good brand. I was so so so so wrong.

P.S. My car is due to celebrate the 1st birthday in 2 months notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by hongjoo: Sep 8 2014, 11:21 PM
hongjoo
post Sep 14 2014, 10:54 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(sam2park @ Sep 13 2014, 05:56 PM)
Hi..sifu pls help me..im on way 2 cameron..suddenly my car lost power with no sign of faulty n then stop on the spot..any suggestion? I try start it back but after put to D, it jerk hardly n then stop again..It happen 4 times..luckily  safely arrive 2 at cameron..
It might be more serious that it is. I had the same problem, and now they say it is related to engine harness (electronics and wiring). My car has been in the service center for 3 weeks now. Sudden lost of power, pretty similar to mine
hongjoo
post Nov 13 2014, 10:58 PM

29 posts

Reverse sensors failed, no longer beeping and the dashboard isn't showing anything.

0.0367sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:14 PM