Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread [V3], Motion & Emotion

enochtan3668
post Jul 9 2014, 07:41 AM

172 posts

Back to reading this thread again after missing a few weeks. Honestly I pening reading your problems but I still want to get the car. Really need to rely on you guys as my life support if I face similar issues later.
enochtan3668
post Jul 9 2014, 02:30 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Jul 9 2014, 10:29 AM)
stock clearance bro.

new 408 is launching 2nd half 2014 from China and mana tahu it may reach Malaysia shortly after
the new 408 is armed with more space and tech. The wheelbase has grown by 20 mm to make 2,730 mm, the longest in the segment

In the 308, the new underpinnings play a key role in the considerable weight reduction, by an average of 140 kg compared to the outgoing hatch. This should translate to a lighter 408 as well.

Peugeot may even carried over the 308′s modern, minimalist dashboard in this new 408

Under the hood is a direct-injection 1.6 THP turbocharged engine with Stop & Start technology. Dongfeng Peugeot’s move to push the new 408 upmarket means that the sedan will have full-LED headlamps, a “City Park” system and blind spot sensors, among other kit.

But the rear look,  doh.gif
I think the current model looks better, some more new model price sure > RM110k?
enochtan3668
post Jul 9 2014, 07:19 PM

172 posts

That's why need to come back to this thread. Ok after I cleared my housing loan application, will go book at Nasim. Otherwise wont come back to post anymore, no car no talk, end up talk big only blush.gif
enochtan3668
post Jul 10 2014, 09:19 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Jul 10 2014, 02:33 PM)
That bad for you?

new 408 face look like new 308, see
[attachmentid=4048651]

[attachmentid=4048636][attachmentid=4048652]
and if the interior looks like new 308?

[attachmentid=4048637]

NOT NICE meh?

compare to old...
For exterior, I prefer current model, interior China model looks better. Somehow I like the current logo badge better, it looks more prominent.
enochtan3668
post Jul 10 2014, 09:24 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(vengga85 @ Jul 10 2014, 03:13 PM)
guys i need some urgent help... im gona book my 408 this weekend and i cant seem to choose between the Aster Grey and Borassque Blue... anyone got pics for me to see and compare?

Tried googling but its very vague....
Bro, the colour looks vague online, gotta see the real thing. Nasim Desa Pandan has the blue in showroom but you gotta enquire cause its upstairs. Between Aster Grey, I will go for Black cause to my eyes the diff is not visible and very confusing.
enochtan3668
post Jul 10 2014, 10:49 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(vknight @ Jul 10 2014, 07:49 PM)
HI Vengga
The difference between S and. TE is leather seats and body kit.
Difference between TE and Griffe is that for Griffe you get spec leather seats.
Leather Gear Knob
Leather hand brake
Colours touchscreen multimedia system
Built in navi
Reverse camera
18 inch alloy wheels
Smoked headlamp
Black pack grille
Black pack side mirrors
Take your time vengga, cause it sounds like you have not done enough comparison or perhaps your consideration is not in the features?
Hey, do you think if we book together through same SA, can squeeze some more juice or freebies? icon_idea.gif
enochtan3668
post Jul 11 2014, 07:55 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(vknight @ Jul 11 2014, 12:41 AM)
Hi Tan

You are planning to buy also?  I am a bit confused.  Not sure want to commit rm1300 per month.  My first car smile.gif. Been using my wife's car all.this while.  Feeling guilty spending so much smile.gif
nod.gif will trade in MyV (still on loan) and keep 9-year old well-behaved Vios. Initially thought to replace Vios because servicing $ goes up but in the last half year it has been behaving very well, colleagues also commented. Don't want to spend too much also, so it makes sense to trade in the car that is still servicing loan.

BTW, I am going for NA, putting family comfort first. 10-15 years ago would have taken turbo no doubt but now mid-life already, besides I am not really a car person, at least not yet, this thread has been slowly poisoning me icon_question.gif laugh.gif But not that old lah, $50 still got change laugh.gif
enochtan3668
post Jul 11 2014, 02:14 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jul 11 2014, 10:16 AM)
Here's more poison.

Presently there is no car to below 110K to match handling/power/comfort/spec to the THP.  Difference between NA & THP is less than 15K. I did a rough costing some time back. It would cost around 70K to configure NA to THP and all the extras! But they are giving it to you for just additional 15K.

You have a chance to own and experience an advanced technology for practically pittance! This engine has won 'Europe Engine of the year award' again! Since you are slowly getting to be car person,you will regret,sometime in the future, for not getting the THP for so little!
Wah... you are pulling the heart string very hard tongue.gif Step by step, I am kinda slow guy, anyways can still upgrade in future definitely more geng but of course price also fly already.
enochtan3668
post Jul 11 2014, 02:17 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(vknight @ Jul 11 2014, 10:09 AM)
All the best Vengga. I am gonna look at Chevy Cruze tomorrow and then make the final decission smile.gif My heart now is with 408 smile.gif
Be careful with that heart string, once pull may not let go. If you decide against Pug, make sure you don't come back here again, there are many poison ivy here laugh.gif Better be sure, there are more and more Pugs on the road, reminds you all the time what you are missing brows.gif
enochtan3668
post Jul 12 2014, 12:05 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jul 11 2014, 04:41 PM)
Poor eye sight,you wanna drive slow mah! Slow guys want NA. So many poor sight,so NA on demand!

Your case how? Poor eye sight or uncle? tongue.gif

Please la,don;t say those who bought NA got poor taste. NA also very good mah! biggrin.gif Initially I also go for NA,but after test drive kena poison,druged kau kau by turbo!
Wah lau you all good bros ah? Not fair lah say like that, this is Pug 408 thread, not just 408t. Many bros buy NA also what! Hmph! cry.gif

This post has been edited by enochtan3668: Jul 12 2014, 12:07 AM
enochtan3668
post Jul 12 2014, 11:08 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jul 12 2014, 10:19 AM)
That's why I constantly tell prospective buyers to get the THP. New buyers will not realize how good the THP is and for so little extra. Not saying the NA is bad,in fact I think it is damn good value. But for so little extra, the THP offers hell of a lot more. Further more,over the 2 years since introduction,it's proved it self to be reliable! Better reliability then more expensive contis!

Now the offer is even lower than NA launch price! This is a fantastic opportunity for new buyers to get a truly great car. I'll even say this opportunity may not come by again, once the stock clearance is over. 

Enough of my rambling....beginning to sound like an SA...hehehe!
Understood, just pulling your legs guys icon_rolleyes.gif
enochtan3668
post Jul 13 2014, 09:28 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(vknight @ Jul 12 2014, 11:32 PM)
This guy gave me the best price so far 0104039326 Faizal. Just tell vela gave the number.
Wah looks like all Nasim SA are well-trained. thumbup.gif Mine at Desa Pandan also very pleasant but yet to be seen how much he will deliver.
enochtan3668
post Jul 14 2014, 01:20 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(fesick @ Jul 14 2014, 01:09 PM)
same  tongue.gif , booked aster grey
Ok, ok I am persuaded - will test drive THP until I am sure I still want NA. Thanks for all the fabulous sharing.
enochtan3668
post Jul 15 2014, 10:13 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(cwkhang @ Jul 14 2014, 04:46 PM)
Ordered on Jun 26, Received on Jul 8.
While the right bulb is easy but I was struggling to change the left bulb.
Although succeed but my thumb is so painful due to the very limited space. I wonder how other owners did it.
Don't think I want to do it again...
This is what fails me, I never tinker with my car, always pay to get it done. Thats why never enjoy the car other than driving and broke too!
enochtan3668
post Jul 16 2014, 07:28 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(T7475 @ Jul 16 2014, 02:08 AM)
Wanna share...quoted by allianz and tune insurance for my 2013 408 turbo for rm109,000.00. Premium is rm3100.00 *excluding NCD discount and rm330 windscreen premium for rm2200 damage*.... for 2013 NA, rm90,000.00 suggested value.
I get quote RM465 premium for RM3k+ windscreen replacement

This post has been edited by enochtan3668: Jul 16 2014, 07:35 AM
enochtan3668
post Jul 16 2014, 08:07 AM

172 posts

Is there a difference between solar film and security film? I mean if you get solar control, does it take care of security control as well? Reason I asked is based on Raytech's website, they have separate product series with diff thickness. Noticed solar control are all less thick (1.5-2 mil) than security control (recommended 4-6 mil).

Also anybody use blue tint for blue body?

This post has been edited by enochtan3668: Jul 16 2014, 08:07 AM
enochtan3668
post Jul 17 2014, 07:36 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jul 16 2014, 09:37 AM)
There are a number of tint products in the market now. They are different and price varies. Price also varies by the level of tint and UV protection and numbers of years grantee. There are some with 10 years grantee.

It is best to get a tint with solar+security+UV protection. Bear inmind it must be JPJ approved. I'm sure you would have seen tints so dark that you can't see the passengers,I doubt if these are JPJ approved.

As Pugs air-con is not very strong, a good tint does help. I'm using blue tint as my car is blue. It's goes very well.  thumbup.gif
Thanks for the advice. I am now looking at Raytech Centurion and 3M Nano both with highest TSER. Mind sharing which blue tint you use?
enochtan3668
post Jul 17 2014, 01:36 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Jul 17 2014, 11:38 AM)
yup me too, i reported this to SC and they did some sort of reset, then it was gone but then it came back after a while. so each service i made the same complain and all they can do is that reset, done 40,000 km service so far with CSL branch, but will go Geoauto for 50k km, i will get their second opinion in a month or two from now when i go there
I experienced the same with MyV. So bro, did you have to book complaint and service appointment simultaneously?
enochtan3668
post Jul 21 2014, 07:26 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(vknight @ Jul 20 2014, 09:48 PM)
I tested Cruze and I was told that though the handling ia good, at high speed have to be careful of the steering as it can oversteer.  Is the thp must more stable?

Would appreciate your kind reply sharing your experience comparing cruze and 408.
vknight, best is you test drive it yourself but based on most owners' sharing, it's at the top range for C segment in terms of handling, only contender is perhaps the Focus.

This post has been edited by enochtan3668: Jul 21 2014, 07:27 AM
enochtan3668
post Jul 21 2014, 12:58 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(vengga85 @ Jul 21 2014, 09:56 AM)
guys any recommendations in terms of tinting company and promos?

I see so many tinting offers on Groupon... is it worth it? below is an example of the 'specs'  (price for 6mm = RM189):

Front and rear screens

Film: security film
Colour: titanium black, titanium green, or titanium blue
Visible light transmitted: 70%
UV rays rejected: 99%
Infrared heat rejected: 70%
Thickness: 2mil
4 side windows

Film: security film
Colour: titanium black, titanium green, or titanium blue
Visible light transmitted: 50%
UV rays rejected: 99%
Infrared heat rejected: 70% (4mil option) / 80% (6mil option)
Thickness: 4mil / 6mil
General

7-year warranty
Compatible with SmartTAGs and GPS devices
JPJ compliant

The shop name is Cool Master in USJ Taipan... they din mention anything about the brand of the tint...
Dunno, I am confused myself. Been reading Raytec, 3M and Ecotint. Some say Huper Optik is good. One thing is for sure, warranty is important and metallic tint may interfere with electronic transmission eg mobile phone but most important of all is skill of the installer. Check out Raytech website - a lot of good advice given.

0.8412sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:45 PM