Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread [V3], Motion & Emotion

St.Christopher
post Dec 11 2014, 01:41 AM

QUOTE(weicw_mogm @ Nov 6 2014, 07:57 AM)
Hi, yes, kindly share with me your SA.
Hi I have just registered for this forum after having followed it for about 3 weeks and reading many of your threads from 2012 till today.
Your passion and enthusiasm is defintely infectious and now I am very keen on purchasing the 408. It will be my continental ( I dont suppose a Ford Laser qualifies haha).
I am not an motor enthusiast and will admit to knowing close to nothing when it comes to cars. Actually most of my knowledge gathered in this forum!!!
Few questions:
- Is the 408T the better option or NA 2.0 if I drive mainly within PJ/KL and only do the occasional road trip once or twice a year?
- There is a year end offer now- 408T L RM101,292 nett ( RM19,000 cash rebate) at Peugeot TTDI. Is this a good deal? Should I get it given it is the year endor should I risk waiting for Jan 15 in hope that there might be a CNY offer?

Hope for your experienced inputs. Thanks in advance,
St.Christopher
post Dec 11 2014, 01:43 AM

Hi I have just registered for this forum after having followed it for about 3 weeks and reading many of your threads from 2012 till today.
Your passion and enthusiasm is defintely infectious and now I am very keen on purchasing the 408. It will be my continental ( I dont suppose a Ford Laser qualifies haha).
I am not an motor enthusiast and will admit to knowing close to nothing when it comes to cars. Actually most of my knowledge gathered in this forum!!!
Few questions:
- Is the 408T the better option or NA 2.0 if I drive mainly within PJ/KL and only do the occasional road trip once or twice a year?
- There is a year end offer now- 408T L RM101,292 nett ( RM19,000 cash rebate) at Peugeot TTDI. Is this a good deal? Should I get it given it is the year endor should I risk waiting for Jan 15 in hope that there might be a CNY offer?

Hope for your experienced inputs. Thanks in advance,
St.Christopher
post Dec 11 2014, 11:32 AM

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Dec 11 2014, 08:29 AM)
408T has a sportier tuned, while NA is more on comfort.
However, we should talk more about their safety features and other spec.
408T has more safety features and better spec than the NA
- Turbo
- 6 speed
- Leather seat
- 6 air bags
- ESP
- others

With the minimum price different, the 408T with extra safety features is highly recommended.
Happy hunting!
Thanks bro. You, together with SkyJack and Lowpro were some of the people here whose knowledge and passion, impressed and convinced me. Appreciate your response.
With your input, I am now 95% steered towards 408T.
Hope for a couple more pointers from you bro...
1) In your opinion, is it worthwhile to get with this current year-end promotion? The 408T leather is going for Rm120,292.00 with overtrade & rebate of Rm19,000, taking it down to RM101,292. Or should I wait for next year and hope for CNY offers? I suppose the CNY promo will still be 2014 manufactured..so does it make a diff in resale value next time?
2) The SA in TTDI said there will not be any freebies. But I read in an earlier thread by JeffWong, he had smarttag, full tank, mat and such...I assume those are freebies thrown in by SA and also he mentioned tinting ( this I do not know if it is free) all done by his SA from Glenmarie before he collected the car. Should there be such differences? Should I get the car from Glenmarie as he suggested then? His reasons seems to make sense.
Sorry bro, for my naive and basic questions...am really a goondu when it comes to these things.
Hope for your further inputs.
Thanks once again. Cheers

St.Christopher
post Dec 11 2014, 04:25 PM

Bros jfcheong, Skyjack, lowpro and vknight

Thanks guys. You have been most helpful. Will take all your good advice and put to good use.

Have a great day and God Bless. Cheers!
St.Christopher
post Dec 24 2014, 04:27 PM

Guys..took the plunge, booked an Aster Grey 408T leather at Glenmarie. Now waiting for loan approval.
Have a question, is it necessary to get tint/security film...or perhaps useful is a better word? The one SA recommended is Ray-Tech which he can offer with a discount. Should I or is there a preferred one that you guys can recommend?
Really looking forward!!!
And thanks for all your advice and inputs guys, without which it woudl not have been easy for me.
And Merry Christmas and a Glorious 2015!!
St.Christopher
post Dec 24 2014, 04:28 PM

...will update all once loan approved and car collected.
St.Christopher
post Dec 24 2014, 05:03 PM

QUOTE(djboycalvin @ Dec 24 2014, 04:43 PM)
you may look for other if offer cheaper price ...
last time i get my lion together with raytech also ..
cause dont want to spend time go other place do it ..
depend on yourself la ..
anyway congratz!!  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
\
Thanks djboycalvin! Is your raytech serving its purpose well?
St.Christopher
post Dec 24 2014, 05:53 PM

QUOTE(djboycalvin @ Dec 24 2014, 05:07 PM)
ya .. but mine abit difficult to scan smart tag ..
maybe reject of infrared (maybe ...  hmm.gif  )
need to put the smart tag stick with the wind screen then only can scan ..
anyway you can Q&A first ...
some cut small hole for the smart tag ..
Will ask around first thanks once again! Cheers
St.Christopher
post Dec 26 2014, 07:42 PM

Once again thanks lion bros! Appreciate you taking time to advice.
I will consider doing the tint/security film separately.
Take care guys.
St.Christopher
post Jan 1 2015, 09:56 PM

Hi Bro Lions!
A Roaring 2015 everyone! May this year be a glorious one for all.
As of last night 8:30pm I am a proud owner of an Aster Grey 408 1.6T.
I am already enjoying it.
I want to specifically say thanks to bros jfcheong, Skyjack, lowpro and vknight, padsya, jeffwong for generously sharing your passion, knowledge and advice, that led me down this road!
So Happy!
St.Christopher
post Jan 2 2015, 11:43 PM

Thanks Guys. Have a great weekend!
St.Christopher
post Jan 3 2015, 11:20 PM

QUOTE(chrisauyong @ Jan 3 2015, 08:37 PM)
Hi All,
Getting my Pug next week...
Super excited...
Can totally understand how you feel bro. Just got mine on New Year's Eve.
The car drives like a song! No regrets whatsoever.
In fact last few days, I keep looking for excuse and convince my wife to go somewhere so I can drive the car haha.
St.Christopher
post Jan 4 2015, 11:31 PM

QUOTE(chrisauyong @ Jan 4 2015, 02:26 PM)
Haha rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
I think I will doing it too...
But 1st need to do Full Body Coating (actually I owed a Car Detailing Shop at Kota Damansara, https://www.facebook.com/MaximusAutoCarCare) and also security tinting.

To all, my pug brothers... if anyone wanna do any detailing to make their car bling bling, do be in contact with me.
Noted bro. Wasted..a little too late as I did my tinting already, otherwise would have looked you up. Will do that next time for body work.
Cheers
St.Christopher
post Jan 10 2015, 08:56 PM

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jan 10 2015, 06:45 PM)
I've poking around and found this at Caltex website. Unlike Bolehland, law suites are heavy in the US and I'm sure no Co. will make such claims without facts and substantial backing.

All major oil companies say that their fuel is special. Why should I buy Caltex fuel?

Consider this, the United States has some of the world's toughest emission and pollution regulations. When US auto manufacturers design and build new engines and emissions control systems, they know they must prove to the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) that the car can go a long way and still operate with very low emissions. To help their new engines pass the tough EPA 50,000 and 100,000 mile emission system durability tests, all three major US auto manufacturers use only Caltex with Techron® despite having to purchase the fuel in faraway Kentucky and spend to transport it all the way to the Detroit area (the product is not marketed anywhere near Michigan). All the trouble they go through definitely translates to something.

I will try out Caltex RON 97 and report back!
Hi Skyjack,
Curious, is Caltex RON95 not good enough, even with Techron?
Cheers
St.Christopher
post Jan 11 2015, 03:32 PM

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jan 10 2015, 10:16 PM)
They claim Techron on all Caltex fuel!It should be good enough. Since techron is on RON 95 too, you probably wondering why I am choosing to switch to RON 97. I do find slight performance improvement with RON97 and  the price is now $2.11c.  All this while have been paying $2.30c for RON 95. So now can afford Premium  fuel for my Lion! tongue.gif Just wanna treat my Lion to better quality fuel! tongue.gif

Why should I choose Caltex™ with Techron® over lower quality fuels?

Techron®, the special ingredient in all Caltex petrol, makes them unbeatable at keeping vital engine parts clean, helping your car perform at its best. Lower quality fuels can leave harmful deposits in your car's engine. As these deposits accumulate over time, your car may begin to hesitate and stumble during acceleration, knock or lose power. Caltex fuels with the Techron® additive are unbeatable at cleaning up and avoiding deposits. There's no better way for you to protect and maintain your engine's performance than by using Caltex with Techron®.

Here's more info I found on Cheveron website. Techron appears to be Cheveron's patent.

Techron's formulation is special because it contains polyetheramines. With over 30 years of robust research and development, Techron's unique polyetheramine formulations have been scientifically proven to prevent grimy deposits. The result is a cleaner engine, for maximum performance and lower emissions - proof that Techron works.
Gotcha Skyjack.
Thanks. I may do the same then. Treat my new lion to good food from the start!
So far it has been a dream to drive the car. Cheers
St.Christopher
post Apr 17 2015, 08:51 PM

Hi Guys
Do most of you drive on sports mode since the car is sports tuned?
And if so, does it increase fuel consumption? Reason I ask is that it somehow does not seem to increase consumption in my case. It maybe that mine is still high - 12.1l/100KM - since I only got my car late December and have clocked <4000KM. I remember reading that in this thread that it will be more fuel efficient after 10000KM.
Hope to hear your views and own experience.
Thanks Guys.

St.Christopher
post Apr 18 2015, 02:22 PM

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Apr 17 2015, 09:30 AM)
As of Feb 2015, they have implemented service by appointment. They may still entertain you, but you might have to wait longer!

Tell no: 03 79578661
As always thanks Skyjack! I am thoroughly enjoying it, no regrets, as you advised in December.
Take care

0.0419sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:27 PM