144 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Bottom

Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread [V3], Motion & Emotion

khaidzar
post Aug 28 2014, 08:08 AM

QUOTE(vengga85 @ Aug 27 2014, 11:26 AM)
i would just take a damp cloth and wipe sendiri... like u said dont use water  sweat.gif
u different maaa i super lazy hahaha so go carwash ask them better hahaha unless go no place can do such thing la kan hahaha
khaidzar
post Aug 28 2014, 08:08 AM

QUOTE(OrangBiasa @ Aug 27 2014, 12:10 PM)
Heng Tatt Auto at Bandar Mahkota Cheras. It's a tyre shop actually  biggrin.gif
aiyo mahkota cheras haaa sweat.gif if jb then still ok lar hahaha
SKYjack
post Aug 28 2014, 09:46 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(enochtan3668 @ Aug 28 2014, 07:37 AM)
Based on the spy shots, I still prefer the current 408 facelift, it's more feline and to me more coy  brows.gif
Ya most of us agree the facelift 408 has lost it's French DNA. This car was actually designed for China market, so not surprised with Dongfeng's hand in it!
SKYjack
post Aug 28 2014, 10:15 AM

367 posts

I write this for the benefit of bors having fluctuating coolant temperature. There are certain issues that you should be aware. This is not one of those old engines where dancing temp.as long as it does not hit the red mark is fine.Temp fluctuation on these modern high technology engines has several consequence.

Coolant temperature for optimum engine operation is 90 dee. After start the engine gets up to this temp. as fast as possible and maintains this temp. steady through out it operation. Fluctuations of temp. during engine normal operation is abnormal. If anyone says as long as the temp. does not exceed 90 deg. it's normal or it's ok, is talking absolute nonsense. I will explain why!

During engine operation, tremendous heat is generated internally. Temp. indication provides an excellent monitoring parameter to the driver. The coolant sensor plays a crucial roll by continually delivering temp signals to the ECU which figures out if the engine is cold,warming up, normal temp. or overheat. Using these signals the ECU affects the operating strategy of the entire engine management system.There's a lot more signals that enter the ECU for engine management, it will be too long winded to discuss all. Let's keep it to coolant temperature sensor.

Many of the fuel, ignition, emissions and drivetrain functions handled by the ECU are affected by the engine's operating temperature. A different operating strategy is used when the engine is cold than when it is warm. This is done to improve cold driveability, idle quality and emissions. Cold/warm feedback controls the air/fuel mixture. The ECU may ignore the oxygen sensor rich/lean feedback signal until the coolant reaches a certain temperature. While the engine is cold, the ECU keep the fuel mixture rich to improve idle quality and cold driveability.

Therefore unsteady temp. signals can cause high fc and continued driving with this condition can lead to foul plugs. There's a host of other things that take place all based on signals from coolant temp. sensor, from cold/warm/overheat. Again it's too long to discuss all.

Don't take an unsteady temperature indication lightly!
khaidzar
post Aug 28 2014, 10:24 AM

eh guys did u all know any oil that can bring up ur car performance and it reduce build up carbon in ur engine.. coz i went to this shop and the guy told me that buy this oil can made ur car better and it also can reduce carbon build up in the engine. btw the colour of the oil is green seem like coolant..
vengga85
post Aug 28 2014, 10:25 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Aug 28 2014, 10:15 AM)
I write this for the benefit of bors having fluctuating coolant temperature. There are certain issues that you should be aware. This is not one of those old engines where dancing temp.as long as it does not hit the red mark is fine.Temp fluctuation on these modern high technology engines has several consequence.

Coolant temperature for optimum engine operation is 90 dee. After start the engine gets up to this temp. as fast as possible and maintains this temp. steady through out it operation. Fluctuations of temp. during engine normal operation is abnormal. If anyone says as long as the temp. does not exceed 90 deg. it's normal or it's ok, is talking absolute nonsense. I will explain why!

During engine operation, tremendous heat is generated internally. Temp. indication provides an excellent monitoring parameter to the driver. The coolant sensor plays a crucial roll by continually delivering temp signals to the ECU which figures out if the engine is cold,warming up, normal temp. or overheat. Using these signals the ECU affects the operating strategy of the entire engine management system.There's a lot more signals that enter the ECU for engine management, it will be too long winded to discuss all. Let's keep it to coolant temperature sensor.

Many of the fuel, ignition, emissions and drivetrain functions handled by the ECU are affected by the engine's operating temperature. A different operating strategy is used when the engine is cold than when it is warm. This is done to improve cold driveability, idle quality and emissions. Cold/warm feedback controls the air/fuel mixture. The ECU may ignore the oxygen sensor rich/lean feedback signal until the coolant reaches a certain temperature. While the engine is cold, the ECU keep the fuel mixture rich to improve idle quality and cold driveability.

Therefore unsteady temp. signals can cause high fc and continued driving with this condition can lead to foul plugs. There's a host of other things that take place all based on signals from coolant temp. sensor, from cold/warm/overheat.  Again it's too long to discuss all. 

Great info bro SKYjack! tq! thumbup.gif

DaBestOne
post Aug 28 2014, 11:48 AM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Aug 28 2014, 10:15 AM)

Therefore unsteady temp. signals can cause high fc and continued driving with this condition can lead to foul plugs. There's a host of other things that take place all based on signals from coolant temp. sensor, from cold/warm/overheat.  Again it's too long to discuss all. 

Thanks for the information bro..It's helpful thumbup.gif
mtbk3
post Aug 28 2014, 02:36 PM

Hi Guys,

I got some questions about cooling. Hope you guys can enlighten me here.

I know the radiator is to cool then coolant which is then use to cool the engine, piston heads, a/c and other components. What is the big fan infront of out radiator for?

And also, what about ATF? It goes through the same radiator as well for cooling? Or does our coolant cools the ATF as well?

Thank you.....

khaidzar
post Aug 28 2014, 08:11 PM

Wahlauwey i want to cry ley waaaaaa angry sia my car dead again bcoz of the battery the 2nd time ley..did u all got this issue or not i bought 2012 until now 2 times happen today they told me its lauya battery but the stupid tehnician forgot that i bought the battery from them
SKYjack
post Aug 29 2014, 08:43 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(mtbk3 @ Aug 28 2014, 02:36 PM)
Hi Guys,

I got some questions about cooling. Hope you guys can enlighten me here.

I know the radiator is to cool then coolant which is then use to cool the engine, piston heads, a/c and other components. What is the big fan infront of out radiator for?

And also, what about ATF? It goes through the same radiator as well for cooling? Or does our coolant cools the ATF as well?

Thank you.....
Whooooau bro,you have mixed both fluids into one bowl of soup! Sorry I've got to deny you this cocktail!

ATF is for the GB and is independent from coolant. GB has it own radiator and is on a completely independent circuit. It's difficult to spot GB radiator on our car cos it's hidden in front of the large radiator. It would be roughly 1/3 the size of the engine radiator. Don't mistake the one on the right, as that is the turbo intercooler. Inbetween the the radiator and intercooler, you'll see two hoses with metal fitting, roughly 6 inches apart vertically. These are the inlet and outlet of the GB radiator.

Now lets come to the large fan infront of the coolant radiator. You have got to understand how the radiator functions to get rid of heat to understand the necessity for this large fan.Let me simplify it for you. The radiator is a bunch of tubes welded together. Run the hot coolant into the tubes and push air on the surface of tubes, the coolant is cooled. Forward motion of the car forces air on the tubes surface.

What happens when the car stops, or worst still is caught in traffic jam. In traffic jams, not only the air from forward motion of the car is lost, the engine is still operating, generating more heat! This is where the fan kicks in to force air on to the radiator to provide cooling. Sometimes this fan may also run when the engine is stopped. This is to provide turbo unit cooling.

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Aug 29 2014, 09:05 AM
EP6CDTM
post Aug 29 2014, 09:51 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(khaidzar @ Aug 28 2014, 08:11 PM)
Wahlauwey i want to cry ley waaaaaa angry sia my car dead again bcoz of the battery the 2nd time ley..did u all got this issue or not i bought 2012 until now 2 times happen today they told me its lauya battery but the stupid tehnician forgot that i bought the battery from them
battery nowadays can barely last 1.5yrs

anything after 365 days, you're lucky already sweat.gif

This post has been edited by EP6CDTM: Aug 29 2014, 09:52 AM
TSjfcheong
post Aug 29 2014, 09:59 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(EP6CDTM @ Aug 29 2014, 09:51 AM)
battery nowadays can barely last 1.5yrs

anything after 365 days, you're lucky already  sweat.gif
Anythg more than 365 days is unlucky.
Dead within 365 days is lucky coz under warranty tongue.gif
EP6CDTM
post Aug 29 2014, 10:11 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Aug 29 2014, 09:59 AM)
Dead within 365 days is lucky coz under warranty  tongue.gif
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif whistling.gif
wjchay
post Aug 29 2014, 11:26 AM

645 posts

when i did my 20k service, 1 week shy of 1 year old, SC changed my battery to follsilver, although i didnt ask for it.

A week later, i have cranking prb (about 3 out of 10 times) when starting engine, suspecting battery weak, but upon check at SC, its 12.5V before engine start, so battery is good.

So, SC changed my HP pump. I have not really tested it enough, but at least there was 1 time I had the cranking prb when starting engine, took about 3 secs to start.

Anyone experienced this before?

khaidzar
post Aug 29 2014, 11:30 AM

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Aug 29 2014, 09:59 AM)
Dead within 365 days is lucky coz under warranty  tongue.gif
really haaa wah lau but mine bad ley not even 1 year i change last year oct then now dead already. yesterday at sc they jumpstart for me so that can go back then suddenly this morning i strt my car it work now confused already sweat.gif just hoping if battery want to dead better dead before warranty over otherwise my pocket gonna be koyak again just becoz the stupid battery hahaha...

TSjfcheong
post Aug 29 2014, 11:38 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(khaidzar @ Aug 29 2014, 11:30 AM)
really haaa wah lau but mine bad ley not even 1 year i change last year oct then now dead already. yesterday at sc they jumpstart for me so that can go back then suddenly this morning i strt my car it work now confused already  sweat.gif just hoping if battery want to dead better dead before warranty over otherwise my pocket gonna be koyak again just becoz the stupid battery hahaha...
To clarify again:
SC warranty on our batt, only the first year ownership of your car.
After the first claim of ur batt, no more warranty, even your batt die after 1 week of change.
vengga85
post Aug 29 2014, 11:51 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Aug 29 2014, 11:38 AM)
To clarify again:
After the first claim of ur batt, no more warranty, even your batt die after 1 week of change.
waaaah like that ah! might as well change outside then rclxub.gif
TSjfcheong
post Aug 29 2014, 11:55 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(vengga85 @ Aug 29 2014, 11:51 AM)
waaaah like that ah! might as well change outside then rclxub.gif
If your batt died in first yr of ownership, go back SC and claim.
If not, change outside. Usually outside workshop provide one yr warranty also, on each change
khaidzar
post Aug 29 2014, 12:33 PM

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Aug 29 2014, 11:38 AM)
To clarify again:
yup its true its time battery when u bought the car the warranty either 1 year from when u buy or 20k mileage..then mine mileage over i need to change coz not cover under warranty anymore...the cost is about RM600 then now not even 1 year they say battery again wahlauwei can koyak ley pocket like that every year change battery hahahaha..
ghost007
post Aug 31 2014, 01:08 PM

Hi Sifu,
Can anyone help ?

Yesterday when I start my engine, I turn on the key but before the engine start, I saw the words pop out " Economy mood activated " what is this about ???

144 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.0178sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:22 PM