Credit Cards Maybankard 2 Gold & Platinum Cards V10, Pls read post 1-3 & use Search Topic 1st

peachmonkey
post Aug 9 2014, 06:07 PM

282 posts

Hi there.

I have an urgent question regarding usage of the Maybank2 Card overseas.
I'm planning to use the cards in both UK and Europe this month. Do I require to have a PIN number to use the cards at oversea merchants?

I thought that the PIN was only required to withdraw cash from ATM using Credit Cards?

Appreciate advise since I'm leaving quite soon.
peachmonkey
post Aug 9 2014, 07:25 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(chongaik82 @ Aug 9 2014, 06:15 PM)
Came back from German early June. No PIN required
QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 9 2014, 06:15 PM)
No need. When the cashier at the respective country will confirm with you if PIN input is needed to authorize the swipe, you just answer no.
Thanks for the replies.

Was just wondering coz when I called the bank to activate my CC for oversea usage, the operator said that I needed to have a PIN to use the card in UK and Europe.
And he specifically mentioned that without the PIN, I will not be able to purchase at the merchant.

Is the PIN compulsory or just optional?
peachmonkey
post Aug 9 2014, 11:16 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 9 2014, 07:47 PM)
At China, their CC needs PIN input too but I was able to use mine without inputting any PIN.
So when the cashier request for you to input your PIN, do you just inform that you have no PIN?
Will they proceed with the transaction?

QUOTE(bearbear @ Aug 9 2014, 08:37 PM)
just tell them no pin and press enter if the terminal prompt you for pin.

they will then ask for your signature.
I see. So as long as I have not activated/ requested for a PIN from Maybank, pressing enter on the CC Terminal should allow the transaction to proceed right?

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Aug 9 2014, 10:38 PM)
Should work fine.

Normally in UK / Europe PIN is only needed if you're using a locally issued credit card.

I've used my MBB2, MBB Premier / VI cards in UK etc. not long ago and all was fine using signature only.
How long back was that sifu? Is there any clear signage saying that PIN is required? Or will it depend on the retailer?

Hopefully I'll still get to use my cards in UK/ Europe without my PIN. I'll update this thread if I succeed or not. The Maybank CC Hotline Operator was saying that if I have no PIN, than I will not be able to purchase at certain retailers. I checked online and it mentioned that un-manned terminal are usually the ones that require a PIN input.

0.0361sec    0.11    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:40 AM