Let me teach you how to spot good protein, Supplement sellers "might" hate me

muscle_zyme
post Jul 9 2014, 03:30 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Jul 8 2014, 05:06 AM)
Leucine. Isoleucine, valine, glutamine and Airginine are NOT CHEAP. I would say the majority of cheap amino usually used is Glycine and Taurine.

Just look at Muscletech's Mass gainer and protein. You'll see the openly list Glycine above 1000mg. Glycine is naturally occurring amino acid but should not go above 500mg.

Taurine and Creatine totally has no business in protein and weight gainers with protein.

Beware of so call Post Workout Protein with Creatine or Mass Gainer with Creatine.

Simply look at the Ingredient list.

This post has been edited by muscle_zyme: Jul 9 2014, 03:37 PM
muscle_zyme
post Jul 15 2014, 01:41 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(todak @ Jun 19 2014, 08:11 PM)
Can someone name some protein which has whey protein instead of protein blend as its first ingredient?

Edit: Preferably ones that are relatively "tasty", thanks
You can try Secret Weapon - Protein, Optimum 100% Gold STandard Whey
muscle_zyme
post Jul 15 2014, 01:58 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(SnailWithFingers @ Jul 14 2014, 03:05 AM)
creatine is bad? are u sure, most mass gainer n whey has creatine what
Glutamine/Taurine and Creatine are NOT BAD. It's just that they have their own place in supplements. More like stand alone.

Taurine is extremely important to avoid muscle cramps. You need around 2000mg per serving before any sporting event or rigorous [physical activity like hiking and mount climbing. Those who use Clenbuterol hcl use Tauring to avoid cramps. Taurine should be in any post-workot drinks.

Creatine is best taken by it self, not into any blend or formula. Use creatine with CREAPURE logo on it. Creatine will only work if your body is in fasting state like - upon waking up and after a workout.

Glutamine is great if you want to prevent or cure your gastric. Yes it meant for gastric patients. All research on Glutamine done are for gastric related to physical and mental stress. However real world results has proven that it helps maintain muscle and improve definition - if taken 60,000mg a day/60g (10g x 6 times). Not 5g a day that supplement companies recommends and want you to believe.

Using creatine in Mass Gainer is one way to reduce protein raw material cost and spike protein so it can pass the lab test. Remember Gainer formula is 80%Maltodextrin and 20% Protein. The 20% protein is just one way to window dress their product. In actual there is very less actual protein used.

Any good protein should has at least 64% protein content to 74%. There is no such thing as 100% protein because the protein grade is 80%, 20% is others such as moisture, ash, lactose, and etc. Highest protein in 30g serving powder should be 23g max. More than that you should beware.

muscle_zyme
post Jul 15 2014, 02:05 PM

23 posts

Also, when buying gainer, make sure these ingredients are not there - creatine, taurine, glutamine, sunflower oils, corn syrup, glucose polymers, non-dairy creamers.

A good gainer should only contain these ingredients:

Maltodextrin (not glucose polymers, no oats or waxy maize shit)
Protein Blend or any single protein.
Cocoa (for choc only), other flavours contains colourings and food dye known as FD&C
Flavour
Soy lecithin as emulsifier
Sweetener (Acesulfame, Sucralose or stevia).
silicone dioxide or anti-caking agent (optional)
ADDed vitamins known as Premix does not take much space in each serving size.

Hope this helps.

muscle_zyme
post Jul 16 2014, 09:51 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(blackmachine @ Jul 15 2014, 06:18 PM)
this is a picture of the whey protein label, any comment situ?

i spotted in the ingredient whey protein is not the first , its soy protein isolate,
What is the name if the product? If it says Protein or Soy then whey is not or not necessaryly be the ingredient. If it has whey stated on the label but did not appear on Ingredient panel then avoid it.

Based on the ingredients i would not use it. Soy isolate may benefit in some way but when comes to muscle building nothing beats wpc and micellar casein blend.

Second ingredient is ceamer compared to skim
milk. Ceamer are added so it gives that milky taste even there is no real dairy/protein source.

A true protein product need not to add creamer.
muscle_zyme
post Jul 16 2014, 09:53 AM

23 posts

My bad. Saw wpc listed at bottom after all those thickeners.

muscle_zyme
post Jul 16 2014, 03:19 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(swks26 @ Jul 15 2014, 11:29 PM)
Why would you not want oats in your gainer? I'd rather have oats and quinoa as my carb source in a gainer rather than maltodextrin, waxy maize, dextrose, etc.

What science have you been reading?
I don't have to justify to you my science background. It's your body.

Oats need to be soaked overnight for it to be efficiently broken down by stomach. That is how we take it.

muscle_zyme
post Jul 16 2014, 03:43 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(blackmachine @ Jul 15 2014, 08:26 PM)
bro, malaysian made 'Info Diet' whey Protein, RM70 per 1kg

i kena tipu edi,  cry.gif
and what is your comment on his statement
Well based on the name of the product WHEY PROTEIN and Ingredient listed, sure it is cheating customers. It did not clearly show LEGIT US FDA/EU Supplement Facts and Ingredient list. They even have an article on benefit of WHEY PROTEIN, not Soy isolate.

If a product says WHEY PROTEIN then it should contain ONLY WHEY PROTEIN CONCENTRATE OR ISOLATE. Not soy and not skim milk. RM75 for a product that contains Soy Isolate, creamer, and gums, it's a scam, and bloody expensive.

Call the person/website who sold you that product and tell them you want to return it back. Their website clearly stated WHEY PROTEIN CONCENTRATE.

muscle_zyme
post Jul 18 2014, 08:30 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(blackmachine @ Jul 17 2014, 09:56 AM)
another reply from the seller
Ask them why a product named 'whey protein' does not has whey protein concentrate as the first and major ingredient?

Why soy isolate was not listed on website as one of the ingredient?

There is no ingredients list on website. This ingredients list is important for a customer to make an informed choice.

You bought their product because it says Whey Protein on their website and product label.

They even try to compare it with optimum whey.
At least ON Whey has whey only.

muscle_zyme
post Sep 27 2014, 06:48 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(synzo @ Sep 27 2014, 02:13 AM)
Hi DarkLight,so there are none mass gainer on the market that is not guilty of amino spiking?

so even if bber wish to bulk up, is better to use whey protein instead of mass gainers? icon_question.gif
Synzo,

There's still hope. Buy any Protein supplement and Pure Maltodextrin separately. Depending on your calorie needs, simply add maltodextrin in your protein shake.

Works for me all the time.
muscle_zyme
post Nov 1 2014, 12:38 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(law1777 @ Oct 30 2014, 02:23 AM)
Ugh can someone please kindly reply me or pm me about the whey protein that I'm taking. Currently I'm taking PHP ISOGROW. I see taurine n glycine in the label each 200mg added.. So it's a shit product? Please help
If Taurine/Glycine/Creatine/Glutamine is added into a Protein product or Weight Gainer containing protein than it is best to avoid the product.

0.0161sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 12:04 PM