Can I bring walkie-talkie on plane?

TSWilson Teoh
post Jun 16 2014, 12:43 PM, updated 12y ago

117 posts

Anyone experience before bring walkie-talkie on hand luggage internationally (which mean from Malaysia to any country) without getting confiscate by the authority? Is it legal to bring it when travelling?
Van Van
post Jun 16 2014, 05:57 PM

QUOTE(Wilson Teoh @ Jun 16 2014, 12:43 PM)
Anyone experience before bring walkie-talkie on hand luggage internationally (which mean from Malaysia to any country) without getting confiscate by the authority? Is it legal to bring it when travelling?
Really dont know exactly it's legal or ilegal to bring it with you for traveling, But fr my experience bfr, if u want to bring walkie -talkie on hand luggage internationally - it's impossible icon_idea.gif You just can be carried in checked baggages but must turn off the power & removeable battery & be checked by authority at airport^^ rclxm9.gif
Mr.Docter
post Jun 18 2014, 01:44 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

Bring into cabin - maybe.

Use it in the cabin - RIP.
hakkagirl
post Jun 18 2014, 07:46 AM

21 posts

Not allowed to use. I know this.
TSWilson Teoh
post Jun 18 2014, 10:19 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(woody33 @ Jun 17 2014, 11:46 PM)
TS is planning MH370 v2  vmad.gif  mad.gif
LOL... I oni wanna use it during overseas so me n my gf can contact each other without roaming as she will travel along wif me...

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jun 18 2014, 01:44 AM)
Bring into cabin - maybe.

Use it in the cabin - RIP.
haha i dun ned to use it in the cabin lah... cabin is just walking distance haha

QUOTE(hakkagirl @ Jun 18 2014, 07:46 AM)
Not allowed to use. I know this.
erm... actually I'm asking allow to bring not to use in the pane smile.gif
TSWilson Teoh
post Jun 18 2014, 10:20 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(Van Van @ Jun 16 2014, 05:57 PM)
Really dont know exactly it's legal or ilegal to bring it with you for traveling, But fr my experience bfr, if u want to bring walkie -talkie on hand luggage internationally - it's impossible  icon_idea.gif  You just can be carried in checked baggages but must turn off the power & removeable battery & be checked by authority at airport^^ rclxm9.gif
so anyway to find out is it legal to bring it?
cute_boboi
post Jun 18 2014, 11:22 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Wilson Teoh @ Jun 18 2014, 10:20 AM)
so anyway to find out is it legal to bring it?
Why do you want to bring into plane ? Just put in your check-in luggage.

Also, it is probably illegal to bring into another country. Unless the device is generic
And you may have problem to bring it back into Malaysia.
Why ?

All radio comm device, have specific freq approval (type approval - go check SIRIM and MCMC for local M'sia), power rating, etc.
If customs did not stop to check your luggage, then fine.
Otherwise, if they ask for permit or approval or any certification, etc. Then how ? Without it, means consficate (worse case scenario).

hightechgadgets8
post Jun 18 2014, 11:25 AM

\(^o^)/
6,017 posts

deleted

This post has been edited by hightechgadgets8: Jun 18 2014, 11:26 AM

0.0213sec    1.02    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:13 AM