QUOTE(dares @ Jun 21 2014, 10:28 PM)
CVT is the gearbox sleep.gif
ah my bad
SUSMatrix
post Jun 22 2014, 08:31 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(chris2k @ Jun 21 2014, 11:12 PM)
Shafted is the right word. What happened with the initial Preve buyers. The main reason I'm interested in the GSC is 6 airbags + ESC + ABS + all the other acronyms.

If the 1.6 is going to be CVT only that's a real bummer because I prefer a manual one any day. Didn't Proton realise after launching Suprima that some people actually want a manual transmission?

If on top of that not all variants have the full safety package, I'd probably look at something else. Even the manual Picanto comes with 6 airbags AND all-around discs, FWIW.

Then again from experience, information from SA/manager isn't necessarily accurate so I'll wait till the launch to decide.
Bro, the some people who prefer manuals are few and far between. Maybe only some people here in fnf...in the real world the demand is very little. If proton dont offer manual, I think they do the right thing. ..less cost to test another variation and support and maintenance issues. But they might offer manual of this car is to be targeted globally.

Even the new honda city dont have manual anymore. It just doeant makes business sense in the local market.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jun 22 2014, 08:33 AM
NeedAConsole
post Jun 22 2014, 03:32 PM

125 posts

Hopefully the interior will be better in terms of quality. But the design looks great
bananadriver
post Jun 22 2014, 05:53 PM

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Jun 22 2014, 06:33 AM)
ah my bad
if u wanna be anal about it, cvt is transmission, not a gearbox. it has no gears. lol ok nevermind.
mat79
post Jun 22 2014, 06:16 PM

1,011 posts

i also like the manual trans. it just depend on the market. theres rumours that premium cvt also featuring paddle shift. yup,it cant replace the manual excitement,but atleast,a remedy.

we may like manual,but maybe the market demand more on auto box. especially the premium version of any car. there r many others dont offer manual in malaysia,but offer it to our neighbouring countries. maybe msian market is auto oriented driver.
just wait n see whether they will come out manual variant for 1.6.

the ipanel seems better than sid in preve@suprima.
chris2k
post Jun 22 2014, 06:34 PM

104 posts

Fingers crossed. Waiting for the launch...
dares
post Jun 22 2014, 07:03 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(bananadriver @ Jun 22 2014, 05:53 PM)
if u wanna be anal about it,  cvt is transmission, not a gearbox.  it has no gears. lol ok nevermind.
It still have planetary gears for the reverse gear, and not forgetting the differential whistling.gif
kadajawi
post Jun 22 2014, 08:25 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(mat79 @ Jun 22 2014, 06:16 PM)
i also like the manual trans. it just depend on the market. theres rumours that premium cvt also featuring paddle shift. yup,it cant replace the manual excitement,but atleast,a remedy.

we may like manual,but maybe the market demand more on auto box. especially the premium version of any car. there r many others dont offer manual in malaysia,but offer it to our neighbouring countries. maybe msian market is auto oriented driver.
just wait n see whether they will come out manual variant for 1.6.

the ipanel seems better than sid in preve@suprima.
In Europe auto gearboxes are usually a RM 7-12k option (plus it is not offered on all engine options, so you may not get the most powerful engine or you may not be able to get the smallest engine), only on something like the S class is an auto gearbox standard.
allenultra
post Jun 22 2014, 08:35 PM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Jun 22 2014, 08:25 PM)
In Europe auto gearboxes are usually a RM 7-12k option (plus it is not offered on all engine options, so you may not get the most powerful engine or you may not be able to get the smallest engine), only on something like the S class is an auto gearbox standard.
That's Europe. In BolehLand, it does difference somehow especially when Driving License (automatic cars only) will be introduced in the market soon.

The demand for manual transmission vehicle in Malaysia? Certainly consider as niche market if you ask me.
For a manufacturer who with limited budget, they better concentrate on something that could really sell.
dares
post Jun 22 2014, 08:38 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Jun 22 2014, 08:35 PM)
That's Europe. In BolehLand, it does difference somehow especially when Driving License (automatic cars only) will be introduced in the market soon.

The demand for manual transmission vehicle in Malaysia? Certainly consider as niche market if you ask me.
For a manufacturer who with limited budget, they better concentrate on something that could really sell.
So I gather a 250Nm Suprima S MT is a long lost dream? sad.gif

This post has been edited by dares: Jun 22 2014, 08:39 PM
allenultra
post Jun 22 2014, 08:41 PM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Jun 22 2014, 08:38 PM)
So I gather a 250Nm Suprima S MT is a long lost dream?  sad.gif
I do really think so....

I have a friend who changed the original Preve downpipe to those straight flow, and dyno.....
245Nm blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif
If it pair with 6speed manual, it will become a beast.....

kadajawi
post Jun 22 2014, 08:42 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Jun 22 2014, 08:35 PM)

I am aware of that. I was just trying to explain why cars are offered with a manual gearbox overseas. It is cheaper, and people prefer it anyway.

Of course Malaysians generally don't like manual. I think that has also to do with the manual cars you do get to drive. You learn driving on a manual Kancil or Viva, and let me guess, they are dreadful? If Malaysians were to learn on a manual conti it might be different. They are easy to drive, the gearbox itself is fun, the clutch is light and good, ... yes it still takes some effort to learn it, but it's not so bad.

I've driven a manual Myvi, and thought it was so bad that I could understand the preference for auto for once.
dares
post Jun 22 2014, 08:42 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Jun 22 2014, 08:41 PM)
I do really think so....

I have a friend who changed the original Preve downpipe to those straight flow, and dyno.....
245Nm  blink.gif  blink.gif  blink.gif
If it pair with 6speed manual, it will become a beast.....
The VT3 can tahan ke?
kadajawi
post Jun 22 2014, 08:44 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Jun 22 2014, 08:38 PM)
So I gather a 250Nm Suprima S MT is a long lost dream?  sad.gif
Not necessarily, if they will offer the Suprima in Europe. They may not offer it in Malaysia, but they will have to offer it.
allenultra
post Jun 22 2014, 08:52 PM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Jun 22 2014, 08:42 PM)
I am aware of that. I was just trying to explain why cars are offered with a manual gearbox overseas. It is cheaper, and people prefer it anyway.

Of course Malaysians generally don't like manual. I think that has also to do with the manual cars you do get to drive. You learn driving on a manual Kancil or Viva, and let me guess, they are dreadful? If Malaysians were to learn on a manual conti it might be different. They are easy to drive, the gearbox itself is fun, the clutch is light and good, ... yes it still takes some effort to learn it, but it's not so bad.

I've driven a manual Myvi, and thought it was so bad that I could understand the preference for auto for once.
If Malaysians use bluetooth/wired headset all the time they drive, I do think manual is a good option to go with.
Till then, not really. Most Malaysians are not educated to be multi-tasking, that's the reality here.

What I seen in Malaysia, manual transmission mostly available in commercial vehicles. At least Hilux is the manual vehicle that I'm driving frequently lately.
allenultra
post Jun 22 2014, 08:53 PM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Jun 22 2014, 08:42 PM)
The VT3 can tahan ke?
Gearbox sudah problem....... sweat.gif sweat.gif
He switched back to stock downpipe now.

I thought Suprima S 6MT will be introduced in Aussie market?
chris2k
post Jun 22 2014, 09:31 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Jun 22 2014, 08:44 PM)
Not necessarily, if they will offer the Suprima in Europe. They may not offer it in Malaysia, but they will have to offer it.
In my simplistic thinking, if they are going to manufacture those units anyway, it really isn't going to cost them much more to assign X number of units to the domestic market, according to bookings.
petrofsky77
post Jun 22 2014, 10:35 PM

Temet nosce
1,692 posts

I can only hope that they (Prtn) is stalling the launch for GCC because they want everything to be really ready and perfect. But if launching this GCC already takes considerable time, I wonder if P1 will still be able to meet their target by launching their first hybrid car and the new Perdana (read: Accordana) by end of next year and Q1 2016.

This post has been edited by petrofsky77: Jun 22 2014, 10:36 PM
kadajawi
post Jun 23 2014, 04:17 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Jun 22 2014, 08:53 PM)
Gearbox sudah problem.......  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
He switched back to stock downpipe now.

I thought Suprima S 6MT will be introduced in Aussie market?
I thought a prototype with CFE and 6MT was spotted a while ago? They will also need it for the European market, if they chose to introduce it there. (What is taking them so long? At least in the UK? If it takes much longer the car will be outdated by the time it is introduced...).

And yup, I think so too. Should be no problem introducing it in Malaysia too.
ruffstuff
post Jun 23 2014, 09:54 AM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Jun 23 2014, 04:17 AM)
I thought a prototype with CFE and 6MT was spotted a while ago? They will also need it for the European market, if they chose to introduce it there. (What is taking them so long? At least in the UK? If it takes much longer the car will be outdated by the time it is introduced...).

And yup, I think so too. Should be no problem introducing it in Malaysia too.
It took them long to get the 6MT suprima to market. Im not so sure why, but i think maybe they need to calibrate performance vs emission? hmm.gif

14 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 >Top

0.0266sec    0.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:17 AM