Sony-Ericsson Sony Ericsson K618i

youngkies
post Oct 3 2006, 08:30 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(darkbrother @ Oct 3 2006, 09:28 AM)
Just bought it at Lowyat last saturday. Seems that AP set is not available anywhere, so i bought the original.
Even the ori set price differs a lot between shops (rm1080-1299).
I got mine at rm 1080 ori set.
Set bundled together with 256M2 stick.
So far no hang and interface response is ok. Display is brilliant.
The phone looks cool bcoz of the black and orange design.
No cracking sound when squeezed and casing feels solid.
Music player got equalizer but no mega bass(not w series)
Batery life not sure coz still new.
M2 located at the side and can hot swap.
Bat can be charged using usb using transfer mode or phone mode.
if using transfer mode, the phone acts like a thumbdrive, phone function (calls)  is switched off. if phone mode, u can use the phone function but cannot transfer files.
in phone mode u still can transfer file.. but u hv to use SE file manager to explore the files within phone.. and transfer..
youngkies
post Oct 3 2006, 07:31 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(2kia @ Oct 3 2006, 08:24 PM)
eh guys, k750 got mega bass what.. this time not included in non-W series anymore?
not anymore in any series other than W
youngkies
post Dec 4 2006, 03:56 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(kyu85 @ Dec 3 2006, 09:34 PM)
hi everyone,i am new here... just got my k618i last 2 weeks ago n this is my 1st SE phone... i got a questions,how to update the software by internet coz i haven activated my 3G or even GPRS...  tongue.gif

2nd question,as pel said,k618i can support video ringtone but i have try it 2day... after set the mp4 as my ringtone n use my fren phone to call my fon,my fon ring but just have audio no video... n then my fon hang... i mean after i hang up the call(from my fren fon),my fon still ringing... after a while then only it stop ringing but all the button include off button not functioning n i have to remove the battery to reset the phone... anyone have this problem?  unsure.gif
i will answer ur first question only..

update via internet.. u will need a software called SEUS.. u can get it from se website.. install it, then run it, then follow the instruction from there on..
youngkies
post Dec 4 2006, 09:30 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(pel @ Dec 4 2006, 10:19 PM)
Guys, I manage to test the update function for the hphone. But it says my phone is using the latest software already. All u have to do is enable the gsm/3G network in connection settings and look for a place that have 3G network. An icon on the will appear if there's 3G coverage on the top right corner beside the signal indicator. No wonder it does work b4 this. I dont have any 3G coverage in my area. tongue.gif

Haven't tried using SEUS. Yup. I only mangae to found it using search function on the website but not on k618i page. Maybe will try it later.
tat is called OTA update Over The Air... if u got streamyx, then it is easier and cheaper to update via SEUS..

and do notice that, if u dont use the 3G for video call or data transfer, u might just want to switch if off, GSM mode only.. because that will conserve more power, ur phone can last more days...

QUOTE(kyu85 @ Dec 4 2006, 02:26 PM)
i have check the SE web site oledi... on the web site,it do not show the SEUS supported k618i...  unsure.gif
is it they din update their page where the SEUS can support all model include k618i?
k... i will try it again later...

go for other model k610i website and download seus from there.. most probably they dont update the website.. and mostly i believe k618i can use seus too.. like w900i website also dont hv seus but i able to update my w900i using seus..

This post has been edited by youngkies: Dec 4 2006, 09:32 PM
youngkies
post Dec 8 2006, 03:35 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(kyu85 @ Dec 8 2006, 04:09 PM)
ok... same here... right now looking for theme for my phone... any suggestion where i can get them?
zedge.net, google lasyk, and some other forums.. just google it..
youngkies
post Dec 11 2006, 04:55 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(Jeff_lwh @ Dec 11 2006, 05:30 PM)
How to disable "MyPhoneExplorer"? 

My battery life lasted exactly 1 day only.  Morning charge, next morning empty.  I just listen to 2 hrs of music daily, 15 SMS, 2 hrs talktime per day only...
to remove my phone explorer

#38 Remove Sony Ericsson File Manager Icon at Desktop
-----------------------------------------------------------------
To make it dissapear (copy the whole command below):
regsvr32 /u /s "C:\Program Files\Sony Ericsson\Mobile\File Manager\fmgrgui.dll"

To make it come back like b4 (copy the whole command below):
regsvr32 /s "C:\Program Files\Sony Ericsson\Mobile\File Manager\fmgrgui.dll"

-----

if u didnt use the 3g function at all, switch it to GSM mode only.. u save more power by that..
youngkies
post Dec 14 2006, 02:04 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(Rishy @ Dec 14 2006, 02:55 PM)
sweet...is this a suite that comes with the phone ?
yes installation cd bundled with phone
youngkies
post Dec 17 2006, 05:38 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(boyz @ Dec 17 2006, 05:32 PM)
Wah no AF..and no flash..nowonder the price can be so competitive now.
any known firmware upgrades for those function to be applicable?
no af is hardware not software related hence cant be upgraded thru firmware
youngkies
post Dec 24 2006, 12:11 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Dec 24 2006, 01:07 AM)
if u can best is get a w810 lor.. better camera and walkman phone while the memory card is also cheaper than m2.. all SE phone search contact list by 1st alphabet of a person's name.. icon_rolleyes.gif
i think wat he try to means is k618i not support multicharacter search...

@khongts

i am not sure if k618i does not support multicharacter at the moment, but even so, u just hv to hope that next firmware released will fix that.. tat happened to a lot of se phone esp when just released, but then multicharacter search is enabled at later firmware..
youngkies
post Dec 31 2006, 03:43 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(raining again @ Dec 31 2006, 04:32 AM)
so i jus brought my new phone . its really nice , best hp i ever brought . ermmm , but wtf !! how and wat kind of file do i need to change so that i can transfer mtv into my k618i and see ? wat format ? and wat program ! thanx ^^ dem it  mad.gif
convert the video to .3gp or .mp4

settings: 15 fps, 384 kbps, resolution: 176*220

for converting program and more info, refers here:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=280116

and

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/328033

This post has been edited by youngkies: Dec 31 2006, 03:44 AM
youngkies
post Feb 18 2007, 09:46 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(Sesshoumaru @ Feb 18 2007, 10:22 PM)
Anyway, to K618i owners, when there's an incoming call, can i switch to speaker before i answer/accept the incoming call i.e. transfer ringing sound to loud speaker.

Yes.

No. Not the same. K618 have radio while K610 doesn't have.

False. k618 does not have a built in FM. Not sure bout k610, but my guess is no too.
transfer ringing sound to loudspeaker? when the phone ring, the sound come out from loudspeaker already.

u cant switch to loudspeaker/handsfree before u accepted the call.
youngkies
post Feb 19 2007, 05:19 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 19 2007, 05:16 AM)
aiyo, me blur lah  doh.gif , of course the ringing sound comes out from the speaker.
yah, what i wanted to ask is what you misinterpreted is what i intended to ask.
ooo.. i got wat u mean. ringing sound = dial tone is it..

if so yes, as soon as the call is connected, u can switch to loudspeaker before the other party answer the call
youngkies
post Mar 4 2007, 12:35 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(kyu85 @ Feb 28 2007, 12:48 PM)
hi there... i got a few question here...
1) "CXC1250575 R1ED001 060831" is this still the latest version of K618i software?
2) wat is the price for 1gb n 256 mb M2 MS? n is there any other then sony M2 MS? if yes,wat the price different between sony n the other brand for 1gb M2 MS?
3) wat is max expanded external memory can K618i support?
4) if the external memory is too big,for example 1gb/2gb,will the phone bcome lag?
1. R1ED001 shud be latest.. i am not really sure if there is further later firmware though,, google abt it.

2. search in garagesales or google sonystyle.com, you can get the answer for sony M2 there. brand other than sony? sandisk. price is slightly cheaper. you can find all these info you want in garagesales.

3. shud be 1gb at the moment, but then if 2gb is available in market (it is but no one tested it yet or else i am so lazy to google details for you), theoretically it shud support up to 2gb then.

4. it wont lag the performance of the phone except during startup and when you access the files explorer especially when u have used up to almost full memory space. reason: it takes more time to read 100 files compare to read 2 files only. make sense?

QUOTE(kyu85 @ Mar 4 2007, 12:58 AM)
anyone know the answer for the question above? btw,add 1 more question...

5) i just activate my 3G service(Maxis - Hotlink),then Maxis send me some sms regard the 3GWAP setting n 3GMMS setting... wat is this?
5. these are settings/profile for the mms, 3g, grps etc. you will need to install them into your phone the gprs, mms, 3g to work in your phone with your service provider.
youngkies
post Mar 4 2007, 02:31 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(Pro-MX @ Mar 4 2007, 03:17 AM)
hey guys wanna ask....if i plug the phone to the USB port to transfer file it will automatically charge by itself...can i make it so it wont charge by itself everytime i plugged into the USB port in my computer?will it decreased the lifespan of the battery in the long run?
no it wont.. nowadays phone battery, u can charge anytime for how ever long u like. it wont affect the battery.

u can try to switch it off in:

key in >*<<*<* during standby mode. look for that functions.
youngkies
post Mar 10 2007, 12:21 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(ron2004 @ Mar 10 2007, 10:57 AM)
What is the SAR value for the K618i?
google shud be able to help you for that. or get it from se white paper for k618i.

QUOTE(sunauto @ Mar 10 2007, 12:11 PM)
My gf's K618i has this odd problem, it auto shuts off every few hours. The problem started when she left her phone on the whole night until the battery is totally dead, when it was fully charged, the phone started to have this problem, have tried taking out the battery, master reset it, updated to the latest firmware but the problem doesn't go away. Any idea what to do next? I'm having an AP set and the service centre is in Cheras if I'm not mistaken.  sweat.gif
since u have tried almost everything to restore but problem persist, a visit to service center would be the best..

or wait for few days see if any improvement, for the battery to get back to its optimum performance. that is why it is not very recommended to fully discharge a li-po battery. switch the phone off at abt 5% rather than let the phone switch off itself if possible (next time).
youngkies
post Mar 12 2007, 12:59 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Mar 10 2007, 12:26 PM)
My gf always leave the phone on for 24 hours, that's the problem. I'll never do that to my phone. Arrghhh ......... I hate to take it to the service centre, a lot of hassles, I really hope that the problem will go away and worst of all, my gf has a habit of charging the phone while it is on, I've told her a hundred times not to do that. Sigh....... doh.gif
bold: that is not a problem really.

QUOTE(fkmfkm @ Mar 11 2007, 01:01 PM)
Got one ...!

Do anyone knows how do i check if I am getting 2g 2.5g or 3g ? is there any indicator on the phone ?
you wont get 2.5g as it is not EDGE enabled.

if you are in 3G coverage, you will get a '3' sign next to the reception bar.
youngkies
post Mar 30 2007, 03:32 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(lAh0S @ Mar 30 2007, 02:22 AM)
I'm planning to give this phone a try.
But 1st, i want to know the bad side of the phone.
Anyone willing to share?
bad side?

none i would say. for the price of it, you get a 3g phone wit decent 2mp camera, quite good audio quality, and pretty good period of standby/talktime per charge.

Added on March 30, 2007, 3:34 am
QUOTE(Fluxs @ Mar 30 2007, 03:29 AM)
I would like to ask a few question about this phone

1. Does this phone hv build in FM radio?
2. Does this phone support loud speaker?
3. Is white colour selling in malaysia?
1. no radio (tis is a bad thing for iahos)
2. yes it does
3. dont think so.

This post has been edited by youngkies: Mar 30 2007, 03:34 AM
youngkies
post Mar 31 2007, 12:02 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(lAh0S @ Mar 30 2007, 11:38 PM)
Okay, 1 big big bad thing this time.
Really no white in malaysia market?
try to look around.. maybe there is white ap set.

QUOTE(JY. @ Mar 30 2007, 11:53 PM)
may i noe wat is the difference btw k610i and k618i? good and bad side of each phone... notworthy.gif
differences? the look? k618i is newer? k618i no a2dp? that is all..

bad side - fixed focus and no radio

good side - cheap mid range 3g phone, good sound, good display, a2dp

want to confirm k618i no a2dp? as k610i got a2dp
youngkies
post Mar 31 2007, 09:09 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(lAh0S @ Mar 31 2007, 02:45 AM)
What's an a2dp?
a profile that let you to listen to stereo music via bluetooth headset
youngkies
post May 30 2007, 06:19 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ May 30 2007, 06:16 PM)
i wana ask dat when browsin to phone status...
it's written model k610i...
it happen to others phone oso...?
btw...
dat phone alwaz automatic off one...
veli annoyin...
it happen to u all's phone oso...?
who know wat goes wrong wif my phone...?
k618i listed as k610i? weird.

get it to service centre for checking. seems something is wrong with your phone.

0.0199sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:31 PM