♠The Nexus 5 Official Thread V8♠, Android 'L'.?

rai_fuzz
post Jun 14 2014, 06:48 AM

978 posts

Congratulations on v8! Even though I'm 3 pages late,hehe..

Battery usage always vary even if we have the same phone & setup. Don't know why.

As long as the phone lasts whole day,that's good enough for me, for now. The only other choice of phone I see worthy enough is G2 (coz G3 is too big IMO!).
rai_fuzz
post Jun 15 2014, 02:00 PM

978 posts

after lots of inital set backs, i finally flashed Mahdi (i feel dreaded now, feels like going back to addiction).

Any tips from you guys using Mahdi on how to make it to good use? Planning to flash Elemental kernel in a while :-P
rai_fuzz
post Jun 16 2014, 07:38 AM

978 posts

QUOTE(azranashraf @ Jun 15 2014, 11:36 PM)
0% brightness? Indoor usage i guess. Go outside cant see shiet..
+ 1

But admirable SOT. I'm content with 3hours+ as long as it lasts till I get back home. During work where got time to play with phones?
rai_fuzz
post Jun 18 2014, 12:17 PM

978 posts

Mahdi Rom supports the new CM theme manager. I don't see the point of this showcase thing if you already have a built in theme manager.
rai_fuzz
post Jun 18 2014, 01:19 PM

978 posts

QUOTE(pokgaizai @ Jun 18 2014, 01:11 PM)
Thanks, this has been bothering me since the last dialer, i thought the new dialer would have this fixed...  blush.gif
PA RC2 here, tested the theme showcase running fine, only thing is too limited choice so far.. there are 11 themes which 4 are free. 
Tested with touchwiz 5.0 theme with N5.  whistling.gif
Touchpiss?? shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif

Is it nice?
rai_fuzz
post Jun 18 2014, 01:23 PM

978 posts

QUOTE(pokgaizai @ Jun 18 2014, 01:20 PM)
lag free touchpiss  blush.gif  laugh.gif
not that bad, later try with more themes..
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Gonna download all the available themes once back home icon_idea.gif

For now, my combo is Flux + Velur thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
rai_fuzz
post Jun 19 2014, 01:12 PM

978 posts

QUOTE(xxdesire @ Jun 19 2014, 12:38 PM)
vmad.gif I shall wait for official announcement!!  cry.gif  cry.gif
Maybe other manufacturer will do it? HTC drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
rai_fuzz
post Jun 20 2014, 02:58 PM

978 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Jun 20 2014, 04:52 AM)
Jolla will launch alpha testing for it's Jolla launcher.

Jolla launcher alpha testing
Emailed them to join the program ready, even though I don't like 3rd party launcher nowadays. Hehe.
rai_fuzz
post Jun 20 2014, 03:01 PM

978 posts

QUOTE(haturaya @ Jun 20 2014, 02:41 PM)
So far (5hrs++) the LTE signal bar looks like consistently stable. Full bar throughout those hours. Previously, occasionally it do fluctuate. Just based on visual observation. Not backed by any hard statistics.  cool2.gif

Let see in a day or two and in different areas.
Where your test place bro? And what line do you use?

I get pretty good reception for Digi LTE at office ( it does fluctuate). Waiting for Mahdi to merge the update (if he does) then can see if there are any improvement at all.
rai_fuzz
post Jul 1 2014, 02:22 PM

978 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Jun 30 2014, 05:20 PM)
Ahah..and then the OEMs will start to look for / create their own OS (most probably a fork of Android).

That sounds familir isn't it **cough**MIUI**cough**
rai_fuzz
post Jul 25 2014, 12:27 PM

978 posts

QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ Jul 24 2014, 12:23 PM)
For now, I seriously think that nexus is one of the brand to consider when getting an android.

But then again, we have htc m8 which is also quite nice and smooth.

With android L coming soon, the trend might change. If there's a day when google will be mainly responsible for all the phone's update, i think it doesn't matter anymore whether its a nexus, sony, samsung, htc or even xiaomi.

If that day comes when all phone is running on stock android, I think the better designed with better specs phone will be my phone. tongue.gif
Once you are used to a Nexus, hard to go back to OEM products.

Even M8, tried it, but not as slick as Nexus (understandable since it's Sense-d allover).

The next Nexus (or whatever it will be called) is my choice!!
rai_fuzz
post Jul 29 2014, 01:04 PM

978 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Jul 29 2014, 09:47 AM)
More confirmation on Nexus by Motorola aka Shamu.
Imagine a Nexus with native ActiveDisplay and TouchlessControl  drool.gif

http://www.androidpolice.com/2014/07/28/th...-nexus-phablet/
Still, to big lor..nice if they can maintain 5" screen.
rai_fuzz
post Jul 29 2014, 01:20 PM

978 posts

Anyone here using carbon rom? Care to share the best kernel & setup you've had so far?
rai_fuzz
post Jul 30 2014, 10:39 AM

978 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Jul 29 2014, 02:04 PM)
Good then, to me both Motorola and Nexus marketing strategy is totally different world. Moto line is meant to be like iPhone, easy to use and care less about spec. While Nexus is for Android enthusiast and developer.
It will be similar to LG G2 - Nexus 5 setup I think. One framework shared by two identical phones with more or less the same specs.

Hopefully, the battery gets the boost it's need. If I'm not mistaken, GNex was the Nexus with the best standby time.
rai_fuzz
post Jul 30 2014, 11:15 AM

978 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Jul 30 2014, 10:40 AM)
err not really, laugh.gif

and battery usage, depends on you nia whistling.gif

and if u keep watch *ehm* *ehm*/ gaming for few hours / chit-chat, then your battery will like "drinking water" whistling.gif
I meant the standby time. It's impacted by the battery size too. G2 can sip and stand almost 2-3 days with moderate use & the big battery helps.
rai_fuzz
post Jul 30 2014, 11:16 AM

978 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Jul 30 2014, 10:58 AM)
GNEX < Nexus S < Nexus 4 < Nexus 5 < Nexus 6 by Motorola ( presumed by large phone large battery )  tongue.gif
Owh, my bad then. hehe
rai_fuzz
post Aug 14 2014, 04:28 PM

978 posts

Android L as daily driver is stable enough even for a preview version. Impressed with what is to come from Google.
rai_fuzz
post Aug 14 2014, 04:31 PM

978 posts

QUOTE(olygopoly @ Aug 14 2014, 04:19 PM)
Been reading news/rumour regarding Nexus 6. The spec is nice, Maybe should wait for it eh
The specs are quite impressive but Nexus 5 will hold out a bit longer since it has it's own charm.
rai_fuzz
post Aug 15 2014, 09:08 AM

978 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Aug 15 2014, 08:21 AM)
guys, next coming Nexus 6 (Shamu). so all existing nexusian ready to ditch off LG and welcome Motorola?
Maybe. If they can make it right like LG did, maybe better rclxms.gif

rai_fuzz
post Aug 19 2014, 10:51 AM

978 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Aug 19 2014, 09:57 AM)
really impressed on this new launcher!!!! Blur (from Talon dev)

Is it compatible with icons for other launchers (read: I can't play the video)

0.0458sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:18 AM