Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

[WTA] Pointing a .my domain to a specific IP, Newbie here, please help

views

TSaeronyc
post Jun 11 2014, 12:37 PM, updated 10y ago

Getting Started
213 posts

Dear all,

I'm working on a website for my farm. I registered a .my domain with exabyte, but I'll host it with others. Upon checking, exabyte told me that I can't simply point the domain that I registered for free, but need to subscribe to their 'DNS Management' service for RM50/year then only I can point the domain to other IP.

Feel like being cheated, or is this the norm in the web hosting world?

Anyway, other than paying exabyte again (which will be my last resort), is there anyway (even if its not free) that I can host my domain with others?

thanks

xcess
post Jun 11 2014, 12:44 PM

Casual
460 posts

By right, you should have access to the MYNIC domain control panel to change your domain settings.

From there, you can change your domain's name server to other name server.

There are free name server available out there where you use to host your domain. Example is http://dns.he.net.

You just need to:
1) create account on dns.he.net
2) create your .my zone/domain on dns.he.net (A record, NS record, etc)
3) login to MYNIC domain control panel and change your current domain name server to he.net's name server

This post has been edited by xcess: Jun 11 2014, 12:45 PM
regnessem
post Jun 11 2014, 05:04 PM

Casual
393 posts

If you have your own hosting account then yes you can point your domain name for free; you simply need to update your nameserver through mynic
IntensiveBytes
post Jun 11 2014, 06:59 PM

On my way
510 posts

You are being cheated, sort of. Exabytes are just trying to make more money out of you by asking you to pay extra for DNS "management", which all domain holders have the right to modify whenever they like.

That is why I hate registering domains with web hosts.
I have not much experience with Exabytes so I'm not sure if there is a way around it.