LYN Proton INSPIRA Owners and Fans Thread V64!, 5 7 4 tak yet!

win44
post Jul 17 2014, 11:40 AM

391 posts

Hey Guys,

Need some advice.
Any of you experienced engine knocking before?

I have slight engine knock after changing gear, and my RPM is around 2,000 when in second and third gear.

Never had this before.

Other details:
Remapped 1.8m, and engine oil change is due soon (Petronas syntium).
win44
post Jul 18 2014, 04:37 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(win44 @ Jul 17 2014, 11:40 AM)
Hey Guys,

Need some advice.
Any of you experienced engine knocking before?

I have slight engine knock after changing gear, and my RPM is around 2,000 when in second and third gear.

Never had this before.

Other details:
Remapped 1.8m, and engine oil change is due soon (Petronas syntium).
Oh my.. the knocking is worse after engine oil change.
mad.gif
Changed the Engine oil today to Semi Synthetic. Because i thought only few months left on warranty, thought of servicing again after 5k to some liqui-moly EO.

Today i tried revving on all gears. Even in neutral. No matter the RPM, when i suddenly step on fuel, there is a short knocking sound. Any idea guys?

I can bring to TT tonite, if Sifu's can help diagnose.. sad.gif
win44
post Jul 21 2014, 08:36 AM

391 posts

QUOTE(stewPik @ Jul 20 2014, 12:39 PM)
1,8m knocking is NORMAL , live with it....not TRD mah... cry.gif
='(
The car 2.5 yrs old, never heard knock before.
Now so sad got knock.
sad.gif
After 2 days more of driving,
i find that knocking happens everytime i drive, even at night.

When moving, the knock comes around 2.3k - 2.4k RPM.
And when the engine is near idle (1k RPM), when i step on the throttle quickly, there is short knock.
Sounds bad, every time i hear it, heart pain.

I'll bring to SC tomorrow.
If they cant fix it, i'll change EO to liqui-moly Mos2, and see it that works.
win44
post Jul 23 2014, 04:29 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 23 2014, 02:42 PM)
i wanna push beyond meter during downhill... but the tires already floaty already. can expect any cross wind that hit the car will send me to the coffin/newspaper headlines sad.gif
I pushed mine to 205km/h downhill on MEX. My tires wide, and extra weight. Maybe stock can go faster.

Anyone gathering for MEX convoy 27th night?
win44
post Jul 23 2014, 05:07 PM

391 posts

Today quite disappoint at the SC at PJ section 13 (jaya one there).
The Knocking problem i mentioned before, they said its just minor pinging and told me to go empty my fuel tank of RON95 and use Ron97 for a while. They suspect there is carbon in my fuel tank, and want me to flush it out by using different RON fuel.

And if the pinging goes away, they suggest i keep using Ron97. (wtf??)

OKAY, i will follow their suggestion.

In other news, they said they dont have record of my Gear oil change (im using MT-90), so they cant check my gearbox problem until i change my gear oil. Ok fine, i said go ahead with changing it. I mentioned to make sure it is the correct gear oil for Proton inspira.
Then the technician was about to put in a cheap looking 75-90W Petronas brand oil. i found it strange that it was not the OEM Diaqueen. So i asked them not to change.

Anyone experienced the Proton SC using the wrong oil?
Or are they now all using local brand stuff..

win44
post Jul 24 2014, 09:44 AM

391 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 24 2014, 12:09 AM)
GL3/4 is compatible.
5-6 are with EP additives which *may* harm yellow metals.

our car not sports car with lsd/differentials, no extreme pressure.

go read up http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gear_oil
numbers higher != better/needed

also our car platform is since 2006/2008 ish, it can be considered ancient depending on how you think.
Hmm... Alright then.
I guess i'll go change their gear oil.

(my MT-90 only used about 10,000km) hrmmm.
win44
post Jul 24 2014, 12:56 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Jul 22 2014, 08:49 AM)
U forgot we got one evo x moded to inspalia round fuel cap?

Anyway.. The rear wide fender original from mitsu can be purhase ... But 2-3k each side...
I just need my square cap.
Then my external should be complete! (almost) hehe
win44
post Jul 27 2014, 09:31 AM

391 posts

QUOTE(namez @ Jul 25 2014, 03:17 PM)
I have inspira manual
Recently i found abnormal noise, may pistons knocking or valve tappet.
Wonder other 1.8cc manual here have same
Drive at 4th gear at RPM3500, down shirt 3rd gear, press acceralate pedal from RPM2500, the abnormal noise occur.
I open the driver door windows.
You guys experience this or can try it out?

This noise/ sound usually can hear from wira or iswara at same drive condition.

Thanks to share
Yes, i've recently got the same problem.
And managed to fix it.

The problem first occurred about a week before i serviced my car.
It was a very small noise, not very noticeable, but surely was there occasionally.
So i thought it might be excessive carbon in the oil, because my Oil change was due.

The noise got much worse after Servicing:
- Replaced Engine oil from Petronas Syntium 1000 (Synth) to Syntium 800 (Semi-Synth).
No overfill, Ngam Ngam fill.
- Replaced Filter & Standard Operating procedure.
- Ran out of fuel at the service center, so found the closest caltex to pump Ron95. (usually i use petronas Ron95).

Notice that on my drive back home, the Knocking or Pinging started. sad.gif

Solution:
1. Drove to SC to diagnose. They spent my 4 hours just to testdrive one time (10 minutes only, the rest of the time, just kept me waiting). And they mentioned maybe bad Fuel, asked me to pump ron97.

2. Continued driving around until my fuel tank was almost empty of the caltex ron95.
3. Pumped in Petronas Ron97. Drove for one day.

Amazingly the pinging sound reduced, and almost not noticeable.
But problem was still there. i could hear it occasionally if i really looked for it.
ie. stepped on the pedal suddenly.

4. Drove my car to Sunway ZerotoHundred shop, changed Engine oil from Syntium 800 to LiquiMoly Leiktauf 10w-40 with MOS2 Semi-Synth.
5. Added one bottle of liquimoly Ceratec.

The branch manager at the shop drives an inspira manual. He said the problem is normal and unavoidable. He said that he pumps RON97 to get rid of the problem. And that changing engine oil should not affect it.
He also changed to NGK sparks and said the problem went a away for just a short while. then came back.
He suggested i try liquimoly injector cleaner additive. I considered it, but left that treatment for next time.

Moving forward,
6. Drove to petronas to fill up with Ron95.

7. Drove one day, to ensure the Ron95 reached the engine.

8. So far, not pinging observed anymore.

So it could be one of three things that fixed it. Either Engine oil, Ceratec, or changing from Caltex to petronas ron95.

Goodluck!

DrJackal
mercury99

PS. Additional comment on the Liqui-Moly products, i have not felt any "smoothness" or difference from my previous synthetic Syntium 1000. Maybe my butt-dyno is not sensitive enough.
However i dont have the knocking/pinging now. so for now, i am satisfied with my investment.

This post has been edited by win44: Jul 27 2014, 09:35 AM
win44
post Jul 28 2014, 10:12 AM

391 posts

QUOTE(San.Diego @ Jul 28 2014, 08:15 AM)
Good morning  smile.gif

Wikihow.com has a solution to this.
Read this: http://www.wikihow.com/Stop-a-Car-from-Knocking
... and see if it helps.

Already no more knocking/pinging.
However, i hope i didnt just "delay" the effect. As many owners told me its normal problem.
win44
post Jul 29 2014, 12:47 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(koh777 @ Jul 29 2014, 12:31 PM)
You might want to read this  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UPaUlfKHzUM
Thanks. I wonder if our inspira has this knock detector and reducer. haha.
Anyway, i have changed back to Petronas Ron95 and so far no problem yet.

Some Shell employee told me that petronas fuel additives are better, so they themselves use petronas 95.
So i will be avoiding caltex for now, and dont want to risk any pinging.

0.0503sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:06 AM