TSienarab
post Jun 10 2014, 10:06 AM, updated 12y ago

155 posts

Guyz...
Need opinion from Car owners. notworthy.gif
I own a Grand Livina 1.6 (A) year 2012.

From my experience, GL is not so bad. Its sporty and easy handling.
But the problem is with the air cond.

Cause the air cond is only at front and rear passenger not so convenience and don't get the air cond, especially the last row.
Im not sure about Toyota Innova..

Can I get some input and comparison between GL and Innova....

How about the fuel consumption?
Any advice on maintenance?

Your advice and input will help me in make a final decision either change to Innova or remain with GL.
Thanks guyz...

SUSUpCar
post Jun 10 2014, 11:31 AM

1,612 posts

innova ok. i drove it for a week. quite nice. more spacious and more high than grand livina. grand livina at last row is cramped like shit. innova also cramped like shit but more headroom so dont feel so cramped like shit.

fuel consumption grand livina better. i drove the livina and innova i feel the livina more han yau. maintanence same i think. u still need serbis so both also wont be pain 1.

alwinnng
post Jun 10 2014, 02:18 PM

4,296 posts

QUOTE(ienarab @ Jun 10 2014, 10:06 AM)
Guyz...
Need opinion from Car owners.  notworthy.gif
I own a Grand Livina 1.6 (A) year 2012.

From my experience, GL is not so bad. Its sporty and easy handling.
But the problem is with the air cond.

Cause the air cond is only at front and rear passenger not so convenience and don't get the air cond, especially the last row.
Im not sure about Toyota Innova..

Can I get some input and comparison between GL and Innova....

How about the fuel consumption?
Any advice on maintenance?

Your advice and input will help me in make a final decision either change to Innova or remain with GL.
Thanks guyz...
Inova front back last row all got aircond
Kinfa underpowered unless u keep the rev high
fuel consumption 8-9km per litre average mix town and highway
mentenen normal je..
leg space last row is good better than livina cause middle row can adjust to front and back
TSienarab
post Jun 10 2014, 02:30 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(alwinnng @ Jun 10 2014, 02:18 PM)
Inova front back last row all got aircond
Kinfa underpowered unless u keep the rev high
fuel consumption 8-9km per litre average mix town and highway
mentenen normal je..
leg space last row is good better than livina cause middle row can adjust to front and back
Ya lah, GL, only front got air cond, passenger and last row feel like in oven..
Im planning to sell my GL and take 2nd hand Innova, maybe 2010 or 2011, in mudah got, but all from car dealer...
alwinnng
post Jun 10 2014, 02:55 PM

4,296 posts

QUOTE(ienarab @ Jun 10 2014, 02:30 PM)
Ya lah, GL, only front got air cond, passenger and last row feel like in oven..
Im planning to sell my GL and take 2nd hand Innova, maybe 2010 or 2011, in mudah got, but all from car dealer...
macam previous gen wish...only front aircond sweat.gif

WaCKy-Angel
post Jun 10 2014, 04:18 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

Innova drink fuel like drimk water.
How many passenger are you talking about? FYI the 3rd row aka backseat are very uncomfortable.
So if only 5 person include driver then might as well get a sedan.

As for the aircond its using built-in overhead fan unit which sucks the air from front and blow to rear. can be very cold.
efaceninja
post Jun 10 2014, 05:23 PM

Why not Honda Freed?
SUSMatrix
post Jun 10 2014, 05:27 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

If you are looking for MPV, Innova is better because of space....

Livina looks big on outside, inside is very cramp...my sister drives one. The rear seats are no better than Alza, At least Alza front and middle seats are more spacious.
SUSkimsim
post Jun 10 2014, 06:42 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

Option for Exora or used Toyota Wish

Livina & innova too boring already.
cYus
post Jun 10 2014, 08:58 PM

85 posts

edited

This post has been edited by cYus: Dec 23 2015, 11:30 AM
kadajawi
post Jun 10 2014, 10:49 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(cYus @ Jun 10 2014, 08:58 PM)
my honest opinion.. avoid Innova..

if you are going to ferry your family members, get the safest one you can afford and Innova is definitely not one of it..

I lost someone dear to me in an Innova, since then I am very alert on news of accidents involving Innova with fatalities of more than 1 occupant, and the average is 3 fatalities..

A lot of cases due to blown tyres, including in my case..

Sorry but heed my advice, get the safer one..
While I agree that the Innova isn't a very safe car, and should be overlooked, I wonder if a blown tyre is the fault of the car, and not the owner. Now maybe other cars don't lead to death when a tyre blows, but otherwise... sounds more like cheapskate owners not changing their tyres in time, or not putting in enough air.
youngman28
post Jun 10 2014, 11:12 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Jun 10 2014, 11:49 PM)
While I agree that the Innova isn't a very safe car, and should be overlooked, I wonder if a blown tyre is the fault of the car, and not the owner. Now maybe other cars don't lead to death when a tyre blows, but otherwise... sounds more like cheapskate owners not changing their tyres in time, or not putting in enough air.
If compare to sedan car, Innova definitely have higher chance of passenger getting hit if accident do occur in the
rear part. If a sedan car and Innova both involve in the same accident like being hit by a lorry from behind, which
car passenger have better survivor rate? not brainer question, rite?

Back to the TS question,

it depend on how many family member you need to fetch.

For GL, it drive more like a sedan car, body length same as sedan as well,
if the third row was used for keep good or standby only, then no problem
to own one, the FC was better than Innova, the maintenance shall be same.

For Innova, it you have big family member to fetch, why not ?
but due to long wheel base and heavy, the FC tend to be suffer abit,
the cost of maintenance shall be the same.

MyWifeCar
post Jun 10 2014, 11:54 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

Livina aircond issue can be solved by installating an additional blower.

But the blower is kind of hard to find, I think this was discuss before in Livina thread.

Innova for me is just to fetch goods, Livina is still very much a family car with comfort in mind.
sjz
post Jun 11 2014, 12:16 AM

3,875 posts

depends on wats ur choice.
if u r willing to trade space and aircond for comfort and fc, den go ahead an get an innova.

innova is using van platform. so there is essentially no passenger comfort.
GL is the opposite case
kadajawi
post Jun 11 2014, 12:36 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(youngman28 @ Jun 10 2014, 11:12 PM)
If compare to sedan car, Innova definitely have higher chance of passenger getting hit if accident do occur in the
rear part. If a sedan car and Innova both involve in the same accident like being hit by a lorry from behind, which

Back to the TS question,

He wants/needs an MPV though, so that is not the issue. The issue is that the Innova was designed by Indonesian or Indian engineers, like the Avanza. It was meant to be a cheap but spacious mode of transport. I highly doubt that safety considerations played any role in the development of that car.

Better get an Exora, if it has to stay affordable.
YouDontKnowMyName
post Jun 11 2014, 12:52 AM

1,189 posts

I used to be in the same position as you, choosing between Grand Livina, Innova and Avanza, and in the end I went with an Exora Bold premium. I don't think I need to elaborate on my choice as there are many threads around that will explain why.

Anyway if a foreign badge is a must, I strongly suggest the grand livina over the Innova. Again, there are many threads around that will elaborate why smile.gif
SUSleonhart88
post Jun 11 2014, 03:21 AM

1,686 posts

QUOTE(cYus @ Jun 10 2014, 08:58 PM)
my honest opinion.. avoid Innova..

if you are going to ferry your family members, get the safest one you can afford and Innova is definitely not one of it..

I lost someone dear to me in an Innova, since then I am very alert on news of accidents involving Innova with fatalities of more than 1 occupant, and the average is 3 fatalities..

A lot of cases due to blown tyres, including in my case..

Sorry but heed my advice, get the safer one..
I thought innova is very safe. The best car i ever ride. I can evensleep in innova.so what cars u suggest for safety?
SUSleonhart88
post Jun 11 2014, 03:22 AM

1,686 posts

QUOTE(youngman28 @ Jun 10 2014, 11:12 PM)

Back to the TS question,

How about compare innova with yaris? Which one safer?
kadajawi
post Jun 11 2014, 04:53 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ Jun 11 2014, 03:21 AM)
I thought innova is very safe. The best car i ever ride. I can evensleep in innova.so what cars u suggest for safety?
The Exora is probably better. Much better: Touran, Sharan, C4 Grand Picasso, 5008, ... I'd even trust an Alza more.

Are we talking about the Malaysian Yaris or the European Yaris? European Yaris... well, the Innova has an weight advantage, but the European Yaris is quite good. Malaysian Yaris, no clue. It's a new Vios without the boot, which is a facelifted old Vios, which is a downgraded version of the previous gen European Yaris. The Malaysian Yaris certainly isn't at the height of safety tech, for that you'll have to look (in the B segment) towards the Kia Rio, Peugeot 208, Ford Fiesta 1.0 Ecoboost. The Preve is probably safer than those though, and it is cheaper.
Deja Vu
post Jun 11 2014, 08:53 AM

1,863 posts

2nd the opinion for d Exora over d Innova. Just make sure its d CFE version. U really cant get anything else tis size with rear passenger aircon at tis age n price.

In my opinion Innovas would b d choice if u need a tough vehicle with maximum space/passenger for d least price. But in terms of refinement, fc n maybe safety there's loads of variety out there that beats it.

1st generation Wish r also nice coz u get slightly better last row space but it also suffers from d lack of cold air at the back. D similarly aged yet cheaper Stream 2.0's space is just a smidgen behind d Wish but it has a dedicated last row aircon blower though its fitted just above d right side arm rest.

Other comparable options to 'upgrade' from ur GL wit rear air con
- 2nd gen Nissan Serena 2.0 (6/7 seater)
- Hyundai Santa Fe 2.2 Diesel (SUV)

0.0241sec    0.16    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:11 AM