overnight oats, taste sour. normal?

TSsquidsquid
post Jun 9 2014, 12:00 AM, updated 12y ago

124 posts

hi guys. I have been getting this undesirable sour taste in my overnight oats. Have been taking them for some time on and off and recently got this taste again in 2 consecutive trials. Would like to know it is normal ?? But I have been making them without this sour taste though. What I did was pour in few scoops of raw oats n jus add room temp water, in my mug with a lip covered on top, left at room temp overnight. Advise needed and google failed me so far!
qqmeng
post Jun 9 2014, 12:12 AM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(squidsquid @ Jun 9 2014, 12:00 AM)
hi guys. I have been getting this undesirable sour taste in my overnight oats. Have been taking them for some time on and off and recently got this taste again in 2 consecutive trials. Would like to know it is normal ?? But I have been making them without this sour taste though. What I did was pour in few scoops of raw oats n jus add room temp water, in my mug with a lip covered on top, left at room temp overnight.  Advise needed and google failed me so far!
it shld be okay if u put in the fridge...
dfoodfeeder
post Jun 10 2014, 02:31 PM

errrr.... i wouldn't wanna try oat that has gone overnight ~ why in the first play u want to place it overnight ????

oat r meant to b ate hot and fresh ~
mcblade
post Jun 10 2014, 02:34 PM

1,116 posts

Warm water + Oats = you just provide the optimum temp and environment for bacteria to grow
gal78my
post Jun 11 2014, 03:30 PM

15 posts

Well, oat must not be put overnite. I wonder why u ask to put overnite? Unless u want to eat it as yogurt? Lol. I think it won't be yogurt.
Big Head Monster
post Jun 11 2014, 04:07 PM

57 posts

http://www.highonhealth.org/why-its-very-i...e-you-eat-them/

SUSjolokia
post Jun 11 2014, 06:26 PM

So Hot It Burns..!!!
3,274 posts

No need to soak lah, as most oak in the market r already pre steam call quick oat, some are instant which just need to add in hot water, soak oat r for those day raw oat which require to cook for long time, if you "old" enough probably u have seen your mum used to boil oak with milk for some time before it can be consume.

Just like some one tell u milk powder must be bancur kaw kaw using a special poforated tool & jug (Probably 99% of lowyat forum member had not seen it unless u r above 60 years old) & then sieve before let your baby drink, as baby might get upset stomach if milk powder is no fully desolved, nowdays all milk power is instant no need go thru this process right ?

This post has been edited by jolokia: Jun 11 2014, 06:27 PM
Lord Nibbler
post Jun 15 2014, 06:44 AM

May I suggest that you replace water with milk instead and top it off with dollops of plain yogurt + seeds/nuts/raisins/fruits and shake/stir well before refrigerating it.

You can add more milk the next morning if you find the mixture abit too dry (due to the absorption of all the liquid) smile.gif
lexiqa
post Jul 5 2014, 05:27 PM

525 posts

I soak my oat bran with milk too like Lord Nibbler.
maybe u need to stir yours a bit so all the oats kena the milk first.
doinkz_gaara
post Jul 5 2014, 07:43 PM

Too fast to live, too young to die
2,381 posts

Switch to milk. It tastes better too! I always add everything together the night before.
Winning11
post Jul 5 2014, 09:14 PM

283 posts

My wife adds honey and raisins and fruits. No sour taste at all

0.0199sec    0.69    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:19 AM