Samsung Galaxy Note II LYN's Official Thread V29, Kitkat 4.4.2 is here !! ND4 May 2014

lamjunrong
post Jun 10 2014, 11:10 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Jun 10 2014, 10:39 PM)
From a performance perspective it is *supposed* to be better. However there are some technical caveats, the most famous of which is the external sd card writing issue but I think Samsung ROMs have overcome this.

Lastly, you might need to perform a full wipe.
i am on 4.2.2 custom roms now, can really feel the sd card writing issue and tend to be very slow
is there any problem to fix this or any file to flash?

or opt back to TW kitkat rom?

BTW, the new google camera is very awesome! photosphere!
lamjunrong
post Jun 23 2014, 01:28 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(sanderz @ Jun 22 2014, 12:58 PM)
Yup. I think G Note II still can lasts around 2 years before it gets really outdated. 2GB RAM still wipeout most phones in the current market. And active XDA developers makes it an awesome phone.
Mine is 2013 Jan that batch. Not using SDS affected chip. So I guess no problem. By the way, my G Note II is one month old already. (Got it as second hand)
the spec is still kick ass and the Exynos is doing its good job. Plus is really worth getting a flagship phone as many active developers out there. I still keep my Motorola Razr Maxx as the developers are still very active, no doubt a legend flagship

I got mine manufactured december 2012, so does it mean mine also carry the SDS affected chip? how to avoid SDS? I do a lot of rom flashing. Scare later half way GG sweat.gif Thanks!
lamjunrong
post Jun 23 2014, 02:24 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(sanderz @ Jun 23 2014, 02:03 PM)
Check with eMMc brick bug check...
I got this 'sane' chip. So no sds for my note 2?
lamjunrong
post Jul 2 2014, 11:58 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Jul 1 2014, 05:06 PM)
Yeah...JellyKat finally release v6 liao
Just flashed the jellykat v6, seems like for me the aroma installer is not showing up. The installation end without aroma and I reboot after installation, it took forever. Retry and re-download the file from different source seem like not working. Keep stucked at the Samsung logo.

In v5 is working and I really like the animation and the stability. Can say much better than dn3 as less battery and ram hunger. Wonder why so many bloatware since is a custom rom. sweat.gif
lamjunrong
post Jul 12 2014, 09:49 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

Hey guys, I'm now on custom rom 'Color os' 4.2.2
Now wanna flash to any TouchWiz kitkat rom (Dr ketan or dn3). I download the custom kikat rom and flash with the latest TWRP, but got stucked at the Samsung logo.

Is there anything I can do? Factory reset everything?

This post has been edited by lamjunrong: Jul 12 2014, 09:49 PM
lamjunrong
post Jul 15 2014, 10:18 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jul 14 2014, 03:09 PM)
could be didn't flash ROM properly. go to recovery and try again. worst case scenario:
* sideload via download mode OR
* sideload via TWRP (they have sideload option) - push the file via adb and then flash. <-- I had a scare about a few weeks back and this saved me. I learnt on the spot about adb, etc
Download mode is using odin right? and the ADB sideload also need a help from PC with ADB binary installed right?
okay, time to get the work done, hope is gonna be fine, or im just using an older bootloader which is unsuitable for kitkat.

QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Jul 14 2014, 03:33 PM)
Did u factory reset before u flash ? If not , do it . 4.2.2 to 4.4.2 definitely need a factory reset . If u did . did u update your bootloader ? If not , flash back the bootloader via odin or flash the latest stock rom in odin and remember to tick update bootloader . Then flash back TWRP
bootloader, is it the one in the setting>about devive>Baseband version? I got number like N7100DDEMK1, saw something like download a bootloader file name end with ND3 and flash it with recovery. After that i guess i can flash a Kitkat rom and should be okay right?
lamjunrong
post Jul 21 2014, 11:44 AM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(jenwai @ Jul 20 2014, 11:49 PM)
Anyone using MIUI ROM?  sweat.gif
Since Mi3 is so famous.
Feel itchy to try it on Note 2.  tongue.gif
just tried the MIUI Kitkat version days ago, everything is same as the Mi3 with the same experience. One thing is that the camera app, not sure which version, one is using back the samsung camera and another one is using back the Google stock camera. Guess you dont get the Xiaomi camera app as hardware not supported..

As usual, the interface is very colorful and everything is working, rounded corner edges are very appealing. Havent try the cloud service from MIUI rom, last time i face login issue. And one last thing is the ram usage is quite high compared to TW roms, guess it has to run more background apps. Found a few 'bug' is that some icon is misaligned, like the on/off button in settings. Overall is the best Chinese rom, or else can try 'ColorOS' rom, another great rom.

lamjunrong
post Jul 22 2014, 08:47 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(Ryou @ Jul 22 2014, 03:50 PM)
Hi. Where did you download the MIUI? Is it the V5?
Not sure that i can share the download link here. TS let me know if i have to remove the link. Thanks

from MIUI official, but not sure which android version
MIUI 4.7.18 V5

XDA Link for MIUI KitKat
MIUI 4.7.20 V5

give it a try and let me know your review too! biggrin.gif
lamjunrong
post Jul 23 2014, 11:06 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(Ryou @ Jul 23 2014, 08:59 PM)
Need help. I can't seem to completely wipe off my internal storage when I was flashing a new ROM. After I flashed MIUI, I am only left with 1.13GB storage.
which recovery method are you using? Wipe off internal storage means delete all personal data such as picture on your internal SD.

have you try to factory reset and format everything in MIUI setting?
lamjunrong
post Jul 24 2014, 12:20 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(Ryou @ Jul 24 2014, 08:12 AM)
I'm using CWM recovery. But all the apps that I installed in previous ROMs, are still in the internal storage, just that they are not found in the phone.
just try to flash MIUI rom to check and see, it did split my 16GB internal storage into a roughly 2GB system rom and other left as personal internal storage for picture and etc.

the installed app you mean is it the files found in the internal storage>Android>data, those apk folders?
lamjunrong
post Aug 1 2014, 12:02 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Jul 31 2014, 07:50 PM)
So 4.4.2. is the last software update for the note 2?
maybe wait for Android L release? have another AOSP phone running kitkat 4.4.4-R2, cant really see any different from 4.4.2

0.0211sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:20 AM