Samsung Galaxy Note II LYN's Official Thread V29, Kitkat 4.4.2 is here !! ND4 May 2014

Noobi3
post Jun 10 2014, 08:12 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Jun 10 2014, 07:59 PM)
Man, I'm trying to help. Do you know that each post in a thread has a number? The first post is post no 1, and so forth.

rolleyes.gif
doh.gif
Noobi3
post Jun 10 2014, 10:39 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(radiohear @ Jun 10 2014, 10:22 PM)
hi guys..its worth update to kit kat?

i  sked if it will lag my note 2.. or give problem..and i dun want do a fully reformat..

thx.
Then dont update to kitkat since u r not ready to reformat . U r changing from 4.3 to 4.4 , it's highly recommended to reformat . If u dont wanna do so , stick with 4.3 cuz updating to 4.4 without format MIGHT give problem

This post has been edited by Noobi3: Jun 10 2014, 11:02 PM
Noobi3
post Jun 11 2014, 01:47 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(Darkcity212 @ Jun 11 2014, 10:10 AM)
Why do women upgrade their bags?
same as men.can show to friends their phone is the latest and greatest version.some show what they have and others don't just to boast their knowledge.
if u dont know, now u know smile.gif
Sorry , dont generalized men just because your friends do so . My friends couldn't give a damm what version , phone or even IOS are we using . They dont care if their phones lags and need 2 do some tweak . Lag ? Easy , trade in and get other models . Batt life sucks ? Get a powerbank . There are other things in life more important then sitting around a mamak , talking about " My phone got 4.4.3 liau , u dont have le ? " .... LAME sial

QUOTE(Darkcity212 @ Jun 11 2014, 10:41 AM)
I see...ok I understand your situation
Then I may suggest ARHD (android revolution HD)
It is currently the best and most stable rom.
its exactly like your stock rom but only enhanced speed and battery life.look it up !
I had to remove this rom because there was some problem signing in google play.
but if u know how to do it should be no problem.
I dont get it , if it's the best and most stable rom , it should be straight forward signing in to google play . . So now there seems to be a problem and u removed it , still the best and most stable ? IF a simple sign in also got problem , it's definitely NOT stable dont u think so OR are u referring to other ROMS ? Cuz I'm confused

This post has been edited by Noobi3: Jun 11 2014, 01:56 PM
Noobi3
post Jun 11 2014, 07:07 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(Darkcity212 @ Jun 11 2014, 04:23 PM)
yes ,even though its at 2012,its still rated by ''CNET" . they hardly give rating unless its officially at best.
and those versions are dated 2012 as u said,so the current versions are even better and it keeps getting better.
In 2012 , there r not much choices , basically , that's all u get . In 2013 , its a different thing . There are many good roms released eg Monx , SpeedWiz , etc which made Crash , ARHD , Omega "normal" roms . U cant based your conclusion on what was reviewed in 2012 la bro , dev progresses every now and then with something new . Something good in 2012 doesnt mean it is still good in 2014 .

Noobi3
post Jun 19 2014, 08:13 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(cskean @ Jun 19 2014, 07:28 PM)
Thanks for the advice...

Actually my only concern about Knox is the warranty issue. Otherwise I would have rooted my SGN3 long time ago.

As for my wife SGN2, she basically is a tech noob, so even if I flash custom rom for her, she won't probably get used to it.

Just for knowledge sake, once I updated her SGN2 to 4.4.2 KK MY rom, it will bound to the same principle as SGN3 if I wish to flash custom rom, which will trigger the Knox flag, right?
Beside having the Note3 features, how about the battery life as I remember someone saying that JB 4.3 for SGN2 has poor battery life....
To flash most custom roms , u need to have custom recovery installed which WILL trip knox . There are some roms eg X note for Note 3 , it doesn't trip knox flashing as u can flash thru Mobile Odin Pro . Still , there are some ppl who tripped it , selecting the wrong kernel
Noobi3
post Jun 19 2014, 08:23 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(cskean @ Jun 19 2014, 08:20 PM)
Thanks for the clarification...

Btw, once the Knox was trigger, it will become 0x1. Will it keep on increase each time we flash new custom roms,kernals or recovery?

Eg : 0x2?
No , it stays at 0x1 .
Noobi3
post Jun 20 2014, 11:05 AM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Jun 20 2014, 10:17 AM)

my High Capacity 4300 mAh just reached...haven't tested yet..

May I know for new battery, what action should I take? Need to recalibrate the battery? if yes, how to recalibrate?

Or just put in and charge until 100% without any action taken?

And how to check the battery is 4300 mAh and the how many hours more compare to stock battery?

Thanks!

[attachmentid=4021299]
Same size as stock or need to replace back cover ?
Noobi3
post Jun 20 2014, 12:02 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Jun 20 2014, 11:09 AM)
same saiz
Do test it out . Charging wise , it's lit-ion so just charge it as u normally charge your phone over night . I doubt there is any improvement from stock , got also quite little unlike what it's stated of 50% more . Worst case , it might even be worst . It's kinda impossible to increase so much capacity without increasing the size unless they r using some new technology .

This post has been edited by Noobi3: Jun 20 2014, 12:06 PM
Noobi3
post Jun 20 2014, 12:14 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Jun 20 2014, 12:08 PM)
I want to know how to test it out.....I do not surprised with the high capacity battery without increasing the size but I only concern about durability.....

Anyway, any good accurate way to test it out?
Not really beside using it daily . I mean if your stock last u a day with your normal usage , this should last u more then a day . Anyway , how much did u get it for ?
Noobi3
post Jun 20 2014, 01:08 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Jun 20 2014, 12:56 PM)
Another example, like tempered glass SP....I can get under RM20 for one tempered glass SP for note II....although the quality is a concern, but with the price, I can change the tempered glass SP every year if the quality drop.....but here, selling more than RM80 per piece....
China makes the best and worst product . Tempered glass for RM20 ? Tried it . It's not even glass to begin with . They r using acrylic as a glass replacement .
Noobi3
post Jun 20 2014, 01:24 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Jun 20 2014, 01:23 PM)
Yes, need to slowly find the diamond in the china market...anyway any good way to differentiate between acrylic and glass?
Not so sure myself but normally acrylic can bend like 30 degree or more , glass cant .
Noobi3
post Jun 20 2014, 01:54 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Jun 20 2014, 01:39 PM)
I will test it out and see...

Actually nothing to lose when buying from China....
Got , due to cheap production , there isn't much QC . And that's where u get all the exploding batteries hp
Noobi3
post Jun 20 2014, 02:07 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(greenday @ Jun 20 2014, 02:00 PM)
I m in urgent need of help here. I am on rooted stock rom kitkat. Just now i was updating a bunch of app in playstore and suddenly i encountered a pop up error saying system ui stopped working, it keep on popping up and the screen seems freeze i cant use it, restarted and clear cache, still same. I hope not to resolve to factory reset as i will lose data, any help? I am on stock recovery as well
1 of your apps still messing with your system.ui . eg Xposed ..... Easily way to flash back the same rom without a factory reset .
Noobi3
post Jun 23 2014, 01:26 AM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Jun 22 2014, 12:36 PM)
Used note 2 for 3 years considered very good cos i know a lot of people SDS after one year... i pray my note 2 can last longer as urs... now approaching one year...
Note 2 is barely 2 years my friend ... Launched sept or oct 2012 in malaysia
Noobi3
post Jul 14 2014, 03:33 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(lamjunrong @ Jul 12 2014, 09:49 PM)
Hey guys, I'm now on custom rom 'Color os' 4.2.2
Now wanna flash to any TouchWiz kitkat rom (Dr ketan or dn3). I download the custom kikat rom and flash with the latest TWRP, but got stucked at the Samsung logo.

Is there anything I can do? Factory reset everything?
Did u factory reset before u flash ? If not , do it . 4.2.2 to 4.4.2 definitely need a factory reset . If u did . did u update your bootloader ? If not , flash back the bootloader via odin or flash the latest stock rom in odin and remember to tick update bootloader . Then flash back TWRP
Noobi3
post Jul 15 2014, 10:33 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(lamjunrong @ Jul 15 2014, 10:18 PM)

bootloader, is it the one in the setting>about devive>Baseband version? I got number like N7100DDEMK1, saw something like download a bootloader file name end with ND3 and flash it with recovery. After that i guess i can flash a Kitkat rom and should be okay right?
Baseband = Modem ..... Bootloader is different . I dunno if your 4.2.2 rom will run on latest bootloader but some roms do . As for Dr Ketan's rom , he did made a specific instruction to update bootloader if u didnt . He even provide the link as well . So to be on the safe side , flash the latest stock rom with the " update bootloader " ticked . Cant help u much as I no longer use a Note 2 . But the basic is about the same
Noobi3
post Sep 26 2014, 07:17 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Sep 26 2014, 07:11 PM)
IMEI 0049 means your EFS is corrupted. This problem is very difficult to solve if you don't have an EFS backup. Samsung SC *should* have software to recreate IMEI but I think they have policies against using it for out-of-warranty devices.

IMEI generators are only in the hands of the manufacturers. You could try poking around the net on how people solved the 0049 issue since those that happened here were still under warranty at the time.
Not really , they r just lazy now OR change in company policies . Everything short cut . Even my unit was under warranty , they asked to change mobo . Before this , b4 they move from federal highway to Bentley Center , it takes 30 mins for them to fix it . Even once , I got my AP unit fix there . Joke of the day , Sim Card slot spoil also change motherboard since it's attached to it . Outside shop , they just remove it and fix a new 1 onto the mobo
Noobi3
post Oct 1 2014, 01:59 AM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Sep 30 2014, 09:40 PM)
i'm sorry joytest, i have just recently migrated to mac. so is there the toolkit that I can use on my mac to do an efs backup? or cwm to do my rooting?
got pc odin for mac? hmm...
You're rooted right ? Search for Samsung Tool 2.0 , icon is a hammer and a spanner from XDA . Backup your efs to your internal or external memory
Noobi3
post Oct 1 2014, 01:22 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Oct 1 2014, 11:28 AM)
hi noobi3, my phone was rooted and swapped memory. but I updated the xme firmware, then it's been unrooted. so now I need to look for the software for mac to root it again. dare not simply do it.

i rooted my phone on the 2nd day when i bought it in 2012.
Hmmm..... install mobile odin to flash in the kernel of CF-Root ?
Noobi3
post Oct 1 2014, 05:12 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Oct 1 2014, 01:54 PM)
hmm, I try. but can i root my phone with mobile odin? i used pc odin last time to do such mod.
not sure what to do yet  sweat.gif
very long didn't touch my phone already. hmm...
Oh ya , correct . Sorry , forgot the part u need to be rooted to use mobile odin .

0.0436sec    1.08    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:38 AM