Motorola  Mõ öRð|ã Ξ398 Thread V⁴ {Updated April 20}, WOOT!!! V4!!

Dreamworks
post Sep 21 2006, 11:48 PM

Shining with 3x2+1 stars!
2,141 posts

Hey, anyone here remembered what happened to my phone? laugh.gif

I'll tell anyway tongue.gif About a month ago around 3 PM, I started the flash procedure on my E398. I've also made sure that the phone was fully charged the night before.

So here I was looking at the progress bar of FlashBackup when my phone suddenly turned itself off ... WTH? Was that supposed to happen blink.gif Of course, FlashBackup just stopped responding after that. I tried turning my phone on again but was greeted with the all familiar Bootloader stating I have a corrupted firmware blah blah blah sleep.gif

Without realising I've got an almost flat bettery, I began flashing another Monster Pack. 10% ... 20% ... 30% ... 40% ... 50% ... 60% ... 70% ... 80% ... 90% ... The smell of success was so near BUT the phone had to switch off again doh.gif And this time, when I press the red button all I got was a "pop" sound, this was even worse than before shocking.gif

Leaving me no choice I posted my problem here and some nice forumers helped and gave me suggestions on how to revive my phone. Since I've completely screwed up the flashing procedure, the only option I have left is doing a force-boot. Tried a few times but it still didn't work, I guess shorting the pins was not as easy as I thought shakehead.gif

Being somewhat lazy, I just didn't bother to try again and neither do I want to open up my phone. So what did I do? I decided on something that lots of people think is risky ... I'm sending my E398 back to shop, which was not a very wise thing to do because I might void the remaining 9 months warranty sweat.gif

Today, two weeks passed since the day I sent my phone back to the shop, I got a phone call from the salesman. He told me my phone was fixed by Motorola and ready for pick up rclxm9.gif

Hehe ... Looks like it's well worth the extra I paid for the original MDM warranty rclxms.gif Or maybe Motorola is just being nice.

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Sep 21 2006, 11:50 PM
Dreamworks
post Sep 22 2006, 01:49 PM

2,141 posts

Nope, tested at the shop with a fully charge battery. Confirmed it failed to boot because of flash failure, but of course I didn't tell the seller I flashed my phone tongue.gif
Dreamworks
post Sep 25 2006, 02:52 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(tyenfei @ Sep 25 2006, 12:39 PM)
@Dreamworks

u r lucky cause u phone is coming back ( FOC ?? ). actually u need to download again the MP to make sure the file is o.k.

then flash the R373 enabler flex then only save to R373 MP

Just got my phone back from the shop, and yup ... Completely FOC rclxm9.gif Seems like Motorola changed the whole PCB of my phone, so I got a new IMEI code as well laugh.gif

By the way, what exactly did you mean by *Please refer to the bolded text*? I don't really get it sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Sep 25 2006, 02:55 PM
Dreamworks
post Sep 25 2006, 02:54 PM

2,141 posts

Double posted due to Server Busy Issue doh.gif

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Sep 25 2006, 02:55 PM
Dreamworks
post Sep 25 2006, 05:53 PM

2,141 posts

I see, but I did flash with 42R_for_all. It's just that my flash failed because my phone ran out of battery halfway sweat.gif
Dreamworks
post Mar 4 2007, 04:34 PM

2,141 posts

Sorry to bother, but seems like I need help again.

I haven't flash my E398 after I got it back months ago since the flash failure incident, but now that I want to do it ... I can't doh.gif Realised my bootloader version is 07.E0 and not 07.D0, FlashBackup gave me error and won't backup my phone. So any ideas? icon_question.gif

Thanks notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Mar 4 2007, 04:35 PM
Dreamworks
post Mar 4 2007, 06:06 PM

2,141 posts

Erm ... Who should I ask? Any suggestions?
Dreamworks
post Mar 4 2007, 06:15 PM

2,141 posts

I didn't even realized mine is 07.E0 until FlashBackup gave me an error doh.gif It says phone not supported lolz ...

Why Motorola wanna change such a good loader (07.D0) shakehead.gif
Dreamworks
post Mar 5 2007, 04:52 PM

2,141 posts

Looks like the sifus also dunno hoe to solve my problem le ... No one replied my topic yet sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Mar 5 2007, 04:57 PM
Dreamworks
post Mar 7 2007, 03:04 PM

2,141 posts

I noob question here, I can install java games on this phone right? I've own an E398 for so long but never tried before sweat.gif

Do I just copy the JAR files over to the phone/memory card?
Dreamworks
post Mar 8 2007, 03:28 PM

2,141 posts

Ooo ... Okie. Thanks a lot bro biggrin.gif
Dreamworks
post Mar 12 2007, 05:23 PM

2,141 posts

Just sold off my E398 tongue.gif Need to remove from the list? sweat.gif

Wanted to keep it at first but ... Having 2 phones and lkeeping one in the box just seemed wrong laugh.gif
Dreamworks
post Mar 12 2007, 08:42 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 12 2007, 07:07 PM)
lol wad foon u using?

and ur msn is wad liao ar?

my msn got 70+ lyn contacts dunno who is who sweat.gif
I'm using SE phone now biggrin.gif I feel E398 is a bit on the slow side, but SE's speaker still cannot match this Motorola laugh.gif

Added on March 12, 2007, 8:42 pmBy the way, my MSN is [-◊ Ќз√ịП ◊-]

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Mar 12 2007, 08:42 PM

0.0278sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:33 PM