> [WT settle] KSL 279

DaRkSyThE
post Aug 9 2006, 11:09 PM, updated 20y ago

4,809 posts

alrite guys, here is the situation.

i sold my DFI expert mobo to him a few days back, and when he recieved it, i dont think he was too happy about what he found.

here is the PM i recieved from him

bro, today i take out the expert from the box, i found...

1 ) there is no karajan Holder in the package. (only have SLi bridge)

2) the pin of 1394 and Fan4 bend.

3) the "EXPERT" missing.

This is the 1394 Pin and Fan4 pin bend, i take picture with Digicam.

the mobo start normally, but have 2 prob here.. :

1) The Eternet Controller driver can install...i'm not sure what is the prob. unsure.gif

2) 1394 can't install....(the pin still bend) , maybe need to correct the pin back to normal position....
alrite so what happened is basically what is listed above la.

1. the karjan audio holder, when i sent the board for RMA, they did not return me the holder
i explained this metter to KSL, andi toldh him that i wud go all way out to get it back for him

2.the pin of 1394 and Fan4 bend.
this could be due to improper handling which is not within my control. the force seems to be exerted from the bottom, so it could be improper handling. i would also like to point out that the box was pretty cramp.

3. as for the ethernet port, i told him, it could be because it is not activated in the bios. expert users would noe what im talking about.

and another thing, if im not wrong, he booted the PC without unbending the pins back to its normal condition. now, this could be fatal, and he is lucky he did not burn out the board.

so now guys, he says that he is not satisfied and he wants a refund.
i feel that this pins that are bent is a small matter, as well as the karjan audio holder. as for the EXPERT sticker on the board, it was not there when i got it back from RMA

in my own opinion, i dun see why i should fefund him UNLESS the board was DOA, which it was not. KSL, its really ur call, the board is in working condition, if it encounters problems, i will gladly send it for RMA and pay for the shipping charges as promised, but the board is in working condition.

owh and this is to another addition

dude, i'm sori to tell you, i'm not satisfy with this board after consult all the DFI expert from other forum.

QUOTE(arklab)
First, yes you can bend the pins back as described.
BUT - those 1394 pins are not just bent - they are clearly in a SHORTED CONDITION.

DO NOT POWER UP THE MOTHERBOARD UNTIL THIS IS CORRECTED!

This can be done by streightening tha pins, or you can return the motherboard to the seller.
It does look like an accidental situation caused by improper handling or packaging.

QUOTE(ReelFiles)
I have a feeling the board had clearance issues when the previous owner mounted it.  I don't think a shipping accident would cause such an even amount of damage across all the pins.  I could be wrong though, I am not Sherlock Holmes.
Was the board in a static free bag sealed with a yellow sticker with black writing?

QUOTE(maxdy)
+1 no. ask for refund.

it's realy make me feel unsecure with this board...pls refund back the payment , and i will send back once the payment is done.
Cos i jus finish install the mobo...take me 5 hrs (incld WC) , so i got no time to do it yet.

CAn you try to get back the HOLDER from where you RMA ? the panel is quite loose as it dun clip to the board.

i saw I/O panel got 2 ethernet slot, 1 is working fine which i can get connection to internet , but 2nd doesn't...i will try to troubleshoot wheater is cause by the pin or not ? ...

i bend back the pin for fan 4, but not 1394 yet....will do 2moro.

this proves that he did boot the PC up without bending back the pins, although the pins being bent could well be my fault or the handling, he should had bent it back first.

This post has been edited by DaRkSyThE: Aug 9 2006, 11:29 PM
fantagero
post Aug 9 2006, 11:25 PM

[ToFish4RepliesLikeYours]
2,723 posts

this could be due to improper handling which is not within my control. the force seems to be exerted from the bottom, so it could be improper handling. i would also like to point out that the box was pretty cramp.

the box was pretty cramp eyh.. u post to him with a cramped box??
i think this would be ur fault.. u should use proper box.. i mean extra large box to post this sensitive board.. biggrin.gif
DaRkSyThE
post Aug 9 2006, 11:27 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Aug 9 2006, 11:25 PM)

i think this would be ur fault.. u should use proper box.. i mean extra large box to post this sensitive board.. biggrin.gif
hi,

well to be honest with u, the board was cramp.
i did a test fit before actually sealing the box up, and everything fit in nicely smile.gif
no bent pins whatsoever.
besides, bend pins can be bent back rite? its not that big of a deal.
what im really supprised is that, over such a small thing, he made it into sumthing quite big
empire23
post Aug 9 2006, 11:37 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

My view on this issue is simple

1. For the Karajan Audio holder i believe the thread starter is doing his best, heck i'll send one of mine on his behalf although i believe they're kind of pointless with the backing plate securing the module. (post address plz)

2. On the issue of damage. Well you can't blame him, seriously. Anyways it's minor and the PCB isn't even bothered. Since they're soldered down and electrically seperated, is it really an issue after you unbend them tongue.gif

3. Well if any damage arises from the booting up of the board while the pins were still bent. The buyer was given ample warning to unbend the pins before starting the board up. And if the threadstarter is right deliberately ignored it.

4. Sticker...........erm............No comment except that, Is it really that important? I have a CFX3200 that costs even more and i didn't get one. It really isn't an issue in my view.

5. For the Ethernet, just enable it in the BIOS since it's disabled by default. DFIstreet.com will tell you that.

End story, Buyer should go through needed steps to rectify what i consider massive b****ing for an obviously insignificant issue. Done.
ksl279
post Aug 9 2006, 11:53 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Aug 9 2006, 11:09 PM)
alrite guys, here is the situation.

i sold my DFI expert mobo to him a few days back, and when he recieved it, i dont think he was too happy about what he found.

here is the PM i recieved from him
alrite so what happened is basically what is listed above la.

1. the karjan audio holder, when i sent the board for RMA, they did not return me the holder
i explained this metter to KSL, andi toldh him that i wud go all way out to get it back for him

3. as for the ethernet port, i told him, it could be because it is not activated in the bios. expert users would noe what im talking about.

and another thing, if im not wrong, he booted the PC without unbending the pins back to its normal condition. now, this could be fatal, and he is lucky he did not burn out the board.

i feel that this pins that are bent is a small matter, as well as the karjan audio holder. as for the EXPERT sticker on the board, it was not there when i got it back from RMA

in my own opinion, i dun see why i should fefund him UNLESS the board was DOA, which it was not. KSL, its really ur call, the board is in working condition, if it encounters problems, i will gladly send it for RMA and pay for the shipping charges as promised, but the board is in working condition.

owh and this is to another addition

From your sales saying that "Everything Is Included", that should be your responsible to ensure everthing is intact before you send out. As for the RMA you said, pls give some "OFFICIAL" prove you did the RMA on your story. Otherwise everyone also can say it was new set from RMA.

I strongly disagree with this, the moment i received the package, it has much more space for the mobo, as it was lying at the bottom. The accessories were on the right hand side of the mobo which is on top of I/O panel. i dun think what kind of mishandling can cause such a serious bend, which the pin is very stiff to bend it. (see the picture above)

I agree with this as i already get confirmation from DFI-street. The issues will more on 1394 drivers, which can't be install.

Ask for refund cos believe this is not a NEW set as he said, Now the pin is bend and i don't think is a small matter.

IMO, i dun see why he can't refund me since the item is in working condition and now physical damage were found which i strongly believe it's not done by mishandling. I feel fishy why the Expert board which retails around RM8++ were sell so cheap RM5++...tot i found some good bargain... shakehead.gif

ksl279
post Aug 9 2006, 11:57 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Aug 9 2006, 11:25 PM)

in fact the box doesn't squeeze as he said... to bend the pin you need a very certain of power/strenght to bend it. if dun't believe, jus try it in ur's...no joke. shakehead.gif

pls look at the pin in 1394 and fan, all the bend is in-line at 2 o'clock position...
empire23
post Aug 9 2006, 11:58 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

Question, if he wanted to scam you, wouldn't he unbend the pins before sending it off? tongue.gif

And bent pins are erm, not serious. And i've owned 4 DFI LPs so far and bent a few by mistake myself, nothing a needle nose plier won't cure lah dato.
ksl279
post Aug 10 2006, 12:15 AM

364 posts

Retreived from PM...

RMA coz the fan didnt work, and then the whole board died.
so this is a brand new board, NEVER overclock before. just got it, tested it, then simpan
can seller show the "Official" documentation/service report that support your statement that this is a brand NEW from RMA ?

can explain what cause the stain mark around the hole ? i doesn't seems to be a NEW board, juz do 1 "testing it , then simpan"

empire23
post Aug 10 2006, 12:21 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(ksl279 @ Aug 10 2006, 12:15 AM)
Retreived from PM...
can seller show the "Official" documentation/service report that support your statement that this is a brand NEW from RMA ?

can explain what cause the stain mark around the hole ? i doesn't seems to be a NEW board, juz do 1 "testing it , then simpan"
Erm, most of the stains around the hole are due to inadequet washing or cleaning after the soldering process is complete. (Sometimes it's left over kester paste)

It can also occur because of over tightening or even a rusty or dirty screw.

Point is lah you seriously have got to have more proof if you want to level and accusation at someone and maybe you should get a person well versed in reading PCBs to take a look at it.

Even better, call up Alphamatic and give them the serial number for confirmation, then everyone is happy.

Well no one ever answered, if he wanted to scam or lie, why didn't he bend the pins back into place?
ksl279
post Aug 10 2006, 12:30 AM

364 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 10 2006, 12:21 AM)
Erm, most of the stains around the hole are due to inadequet washing or cleaning after the soldering process is complete. (Sometimes it's left over kester paste)

Point is lah you seriously have got to have more proof if you want to level and accusation at someone and maybe you should get a person well versed in reading PCBs to take a look at it.

Even better, call up Alphamatic and give them the serial number for confirmation, then everyone is happy.

Well no one ever answered, if he wanted to scam or lie, why didn't he bend the pins back into place?
bend the pin back ? even i'm the seller, i won't. shakehead.gif

It will look more unnatural if the pin become uneven after bend the pin back. The best is tai-chi the cause to "MISHANDLING"...
ksl279
post Aug 10 2006, 12:37 AM

364 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 10 2006, 12:21 AM)

i would be happy if seller willing to do so...
empire23
post Aug 10 2006, 12:49 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(ksl279 @ Aug 10 2006, 12:37 AM)
i would be happy if seller willing to do so...
But if the seller did it, he still can't prove he called them because they'd only give a verbal confirmation duh. Then you could accuse him of lying boh? tongue.gif

Prepaid not expensive these days bang.
empire23
post Aug 10 2006, 12:54 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(ksl279 @ Aug 10 2006, 12:30 AM)
bend the pin back ? even i'm the seller, i won't.  shakehead.gif

It will look more unnatural if the pin become uneven after bend the pin back. The best is tai-chi the cause to "MISHANDLING"...
Really? Sure kah, i've been doing it for ages and aslong as i use a neddle nose it's kind of ok lah, looks like new, if you want screenies of me bending and and then bending back a pin and after that it still looks perfect, i can take them for you tongue.gif If i fail i'll give you the stanleys i used to bend them back tongue.gif

Just have find the bending point and push along the axis of the bend with keeping the board at 90 degrees level smile.gif

Metal contacts do not degrade because of bending, trust me, ask any wacko into engineering around here. Electrons don't care if it's straight or bent biggrin.gif
ksl279
post Aug 10 2006, 01:06 AM

364 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 10 2006, 12:49 AM)
But if the seller did it, he still can't prove he called them because they'd only give a verbal confirmation duh. Then you could accuse him of lying boh? tongue.gif

Prepaid not expensive these days bang.
got chance refund bo ? unsure.gif
ksl279
post Aug 10 2006, 01:08 AM

364 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 10 2006, 12:54 AM)
Really? Sure kah, i've been doing it for ages and aslong as i use a neddle nose it's kind of ok lah, looks like new, if you want screenies of me bending and and then bending back a pin and after that it still looks perfect, i can take them for you tongue.gif If i fail i'll give you the stanleys i used to bend them back tongue.gif

Just have find the bending point and push along the axis of the bend with keeping the board at 90 degrees level  smile.gif

Metal contacts do not degrade because of bending, trust me, ask any wacko into engineering around here. Electrons don't care if it's straight or bent  biggrin.gif
bro, mayb u r expert in do'in this, but not apply to all ppl rite... laugh.gif
empire23
post Aug 10 2006, 01:13 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(ksl279 @ Aug 10 2006, 01:06 AM)
got chance refund bo ?  unsure.gif
I don't think so since you can't prove it's his fault ma.

QUOTE(ksl279 @ Aug 10 2006, 01:08 AM)
bro, mayb u r expert in do'in this, but not apply to all ppl rite... laugh.gif
Seriously easy lah. Just try and it'll all be snip snap and all that and you'll have a new and nice mobo

Anyways i got my fully functioning CFX for 550 lol. Beat that. Why Conroe come out people desperate to sell. Plus when he first had the first board problems he asked me to help him and we discovered the chipset was dead due to 0 cooler contact spending quite a long time before we discovered the problem, that's why i believe he isn't a cheat lah.

Well it's up to you if you wanna take my advice. But seriously, it isn't a big issue. Just my 2 cents.
AlamakLor
post Aug 10 2006, 01:36 AM

9,856 posts

the thread caught my attention and recently I was caught into this sort of case and here is my POV:

I am assuming that at the point of sale, there is no statement clarifying when the title of the item is transferred.

1) If you received the item and found something wrong with it, you are suppose to report this to the seller and NOT power it up.

2) If there is insurance on the item, you are suppose to claim the insurance and take this as a damage during transit.

3) Since the item does not meet the description of the sale ad, you do not have to take it, and the seller is responsible for any possible damages whether it is within or beyond his control. Reason being, there is no way to determining whether the mobo was damaged at the first place or it was damaged during transit. This is why you are suppose to report it to the seller and claim an insurance if you have the option.

4) supposingly this is the seller's fault.

5) If you contacted the seller and the seller had asked you to bend the pins back before powering it up, and if you did but later find that there is still something wrong then the seller is still held liable for it since he gave you the authority to do so.

6) If you contacted the seller and the seller didn't ask you to do anything to it, but you powered the item up knowing that there is a problem at the first place, any damage done would be your responsibility (buyer) since you had the option not to power it up at the first place.

AFAIK, you powered the item up given that you knew there is something wrong with it at the first place and that the item you received doesnt meet the description - this means that you agree to accept the item as it is - , you are responsible for any possible damages and the seller is not responsible for it. Remeber, you had the option not to do so.

Your best bet is to hope that, when the port is disabled by default, there is no power going through it so nothing is shorted despite the pins touching each other.

The seller cannot be held responsible for it now since you powered the item up, and maybe you had done some damages to it when powering it on...the seller cannot take the item back and return you your money, EVEN IF it was his fault by selling you a crapped out item at the first place. Hope you udnerstand the situation.

gotta at least take some commercial law classes smile.gif Caveat emptor my friend
Pip_X
post Aug 10 2006, 01:40 AM

Got miao miao jor.
2,465 posts

Well, if that is mishandling by post, then the seller should be put into blame because he did not put the board into proper packing.
Imagine someone buy a piece or CDRW from me, me cincai warp it with plastic and send it, it got stratched during the transportation by postal, buyer got stratched CDRW, and can me get away by merely saying that's mishandling by postal?
Me guess not...
Lawfully, the seller doesn't have to refund buyer, but the seller has already proved that he's unethical trader.

This post has been edited by Pip_X: Aug 10 2006, 01:43 AM
AlamakLor
post Aug 10 2006, 01:58 AM

9,856 posts

Adequate packing is important but it is hard to determine what is "adequate" when there is no conditions stating how it should be packed at the first place. There is no packing regulation stating that whatever being shipped must be wrapped with 1" bubble wrap and packed into a larger box, they are just advice. That's why there is shipping insurance, fob shipping point, and fob destination.

The seller is at fault until the buyer powers that sucker up.
KilJim
post Aug 10 2006, 03:13 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(Pip_X @ Aug 10 2006, 01:40 AM)
Well, if that is mishandling by post, then the seller should be put into blame because he did not put the board into proper packing.
Imagine someone buy a piece or CDRW from me, me cincai warp it with plastic and send it, it got stratched during the transportation by postal, buyer got stratched CDRW, and can me get away by merely saying that's mishandling by postal?
Me guess not...
Lawfully, the seller doesn't have to refund buyer, but the seller has already proved that he's unethical trader.
Which is why the buyer should let u know immediately after receiving them to tell u that the CDs are scratched
Not go ahead and burn a few first before telling u it's scratched

Well, it's more relevant in the case with a mobo here compared to CDs of course sweat.gif

0.0179sec    1.01    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:20 AM