2,507 posts

brows.gif
Xefron
post Jun 9 2014, 09:33 AM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(qms_ria @ Jun 8 2014, 08:27 PM)
Hi. I am buying a Proton Persona SE' 2008 from a used car dealer. Can anyone please tell me what things to check when buying a second hand proton car?? This is my first time buying a Proton. So I really don't know what to look for. I have already paid the booking and I'm waiting for the car to go for inspection in puspakom. The dealer insisted once the inspection is done, I pay him full.

Can anyone please accompany me to check the car, before I officially get it??

[attachmentid=4005282]
I'm attaching the picture of the engine here. Please lemme know if anything looks fishy..
first thing first.
-make sure the engine is cool from the beginning.
-start the engine.
-easily crank or not
-put into N hear any "tak tak tak" sound or not in the engine bay.
-then put into Reverse and hold the brake,got excessive shaking or not.
-make sure it is less then 1K RPM when idle
-full blast the air cond.it may running out of gas
-switch on all the lights and signals lights
-turn on and off the radio and play with button on the steering wheel.
-check the remote trunk on the key fob
-check the front and rear bumper.look for the plastic screw.already lost or not.
-check the tyre compartment for any rust.
-play with the wiper and the sprayer.
-make sure it is easy to close all the doors
-check the power windows
-check the central lock
-check the lighter socket it is working or not.
-check the interior light.
-play with side mirror controller.
-when test drive,check for any clonking sound.

Xefron
post Jun 9 2014, 09:37 AM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(frenz @ Jun 9 2014, 09:10 AM)
This morning I can't lock / alarm my car. Not sure why. Need to pressed panic button to lock the car then repressed it again to stop the alarm sound but for unlocking is just normal. 1st time happen.  rclxub.gif
first make sure all doors and bonnets are close.use manual key if u can't open the door using the remote.
if the red light is still blinking.

insert the key and on the engine/not start the engine.then press the reset button. the button with white dot above your radio.press for a few seconds the red light should stop blinking.

if yes,take out the car key and close the door back try to rearm back the car.if not working need to bring to SC.

Xefron
post Jun 17 2014, 10:39 AM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(dinnor @ Jun 17 2014, 09:57 AM)
can i chamge from D to N gear while the car still moving?becoz to stop at traficc light...
can but dangerous lorr.it is not like manual.

actually u don't need to change to N when reaching traffic light.just let the car cruise and let go the throttle ,you will se the RPM drop.

Xefron
post Jun 19 2014, 01:40 PM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Jun 19 2014, 11:44 AM)
I'm supposed to switch tyres in these coming weeks. Becoming deeply concern with the reported unbearable noise of C-Drive 2 when worn. Either that or go for XM2 instead, much quieter or not?
me just change from the default CC1 to XM2. oklaa much better in term of noise.

This post has been edited by Xefron: Jun 19 2014, 01:43 PM
Xefron
post Jun 23 2014, 10:41 AM

2,507 posts

normally how much to change engine gasket at workshop ?
Xefron
post Jun 25 2014, 03:15 PM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(jasonloh7906 @ Jun 25 2014, 12:55 PM)
let's talk about a higher segment.
considering the Altis, Elantra, Lancer, Cerato, Civic, Focus Sedan.
All have their own good and bad. thinking which to choose. basically all are better since it is an upgrade after persona lol.
yesterday got some time to go to Honda showroom....to see the new City brows.gif

shocking.gif ayem shock seeing the gap on the dashboard.even the Civic has the same problem.

shakehead.gif

Xefron
post Jun 27 2014, 08:29 AM

2,507 posts

after 5 years,i think my engine start to feel sluggish despite regular maintenance and i am not into snake oil.

Anyway just find out we can reset the throttle body controller in our Campro.so decided to reset it and put the new Techron Concentrate Plus as i read lots of good review about it.Since its from Caltex/Chevron itself,i am much more confident than other brands.So far so good. brows.gif

Even BMW using it.

#inb4 xefron is Chevron staff.LEL.

Xefron
post Jun 27 2014, 08:37 AM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Jun 27 2014, 08:33 AM)
Threebond your car.
U mean change my engine gasket ?
Xefron
post Jun 27 2014, 11:32 AM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 27 2014, 10:34 AM)
http://fluence.com.my/#5influence damn good deal especially if you book before 30th June 2014

115k and full specs, 6 air bags and ESC/ESP, leather seats, c segment border lining d considering the damn wide wheel base (wider than an inspira/lancer, as if the inspira isn't fat enough already)

=edit=
hmm if you follow to wiki's d segment requirement, then not really la, still well within c segment laugh.gif
go for Fluence rather than Sylphy flex.gif thumbup.gif
Xefron
post Jun 27 2014, 03:08 PM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Jun 27 2014, 02:58 PM)
How much is this? hmm.gif Since you're a staff, got discount mou? hmm.gif hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
RM35 per bottle.lai lai lai. rclxms.gif

Xefron
post Jun 27 2014, 03:14 PM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Jun 27 2014, 03:10 PM)
I wan. Where to COD? Which station you own? brows.gif
go any Caltex station around KL/PJ/Subang should have one.not sure others. laugh.gif
Xefron
post Jun 27 2014, 04:01 PM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(dinnor @ Jun 27 2014, 03:59 PM)
what the different between Proton Saga FLX 1.6 Executive with Persona 1.6?

all aspect?
CODE
http://www.carbase.my/car-comparison?id=2afTja58qC,2VSHvy0FrN,

Xefron
post Jul 2 2014, 08:49 AM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(dinnor @ Jul 2 2014, 08:43 AM)
why they dont apply this cvt on persona sv?
later Preve exec x laku. brows.gif

Xefron
post Jul 7 2014, 03:20 PM

2,507 posts

Persona MK 2 please.hahahha.
Xefron
post Jul 7 2014, 03:27 PM

2,507 posts

better change the steering wheel with Preve one.
Xefron
post Jul 16 2014, 09:38 AM

2,507 posts

at last i have changed my stock air filter to K&N drop in/clean TB/reset TB.gooding yo.now more responsive.
Xefron
post Jul 24 2014, 03:35 PM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(Beogatts @ Jul 24 2014, 02:20 PM)
proton should pay me for proving persona stock absorber tht could last for 145k km (or 4 years) limit.  whistling.gif
so first time changing abs since first bought da car..  doh.gif
i saw the top mounting looked quite bad..so i told the mechanic to change them.
1 side was really molested n the other side just nomore dampened:
[attachmentid=4067173]
shakehead.gif
chose proride std abs for first trial..use back stock spring
[attachmentid=4067176]
already pumped them up n tested for 80km on both highway n crappy kampung road with full of lorries.

heres my review on proride std abs compare to wat i remmber when i drove my pe for the first 10 000km :

-rear is lower by 0.5 - 1 finger
-front is da same height as compare to newly bought my car.
-they said its harder 10-20% compare to stock.. i give it 100% true.
-the feel is slightly better than stock in terms of stability of the car. i think coz of 10-20% harder.
-comfort sightly less than stock due to the same cause (as mentioned above)
-cornering no comment.. same i gess.

this is my first abs change so can only compare with stock.. but for now, i think these abs are just worth the price.
i burnt RM545 total... rm350 abs + rm120 1 set top mounting (normal brand) + rm60 labour charge + rm15 alignment.

ill jst use n see how long they can last.. seller, who worked at sapura, told me to use for 60k km max.
fuhhh the black version already hard....can't imagine if i changed to the yellow version.

Xefron
post Aug 6 2014, 12:32 PM

2,507 posts

Buy Eneos for Campro enough.hihihihi.not need pening pening.
Xefron
post Aug 6 2014, 02:35 PM

2,507 posts

how much to replace valve cover gasket ?

0.0500sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:14 PM