-+♠+-LYN Proton Persona Owners Club V52-+♠+-

CarroTT
post Sep 10 2014, 08:25 PM

ms. sunflower
1,216 posts

Hi guys,

I changed the IAFM on my persona a few weeks ago but the mechanic told me there is another part which is also faulty and needs replacing. It has this ticking sound.
He wasn't able to replace for me that day as he couldn't get the part and its already late.
As you can see on the picture, this part is right on top of the IAFM unit.

My question, what is this part function ?
Is it really faulty because it has a ticking sound ?
Anyone knows how much to replace this ?

I have another question, my car engine temperature will overheat when going up genting during the steep hill climbing part. The weird thing is the temperature will suddenly increase and if i stop for awhile, the temperature will suddenly drop within a minute or two.
I can see the temperature gauge suddenly go up, then stop awhile it will drop very suddenly. This seems very abnormal weird to me and the mechanic.
I had changed the thermostat before and it still happen. Last time my car go u genting no problem.
Anyone encounter this problem before ?

At other time during traffic jam also it wont overheat. Only when stressed going up genting.
CarroTT
post Sep 12 2014, 12:44 AM

ms. sunflower
1,216 posts

QUOTE(Mahihi @ Sep 11 2014, 12:19 AM)
helo,that is purge valve canister....price around RM 130....

Definition
A canister purge valve is a solenoid valve controlled by the Power Train Control Module. The Power Train Control Module is a control unit that determines the ignition timing, fuel amounts and other parameters needed to keep the engine running.

Function
The canister purge valve serves as part of the emission control system in a car, and it measures the flow and amount of fuel vapor that is recycled into the combustion process via the charcoal canister, or fuel vapor storage device. Canister purge valves are also used in "leak tests," by allowing a vacuum to be created throughout the fuel storage system when the valve is closed, thus preventing outside air from entering the system.

Performance
Factors that can affect the performance of a canister purge valve include unclean valve conditions and valve blockage. Valve blockage is caused when an obstruction becomes lodged in the opening of the valve, causing a backup of the fuel and air mixture.
check your radiator cooling system and water temp sensor...
Thanks for the info on the canister purge valve.
After doing some research in the internet, this is also a common faulty part along with the IAFM.
Apparently i saw one which says this is the culprit which causes the IAFM to kaput.
I will change it this Saturday laugh.gif
CarroTT
post Sep 14 2014, 10:34 AM

ms. sunflower
1,216 posts

QUOTE(Mahihi @ Sep 12 2014, 12:48 AM)
hahahah,no problem,i am thinking to get rid of my whole iafm unit,kinda fed up already....hopefully replace it with vvt, tongue.gif  tongue.gif
I changed the canister yesterday n the tik tik sound is gone. Engine also smoother.

Is it really possible to fit vvt engine?
Toyota wan?

If persona with vios engine reli not bad I think
CarroTT
post Oct 21 2014, 08:22 AM

ms. sunflower
1,216 posts

Hi guys,

I wanted to change my suspension to a more comfortable one.
Any recommendations?

I m currently looking at kyb rs pro.

For comfort do i need to go for full coilovers? Or just changing the absorbers?
CarroTT
post Oct 22 2014, 08:22 AM

ms. sunflower
1,216 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Oct 21 2014, 09:34 AM)
elegance lounge? i prefer lepak at workshop bawah pokok... yawn.gif
ask this kennywee92...he got lobang for u brows.gif
enjoy time prying open the fuel lid is better than enjoying in elegance lounge bro... cool2.gif
QUOTE(flex3x @ Oct 21 2014, 11:57 AM)
GAB HA series smile.gif
QUOTE(kennywee92 @ Oct 21 2014, 01:26 PM)
If your ultimate goal is comfort. Look no further than stock one.
Based on TDU(one of the forumer here). KYB absorber for rear will be lower than stock.
If you're looking for handling and don't mind to sacrifice a bit of comfort. Go for coilover.
QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Oct 21 2014, 01:38 PM)
coilover is not sacrifice a bit comfort. It is a lot! ohmy.gif

tongue.gif
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 21 2014, 01:50 PM)
i echo this statement nod.gif
So do you think i shud just change the absorber ?
I want something which went going over bumpy roads will give a more gentle thump rather than the hammering sound n feeling on the stock absorbers. Like those on conti cars.
CarroTT
post Nov 10 2014, 06:49 AM

ms. sunflower
1,216 posts

QUOTE(Effy92 @ Nov 9 2014, 01:14 AM)
Hi personarian.

Last monday i just change to advan db, what i can say the road noise is significantly reduce. Now the wind noise at the door visor more apparent and also the engine noise.  rclxub.gif  Thinking to cabut all the visor but afraid the ither noise more apparent.  yawn.gif The road noise is significant reduce start from 80kmh above.

Before this my car got whooong noise, i tought that because of wheel bearing, but after change to new tyre the whooong noise are gone. rclxm9.gif I change tyre at 48k km eventhough 2 of my tyre still got 30% thread, cannot stand with the uneven thread already got vibration when doing 100kmh above. Now the vibration problem also has been solve. thumbup.gif

For the handling and traction of course much better than stock silverstone kruizer ns500. This is the first time im using premium tyre so no comparison with my previous tyre. But i still get scretching sound when cornering hard with advan db, donno if it good or not. But i feel the sidewall is slightly harder compare to my old tyre. But the comfort felt better maybe the new thread still thick. In conclusion this tyre are better in all aspect. Not much comment on this segment. But of course cannot compare silverstone low end tyre with yokohama high end tyre lol  notworthy.gif
I m using it too.
It's a very good value n high performance tyre.

Also a customer of nestum.

This post has been edited by CarroTT: Nov 10 2014, 06:50 AM
CarroTT
post Nov 19 2014, 10:39 PM

ms. sunflower
1,216 posts

QUOTE(dorinyeah @ Nov 19 2014, 02:09 PM)
[attachmentid=4223502]

Any one have the issue of fan bracket melt, after upgrade 4-1 or 4-2-1? Due to heat from the extractor ..
Even with stock exhaust i have this problem.

CarroTT
post Dec 11 2014, 01:56 PM

ms. sunflower
1,216 posts

Just changed the absorbers to gab sa.
Really more comfortable and absorbs the holes much better. Likomended this produk!
CarroTT
post Dec 12 2014, 08:09 AM

ms. sunflower
1,216 posts

QUOTE(kennywee92 @ Dec 11 2014, 02:08 PM)
Ride height sama? Thinking if sports will be lowered.
SA series is standard replacement. Not those adjustable shocks. Took the advice from forumers to stay sway from adjustable shocks coz i wan comfort.

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Dec 11 2014, 02:33 PM)
How much did it cost you in total? Are you still using stock springs?
Stock springs.
In total rm900.

0.0220sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:09 PM