Need help in open a comic store!

TSVeron83
post Aug 9 2006, 10:28 PM, updated 20y ago

434 posts

I'm planning to open a comic store...
I would need some assistance from all the member in this forum...

Surway icon_question.gif :
1. Can I know are you reading comic and watching animation movie?
2. Can I know how much you spend on this expense per month?
3. Can I know your favourite comic or animation(few example will be good).

Question icon_question.gif :
1. Anyone here have any contact point(Supplier) to get comic and animation movie.
2. Please kindly suggest some good location to me for reference.

Thank you for reading thumbup.gif

rclxm9.gif Cheers rclxm9.gif
ah_suknat
post Aug 9 2006, 10:42 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(Veron83 @ Aug 9 2006, 10:28 PM)

1. Anyone here have any contact point(Supplier) to get comic and animation movie.

survey:

1.yes i do read comics and watch anime.95% Percent of my friends do read comics.
2.rather borrow than buy.
3.i like initial d, some funny comics,one piece. some hentai hehehe.animation definitely initial d.i like gundam anime too.

questions:
1.check behind the cover of the comics, most of them give address or phone number.
2.location near school or college would be great.you dont want to open one in office block.
alqa
post Aug 10 2006, 12:16 AM

346 posts

Q1. Yes
Q2. zip
Q3. appleseed, witchblade, evangelion, gundam, Ghost in the shell, jin roh

operative word: torrent
SUSspanker
post Aug 10 2006, 11:18 AM

Custom Made e-Penis
7,606 posts

QUOTE(Veron83 @ Aug 9 2006, 10:28 PM)

I think the proper questions you should be asking will have to be along the lines of

"Do I want to specialize in the comic/manga culture? Or the cartoon/anime culture?"
"What market am I trying to capture? The pre-pubescent brats who will beg their mommies to buy them ridiculously expensive action figures? Or teenages who goes for bi-shoujo stuffs? Or the western style comic/animations?"
"What makes my store different from other stores like Comics Corner or Anime-Tech?"
"What's the location that will give me good traffic to those who knows my store, and those who don't?"

Get a clear direction on where you want to go instead of asking the type of blind market survey questions INTI College teaches you to churn. Proper market survey questions will need to be specific.

For instance:
"Do you have a preference for superhero stories or high-school romance/comedy stories or [insert genre here]?"; or
"What percentage of your income would you spend a month reading/renting/buying your favorite comics/animations?"

That will give you much better planning data.

Sorry I can't help you answer you questionaire though.

This post has been edited by spanker: Aug 10 2006, 02:43 PM
:: n|c ::
post Aug 10 2006, 12:07 PM

81 posts

Survey
Yes I do, i'm a freak of it...no comic no life...
Depends how many latest episode of the story i'm chasing after is releasing.
One Piece is the best & i don't like anime except Initial-D

Question
Forget it...
Forget it & do other business...

This post has been edited by :: n|c ::: Aug 10 2006, 12:08 PM
narf03
post Aug 10 2006, 12:40 PM

4,547 posts

The most important think for you to do is to have a GOOD place, a kinda populated area, not so noisy, and lastly for ppl to visit your shop, your shop must always have the newest edition in the shortest time. I would travel further to read comic/pay a bit more if the shop is quiet enuff, and do resupply quick enuff.

Oh btw, you can buy 2nd hand comic, from ppl who close shop or supplier, as long as you have the FULL SET. FULL SET is rather important.

This post has been edited by narf03: Aug 10 2006, 12:41 PM
ah_suknat
post Aug 10 2006, 07:42 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

yeah.full set.
its quite annoying when you have this episode 1 to 25 and miss the 26th.

but i think the threadstarter rather know peanuts in opening book/comic store...by asking whose the supplier or stuff like that.turning hobbies to career is a challenging thing,but you need to do some homework yourself too.

dont do western comics like batman or superman...they are totally sux. i rather read "Lat" than those.

0.0124sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:44 AM