TIME TIME Fibre Broadband™ v2.0, 500 Mbps into the future

LeChuCk
post Mar 23 2016, 10:18 AM

SQ Aficionado
724 posts

Did a speedtest on LAN and indeed it's 300mbps! But stock ZTE cannot go, max only 50mbps..planning to change to an AC wless router, any recommendations? Thinking of the Asus RT-AC68U..Or should I also change the modem?
LeChuCk
post Mar 23 2016, 03:10 PM

SQ Aficionado
724 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Mar 23 2016, 10:48 AM)
Hi Bro,

It is the Router that should be replaced, not ONU (aka Fibre Modem).

Yes bro, I just purchased a DLink DIR-868L to replace the ZTE router..I kept the ONU which is the modem intact..but wireless speeds max so far is 80++mbps @ 5GHz, not sure how I can maximise the full speed..if can't, better downgrade to 100mbps line coz can't fully utilize the 300mbps right?
http://www.cnet.com/products/d-link-dir-86...t-cloud-router/
LeChuCk
post Mar 23 2016, 03:20 PM

SQ Aficionado
724 posts

QUOTE(azelan @ Mar 23 2016, 03:11 PM)
i just called, they say my huawei hg8250 router only can run max 40mbps only
isit true? previous 15mbps plan
You need an 802.11ac wireless router in order to enjoy the full speed that you have been upgraded to. That's what I did..but bear in mind that some older computer systems/phones/tablets don't have a compatible 802.11ac receiver so you might need to purchase one or run at a lower frequency speed
LeChuCk
post Mar 23 2016, 03:30 PM

SQ Aficionado
724 posts

QUOTE(azelan @ Mar 23 2016, 03:22 PM)
this old huawei dun hav 802.11ac isit? so must upgrade new router ?
Oh sorry my bad, that's the Huawei modem dialer, not the wireless router, which I meant earlier. I am not sure about this as my current Huawei is able to handle the speed. Hopefully others can help you out here.
LeChuCk
post Mar 25 2016, 02:21 PM

SQ Aficionado
724 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Mar 23 2016, 04:06 PM)
Hi Bro,

This Router throughput drops quite fast against attenuation. You may need to test it nearer to the source Router.

Try to use an AC1750 Adapter as well.

Thanks for the feedback bro. I did sit next to the router and get around 120++Mbps download speed on wifi with a AC7260 wireless card as shown below. Any thoughts on how to increase it to reflect 300Mbps?
LeChuCk
post Mar 29 2016, 10:49 AM

SQ Aficionado
724 posts

QUOTE(Ree73 @ Mar 28 2016, 04:16 PM)
Braxton time support guy? ask time on the dlink 850 upgrade to 868 lor... 868 better tongue.gif

Or tplink C7 and above
I am using dlink 868 connected to wifi a/c dualband 7250 @ 300mbps package but max only around 120mbps via wifi..I am kinda sure the dlink 850 won't get 300mbps via wifi...
LeChuCk
post Mar 29 2016, 03:16 PM

SQ Aficionado
724 posts

QUOTE(Ree73 @ Mar 29 2016, 12:19 PM)
Did you set correctly? Mine at 1st also around 120mbps... after some changing it go to 290mbps smile.gif
Bro, there's nothing much to change right? Just PPPoE username/pword and wifi dual band setup only right? Please share what changes that you did from your end ya,, thanks

0.0645sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:38 AM