TIME TIME Fibre Broadband™ v2.0, 500 Mbps into the future

Dothan
post Jun 23 2014, 11:29 PM

Dingle Berries
1,053 posts

It's up now.. thank god. I wanna watch World Cup tonight!
Dothan
post Sep 17 2014, 09:56 PM

Dingle Berries
1,053 posts

QUOTE(braddelson @ Sep 17 2014, 02:44 PM)
Dear Time BB Sifoos,

Can i use a different router with Time broadband?
Yes, I am using Asus router. The Linksys router provided by Time is not so stable even though I had upgraded to latest firmware. Just like Streamyx, you use the account for speed boost and connect using PPPoE.
Dothan
post Sep 17 2014, 11:49 PM

Dingle Berries
1,053 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Sep 17 2014, 10:37 PM)
Hi Bro,

Brilliant decision... but not all Asus Routers are good...  only certain models are recommended.

Upgrading E1200 to the latest firmware sometimes will reduce the issue but not a ideal solution.

Yeah... I heard the RT-N5x ir RT-N6x series also not so stable but they have option to switch to DDWRT or Tomato RT.

Mine is RT-N14U which is ok and has USB port also.
Dothan
post Sep 17 2014, 11:52 PM

Dingle Berries
1,053 posts

Currently I am in US and going back later today. Is TIME got affected by the fiber snap in Vietnam which just reported recently?
Dothan
post Sep 18 2014, 02:57 AM

Dingle Berries
1,053 posts

QUOTE(streamyxkl @ Sep 18 2014, 12:42 AM)
Hi to all the Time agent , I'm staying at Verticas Residensi, Jalan Ceylon. any idea when Time will come in? there's rumors that the unifi have some kind of back door agreement with the management not to allow others isp to come in, is that true?
I am not sure for your apartment/condo. Base on my experience in my current condo, I can tell you that the "backdoor agreement" should be done between TM and estate manangement (or JMB). Why? During the intro of PenangFON, many residents were asking for it to come. But PenangFON said it is up to the estate management (JMB) to allow them to setup infrastructure or not.
Dothan
post Sep 18 2014, 02:24 PM

Dingle Berries
1,053 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Sep 18 2014, 10:24 AM)
Hi Bro,

So you managed to put in DDWRT into N14U ?

Unfortunately RT-N14 hardware does not support DDWRT. Good news to see TIME is not affected. rclxms.gif
Dothan
post Nov 28 2014, 06:29 PM

Dingle Berries
1,053 posts

I found several sites could not be reached. Not sure you guys found any abnormality today?
Dothan
post Nov 28 2014, 06:52 PM

Dingle Berries
1,053 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Nov 28 2014, 06:39 PM)
Last few days got feedback but not today...Bro is it local or International sites ?
Feel free to pm me, will check it out later. Thanks.
I own a remote server located in New York, US and the connection to it seems up and down.

Also cannot update my computer today. yawn.gif
Dothan
post Nov 29 2014, 10:56 AM

Dingle Berries
1,053 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Nov 29 2014, 08:21 AM)
Hi Bro...is it back to normal today ? Can show me some stats about the routing latency to your server ?

Cheers smile.gif
It is ok right now smile.gif

thanks for the support rclxms.gif
Dothan
post Nov 13 2015, 10:28 AM

Dingle Berries
1,053 posts

I am wondering a few TIME user is complaining turtle speed during 8pm onwards till midnight, what content/site you are downloading/surfing to?
Dothan
post Dec 7 2015, 05:58 PM

Dingle Berries
1,053 posts

I found out something funny on the TIME routing to SG server.

1 typical good routing to SG IP address will have the result like below:
traceroute to 128.199.104.168 (128.199.104.168), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
1 router.asus.com (192.168.1.1) 13.412 ms 13.399 ms 13.388 ms
2 lo-0.ag-01-akhmw.ni.time.net.my (223.28.0.215) 22.022 ms 22.028 ms 22.018 ms
3 xe-5-3-0-0.er-01-majjw.ni.time.net.my (223.28.2.41) 22.015 ms 21.989 ms 21.977 ms
4 xe-5-3-0-0.er-01-glsfb.ni.time.net.my (223.28.2.37) 36.222 ms 36.200 ms 37.845 ms
5 xe-0-1-0-1.cr-02-glsfb.ni.time.net.my (223.28.2.9) 36.118 ms 36.148 ms 36.126 ms
6 223.28.26.82 (223.28.26.82) 30.073 ms 18.835 ms 21.722 ms
7 103.16.102.73 (103.16.102.73) 21.645 ms 21.213 ms 21.196 ms
8 103.253.144.242 (103.253.144.242) 31.304 ms 31.324 ms 31.316 ms
9 128.199.104.168 (128.199.104.168) 31.316 ms 31.302 ms 31.259 ms

However, I found out there is a boomerang effect on certain SG IP address.
traceroute to 139.162.21.176 (139.162.21.176), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
1 router.asus.com (192.168.1.1) 16.009 ms 16.024 ms 16.011 ms
2 lo-0.ag-01-akhmw.ni.time.net.my (223.28.0.215) 24.490 ms 24.454 ms 24.471 ms
3 xe-5-3-0-0.er-01-majjw.ni.time.net.my (223.28.2.41) 24.450 ms 24.439 ms 24.430 ms
4 xe-5-3-0-0.er-01-glsfb.ni.time.net.my (223.28.2.37) 32.611 ms 32.570 ms 36.246 ms
5 xe-0-1-0-1.cr-02-glsfb.ni.time.net.my (223.28.2.9) 29.118 ms 29.085 ms 36.243 ms
6 223.28.26.82 (223.28.26.82) 29.085 ms 22.976 ms 22.943 ms
7 103.16.102.81 (103.16.102.81) 30.816 ms 19.993 ms 20.013 ms
8 * 74.82.46.190 (74.82.46.190) 288.717 ms 288.666 ms
9 * be3.wr2.sin0.asianetcom.net (61.14.157.164) 306.458 ms *
10 * xe-0-1-1.gw1.sin2.pacnet.net (202.147.52.64) 302.438 ms 302.456 ms

11 gw2.sin1.sg.linode.com (61.14.147.179) 292.760 ms gw1.sin1.sg.linode.com (61.14.147.177) 292.725 ms 291.726 ms
12 139.162.0.6 (139.162.0.6) 304.643 ms 139.162.0.2 (139.162.0.2) 304.671 ms 304.662 ms
13 li863-176.members.linode.com (139.162.21.176) 273.920 ms 275.835 ms 275.849 ms

The part highlighted in bold red shows the the packet has been routed to US and back to SG for some reasons. Hopefully it is a bad BGP setup.

This phenomenon only happen to TIME. I do not see such problem on TM Streamyx/Unifi nor Digi/Maxis LTE.

Can anyone help to forward this TIME to rectify the problem?
Dothan
post Dec 8 2015, 09:40 AM

Dingle Berries
1,053 posts

QUOTE(yeapch01 @ Dec 8 2015, 05:04 AM)
Dear bro

I will bring your traceroute result to time tech support higher management , I need your help to pm me your account ot service no start with tbbn

Also can I know the above result is it test with bypass the router  with direct connection from onu.

First, I am subscribing to Astro IPTV which piggyback on TIME broadband. I am not sure how to work this thing out.

Secondly, I do not have the password to access to TIME's Huawei ONU as it is locked down and remotely configured by TIME. But it has nothing to do with home use router right?
Dothan
post Dec 8 2015, 12:32 PM

Dingle Berries
1,053 posts

QUOTE(yeapch01 @ Dec 8 2015, 10:56 AM)
Dear bro

Astro iptv with time still Time customer.

Anyway I need your help to create a direct connection from your pc to huawei onu to do the trace route again.
(do u still have the installation sheet as it require your account user name and password in this senario)
If u need help . kindly whatapps me @ 012 4900601

I am in the office now and will check the installation sheet once back home.

I do know my TIME PPPoE user name and password, not sure it is the one you are looking for? smile.gif

Dothan
post Jan 16 2016, 08:15 AM

Dingle Berries
1,053 posts

QUOTE(PrideNeverDie @ Jan 16 2016, 08:13 AM)
Thanks for this,  but I had to rush out last night to buy a router. No choice, the place I went only one affordable for me was hw550-3g. Have housemates needing Internet back on so I just bought this and set up quickly.

I live in condo and since lightning spike only kena my router and no trip in fuse box, my assumption is spike through telephone line.

Can anyone please suggest lightning isolator to avoid this thing from happening again? Want to protect my router and also PC. I heard cal-lab is good. Any model specific for my case? Thanks very much.
Fiber optic cable does not conduct electricity.
Dothan
post Mar 23 2016, 10:39 AM

Dingle Berries
1,053 posts

I am planning to cancel Astro IPTV (with TIME) and switch to TIME solely.

jjj2 and yeapch01, can you assist me on doing this?

0.0261sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:47 AM