TIME TIME Fibre Broadband™ v2.0, 500 Mbps into the future

R4yMoNd
post Mar 23 2016, 09:35 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(fubar843 @ Mar 23 2016, 09:32 PM)
Also I can't get above 100Mbps on mine, and I should be on 300Mbps from today's email.

i too have Asus AC68u

[attachmentid=6226446]
Use ethernet and check your cable make sure at Cat5e or Cat6 connect direct to router
R4yMoNd
post Mar 23 2016, 09:35 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(fubar843 @ Mar 23 2016, 09:32 PM)
Also I can't get above 100Mbps on mine, and I should be on 300Mbps from today's email.

i too have Asus AC68u

[attachmentid=6226446]
Use ethernet and check your cable make sure at Cat5e or Cat6 connect direct to router
R4yMoNd
post Mar 23 2016, 09:45 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(fubar843 @ Mar 23 2016, 09:42 PM)
Thank you mr double post, yes cat 5 connected connected to the router. It seems it's router related:

http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r29687627-...RT-AC66R-router

but I will keep digging
sorry the double post server issue.. not sure why..

cat5 or cat5e?
R4yMoNd
post Mar 23 2016, 10:37 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(ImSIEBEL @ Mar 23 2016, 10:28 PM)
which one should i get at an affordable price ?

sorry not tech savvy here.

also if i use 15m cat6 cables will it be ok ? as i have another computer in the other rooms as well.
Cat6 15m or more should be no problem..

Wireless AC router plenty of choice. if you have budget you might want to try 4X MIMO AC3200 router from Asus which quite costly (RM1k+)

However it doesnt guarantee speed over wifi.
your client (laptop, tablet, phone, etc) need to support wireless AC as well..

QUOTE(fever003 @ Mar 23 2016, 10:29 PM)
Im having the exact same problem.

100mbps, same router, low speed on wifi. But its fine on LAN
intereference cpuld be the culprit

QUOTE(Jaschong @ Mar 23 2016, 10:32 PM)
I have been upgraded 100Mbps from 10Mbps, however on LAN with the stock ZTE ZHN H298N I'm only getting 15 Mbps while my upload is 100Mbps. Anyone may suggest what the issue may be here? Would location of my residence matter? Wouldn't wanna get another router if the issue ain't the router
Have u tried other server for the speedtest?
R4yMoNd
post Mar 23 2016, 10:48 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(AsuKi @ Mar 23 2016, 10:47 PM)
yup if your devices support dat speed. worth AP for me to buy. enterprise AP but cheap and stable
will consider this for my next upgrade.. thanks for sharing
R4yMoNd
post Mar 23 2016, 10:52 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(ralyon @ Mar 23 2016, 10:51 PM)
Actually depending on the distance between your device and router, you might not need router that costly.
I have a AC1750 router and PC with AC1750 NIC. My PC is about 5m away from router with no wall in between.
When I transfer files between my PC and my HTPC which is connected to the router via 1Gbps ethernet, I usually get the speed between 550 and 650 Mbps. The router costs less than RM400 when I bought it from Lazada with discount.
I agree bro.. it will helps if sharing AC connectivity between multiple wireless AC device..
R4yMoNd
post Mar 23 2016, 10:55 PM

1,139 posts

anyway i have this weird issue with my current setup.

Router: Asus RT68U
Internet: TIME 300mbps

Wired Connectivity over cat5e cable: 292mbps DL
Wireless 5Ghz with Lenovo Thinkpad 3 meter distance visible: 35mbps DL
Wireless 5Ghz with Samsung a7 3meter distance visible: 50mbps DL

Mad!!!!! still couldnt find the answer yet
R4yMoNd
post Mar 23 2016, 11:00 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(TXSim @ Mar 23 2016, 10:53 PM)
OK. Need to connect via LAN or connect via Wi-Fi for the access point?
Since its access point i believe need to be connected to ethernet.
only 1 ethernet port available. support PPOE (PPOE sold separately)

more details:
The UAP-AC-LITE-5 UniFi Access Point Enterprise Wi-Fi System from Ubiquiti Networks is a scalable enterprise access point solution designed to be easily deployed and managed. It supports the 802.11ac Wi-Fi standard with speeds of up to 867 Mb/s in the 5 GHz radio band, and up to 300 Mb/s in the 2.4 GHz radio band. The Wi-Fi system offers simultaneous dual band operation with 2 x 2 MIMO technology for each band. It has a range of up to 400' and two Gigabit Ethernet ports. This UniFi Access Point (AP) has a sleek design and can be easily mounted to a ceiling tile or wall, using the included mounting hardware.

The Wi-Fi system includes UniFi Controller software that can be installed on a PC, Mac, or Linux machine within the network, and is easily accessible through a standard Web browser. Using the UniFi Controller software, an Enterprise Wi-Fi network can be quickly configured and administered, without any special training. Real-time status, automatic UAP device detection, map loading, and advanced security options are all seamlessly integrated in the system.

Link catalogue:
https://dl.ubnt.com/datasheets/unifi/UniFi_AC_APs_DS.pdf

R4yMoNd
post Mar 23 2016, 11:02 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(TXSim @ Mar 23 2016, 10:58 PM)
Do your devices support AC?
Wired tested via Asus RT68U?
If my wireless adapter doesnt support Wireless AC I wont be able to connect to the 5Ghz connection.
Yeah both laptop and phone support wireless AC.

wired tested to my laptop using cat5e i get 292Mb speed which is great.
R4yMoNd
post Mar 23 2016, 11:04 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(AsuKi @ Mar 23 2016, 11:01 PM)
cuba tukar setting router guna 802.11n wifi lepas tu tengok result
I will try later using wireless N and also reset the router.
i tried transfer file to my Nas storage via wifi i manage to get speed around 450mbps
R4yMoNd
post Mar 23 2016, 11:08 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(TXSim @ Mar 23 2016, 11:03 PM)
Thanks. This access point can be used as Wi-Fi router with setting PPPoE?
Bro no hard feeling i dont know you are trolling or testing or something else..

this is an access point and not a router. this is not a router double up as access point. this is only access point.
this access point does not support media bridge, no usb port, no print server, nothing. Its just a commercial access point with good quality built and great range.
yes it support power over ethernet
R4yMoNd
post Mar 23 2016, 11:13 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(TXSim @ Mar 23 2016, 11:09 PM)
OK. Thanks bro for explaining full details.
No worries bro.. I read the review in amazon many people choose this enterprise grade AP to extend the Wifi coverage..

If your customer wish to extend their Wifi connectivity you should give this device a try and let us know the outcome.
but dont expect fancy add on like many other consumer access point..
R4yMoNd
post Mar 24 2016, 12:16 AM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(ralyon @ Mar 23 2016, 11:53 PM)
As far as I google, Samsung A7 only support wifi N speed. 5ghz does not mean AC. Before AC, there was 5ghz Wifi N as well.
Thanks for the info, but my thinkpad T440P performance even worse compare to the A7 sleep.gif!
R4yMoNd
post Mar 24 2016, 12:17 AM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(freestyler @ Mar 23 2016, 11:29 PM)
deal all sifu here...im having problem.. i got upgraded to 500mbps, however i do speed test...this afternoon i able to get 200mbps up and down, but tonight i do it again.. its just 9mbps down then 75 up..tried direct lan from laptop to modem thru lan and do speed test, speed.time.com.my show 300mbps up and down but on speedtest.net just 9mbps down and 300mbps up... tried with wifi and lan...both give same result.. my setup is time original modem huawei and router is asus ac87u which supposed no problem to support 500mbps...pls help
Bro have u tried digi server or singapore Singtel server in speedtest?
R4yMoNd
post Mar 24 2016, 12:35 AM

1,139 posts

Finally!!!! manage to get full speed over wifi for my t440p!!

I update my Asus firmware to the latest asus merlin firmware, speed test 3m from router.. boom!!! fullspeed.

go to first floor in living room test again.. 200+mb

here is the speedtest!!!

R4yMoNd
post Mar 24 2016, 12:16 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(AsuKi @ Mar 24 2016, 11:40 AM)
notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
wahhh tahniah bro! njoy the speed!
Thanks for the help and advise bro!!!

tried this afternoon in my room.. around 7meter distance different level with 2 walls blocking still manage to get 230mbps
R4yMoNd
post Mar 24 2016, 12:17 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Mar 24 2016, 11:42 AM)
A quick check at Lazada for the DLINK 850L....TIME is selling cheaper than LAZADA!

http://www.lazada.com.my/catalog/?q=DLINK+850L

Butt frankly, i prefer TPLINK more...anyone using new TPLINK routers with AC WIFI here?
I heard good things about tp link archer c7. only their interface is not user friendly.. in term of performance its worth it.. you might want to check some review out there.. plenty of it
R4yMoNd
post Mar 24 2016, 12:20 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(Slythape @ Mar 24 2016, 11:03 AM)
Any idea why my monthly price changed for my subscription?
Went from 219 to 279
Im not sure about this but i assume previously u r taking 30mbps plan and being upgraded to 500mbps plan.
if that is the case you might want to downgrade to 300mbps plan which only cost 179
R4yMoNd
post Mar 24 2016, 12:41 PM

1,139 posts

Few other speedtest to other global server

Current package: 300mbps
Connectivity: Cat5e Cable

US

Russia

Jakarta, Indonesia (biznet)

Jakarta, Indonesia (MNC)

Singapore (SINGTEL)

China

China (Beijing Broadband)

Paris France (Orange)

R4yMoNd
post Mar 24 2016, 05:55 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(Ree73 @ Mar 24 2016, 05:51 PM)
Later i will use my HP to test on the AC... see can get 300mbps or not
I get 295mbps speedtest using ac68u and Thinkpad T440P (Built in Intel Wireless AC 7260)

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0430sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:44 AM